We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you only go to one restaurant during your stay - it needs to be here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kendrick's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kendrick's
King Cross Street, Christiansted, St. Croix
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 66 restaurants in Christiansted
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If you only go to one restaurant during your stay - it needs to be here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was by far the best restaurant on the island, and that is tough to say because we had some really great food during our 5 day stay. The service was impeccable, the food was delicious, the drinks were mixed just right. Our server, Mary, was the best one we had on our entire trip. She went out of her way to find us a late night cab driver (which is no easy feat in St. Croix). We never had to ask for a refill of our drinks, she always anticipated our need. Now the food, wow, i have never had such delicious Mahi in my life. It was perfectly cooked and coated with a delightful parmesan batter. So yummy. This needs to be the best place to eat in St. Croix not number 16.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    42
    11
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Fish I Have Ever Eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

David Kendrick is a gifted chef when it comes to fish. The fishermen walk two blocks from the sea to his restaurant with their catch of the day and he does his magic with it. My favorite is the fish piccatta -- either mahi, wahoo, or swordfish. I am a cook and I can't figure out how he prepares it so delicately and perfectly cooked--a little crispy on the outside and juicy and tender inside. When we were there three weeks ago all six of us ordered it and everyone agreed it was the best fish dish they have ever eaten. The man NEVER overcooks fish and his light sauces are sublime-- we would lick the plate if we weren't well-mannered. We also love the chipotle soup, and the ravioli appetizer --but you can't go wrong with anything-- especially the fish specials--did I mention his wizardry with fish? The wine list is very good as is the service. We love eating outside in the lovely, quaint, cozy courtyard. But if it is very hot, the inside is a good choice and has a nice bar, fully stocked of course with some interesting drinks. Jane is David's wife and co-owner and she runs the front of the restaurant while David masters the kitchen. It's expensive by Caribbean standards but we are from D.C. so it is all relative-- it is WELL WORTH it and a must go if you are in beautiful St. Croix. Reservations need in season.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST. CROIX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on St. Croix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I go to Kendrick's whenever we want a "special" night out. Dave and his wife Jane serve the best food on the Island and the best service also in a beautiful outdoor courtyard. I usually order the fresh fish of the day, Wahoo if available, with one of Dave's great sauces and my wife always order the chicken dish, which she loves. While not inexpensive, it is well worth the price for a memorable dining experience. For those who want a less expensive option, they also have an excellent bar menu with a great variety of appetizers , many of which are large enough to be considered dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food is consistently excellent, as is the service. And, they have one of the largest selections of alcohol on island, things you have trouble finding elsewhere. The lounge is a nice spot for a drink, and the restaurant has a really nice ambience. Definitely visit if you're on St Croix.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Highly overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Food was average but expensive. So understaffed that it took us 2 hours to get our bill. Not the servers fault when she had 12 tables to attend to. The managers need to get a wake up call. I think managers are lazy and make their staff work like slaves as they are no where on the scene. Highly overrated, Don't bother. The restaraunt at Sand Castle is 100 times better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kendrick's also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Kendrick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendrick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.