We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hamburgers at Tavern 1844” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern 1844

Tavern 1844
Company Street, Christiansted, St. Croix
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 66 restaurants in Christiansted
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Abbeville, LA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Hamburgers at Tavern 1844”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My hamburger was wonderful... had bacon cheese and even onion rings. I asked the waiter to cut it in half but he said he couldn't do that... but he would bring a knife to me. Once the waiter brought the hamburger I saw why... it was a really tall stack. You had to squash it to put it in your mouth. I am sure it had enough calories for an entire day. It was delicious and seemed to be made of the finest ingredients. The atmosphere was that of a Pub. All the wait staff seemed knowledgeable about their menu and happy to be there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    68
    18
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss the burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We had the burger with fried Brie, arugula and a truffle aioli and it was awesome! My husband had the burger with bacon nod lobster meat. The fries are good too, but the burger fills you up. The beer selection is awesome as well...a must see in Christiansted.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST BURGERS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I were recommended this neat bar by a local and we could not have been happier with the food and service! I had the "2nd best burger" and ate every bit! My husband had a burger that had barbecue sauce on it and he loved it. The wide variety and complexity of the items on their menu show a real culinary talent. Our servers were very friendly, had great recommendations, and were a pleasure to talk to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Neat Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a neat little bar. They have a huge variety of beer. We shared an appetizer of duck fat fried fries with cheese and bacon. They were delicious. The hamburger was awesome. It came will duck fat fried fries. The wife got chicken and broccoli pasta. She didn't much care for it. It was rather expensive for pub food. Good, but pricey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very creative, very delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

this place is exceptional. We ordered the calamari and crab cakes for an appetizer both delicious. For dinner my boyfriend got the jameson burger with wagyu beef (he loved it) and I had the lobster mac and cheese which was modified that night to include fried duck on top with cream cheese and cranberry (very good but very rich). The duck fat fries were really yummy. The waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly, and knew the menu really well which we appreciated. A little pricey but worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 1844 also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix

Been to Tavern 1844? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern 1844, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.