We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern 1844

Tavern 1844
Company Street, Christiansted, St. Croix
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 73 Restaurants in Christiansted
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Delavan, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stopped in for a beer and to check the place out. It is small but very clean. The staff was very knowledgable of the beer list and the specials. We decided to stay and were treated with the best meal that we have ever had on St. Croix. We had a unique Mac-N-Cheese appetizer and split a burger. Both were cooked to perfection and tasted great. We will definitely return on our next visit to St. Croix.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    20
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went here on the recommendation of a friend. The food was very good however there wasn't near enough of it especially for the price!!! I order the special of 4 ravioli...that was all that was on the plate...no side and no vegetable and that cost $22.00!!!!!! Not worth the cost...sorry to say even though it tasted very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST. CROIX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great beer selection.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have visited 1844. The first time, several months ago, was a much better experience. The food was better, cooked correctly, and came out much faster even though the restaurant was packed.

This last time, 2 of the 3 burgers ordered med and med-well were raw, and the french fries were cold. There was only one other table, yet we twice had to ask when our food was coming. Also the prices have been raised considerably. I was very disappointed, and while I will give it one more try before crossing it of my lists of places to eat in St. Croix, I feel the large beer selection is the best part of the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stopped by thinking we'd grab bar food. The good news is they have it- great burgers, fries, oysters, lots of variety. The surprise is they also serve fine dining dishes, pork shanks, lamb shanks, pastas, fish, and yummy, fancy desserts. Cole is a fabulous waiter, and knows the menu In side and out, and makes excellent beer and cocktail recommendations. Love it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best burgers and beer list on island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Unquestionably Tavern 1844 was my weekly go-to for burgers and beer. I lived on STX for a while and this is the food I miss the most! Management has changed and there's a new chef at the grill, but I hope they continue Tavern's previous standard in faultlessly formed patties and inspired burger specials. Best beer list in C'sted and wonderful duck fat french fries!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 1844 also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Tavern 1844? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern 1844, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.