We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kendrick's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kendrick's
King Cross Street, Christiansted, St. Croix
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 67 restaurants in Christiansted
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Jersey shore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had dinner here with friends and the food is excellant. They don't have a large menu but they have a nice variety from pasta, beef, chicken and seafood to choose from. Try the Black Cheery Peach Mojito, it is incredible.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    42
    11
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gastronomic delight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

So many wonderful choices on the menu. We chose different main courses and were very pleased with both. We enjoyed eating in the beautiful garden.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Tx
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“YUM!! Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Such good fresh food. Also, experience the blueberry martini. I recommend sitting outside but call for reservations. The chalkboard specials are usually a can't MISS.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If you only go to one restaurant during your stay - it needs to be here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was by far the best restaurant on the island, and that is tough to say because we had some really great food during our 5 day stay. The service was impeccable, the food was delicious, the drinks were mixed just right. Our server, Mary, was the best one we had on our entire trip. She went out of her way to find us a late night cab driver (which is no easy feat in St. Croix). We never had to ask for a refill of our drinks, she always anticipated our need. Now the food, wow, i have never had such delicious Mahi in my life. It was perfectly cooked and coated with a delightful parmesan batter. So yummy. This needs to be the best place to eat in St. Croix not number 16.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Fish I Have Ever Eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

David Kendrick is a gifted chef when it comes to fish. The fishermen walk two blocks from the sea to his restaurant with their catch of the day and he does his magic with it. My favorite is the fish piccatta -- either mahi, wahoo, or swordfish. I am a cook and I can't figure out how he prepares it so delicately and perfectly cooked--a little crispy on the outside and juicy and tender inside. When we were there three weeks ago all six of us ordered it and everyone agreed it was the best fish dish they have ever eaten. The man NEVER overcooks fish and his light sauces are sublime-- we would lick the plate if we weren't well-mannered. We also love the chipotle soup, and the ravioli appetizer --but you can't go wrong with anything-- especially the fish specials--did I mention his wizardry with fish? The wine list is very good as is the service. We love eating outside in the lovely, quaint, cozy courtyard. But if it is very hot, the inside is a good choice and has a nice bar, fully stocked of course with some interesting drinks. Jane is David's wife and co-owner and she runs the front of the restaurant while David masters the kitchen. It's expensive by Caribbean standards but we are from D.C. so it is all relative-- it is WELL WORTH it and a must go if you are in beautiful St. Croix. Reservations need in season.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kendrick's also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Kendrick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendrick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.