We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Strong 5*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern 1844

Tavern 1844
Company Street, Christiansted, St. Croix
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 69 Restaurants in Christiansted
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A Strong 5*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I almost hesitate to give it 5* as more of you will stop by and take up the few valuable tables they have here! Seriously though, the food is nicely presented and tasty. The prices are on-par for STX and probably a better value comparitively. There is A/C in the bar that is actually cool (a rare commodity in STX). As other have written, the freshly cut duck-fat fries are so delicious and generously presented in a bucket.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    19
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Lives Up To The Hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

WOW! This place is fabulous. I started out excited to go here, after reading all the wonderful reviews. Walked up to the place and saw the menu in the window and decided on the "award winning" burger with lobster before I ever walked into the place. It's very small, only five or so tables and then some bar seats, and they don't take reservations. We walked in on a Saturday evening around 545 and were the only people in the place. Within 15 minutes, every seat was full. I was disappointed to hear they were out of lobster, after having decided on that already. I settled for the special Wagyu burger with deep fried pickles and cheddar cheese, and of course, the famous duck fat French fries. We started with the macaroni and cheese and it was delish. In fact, everything was! The burger was one of the best I've ever had, the fries lived up to the hype and the Key Lime Crush drink the bartender whipped up for me (with local Cruzan rum) was excellent. Try it, you certainly won't be sorry!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fine Food(n bev) & Great Island Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent food, terrific burgers, good beer selection, laid back atmosphere and super friendly helpful staff!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wagyu Beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The burgers are delicious and they fry their French Fries in duck fat! YUM! And the fries are fresh hand cut, not frozen!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Burgers and Beer In Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We love this place. The beer selection is out of this world and the servers know their stuff. Crazy selection of burgers and ours were perfectly cooked. I went all out with the "Award winning best burger", which is topped with lobster and an amazing caramelized truffle aioli. Just when I thought my taste buds had died and gone to heaven I tasted the duck fat fries, dipped in said ailoi. It just doesn't get any better than this!
Tavern 1844 is in a beautiful old building, check it out!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 1844 also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Tavern 1844? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern 1844, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.