We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Roti

Ace Roti
182 Richman, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-719-7684
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 67 restaurants in Christiansted
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“yummy lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband read about Ace Roti Shop on TripAdvisor so we checked it out for lunch. We both chose the boneless chicken roti and it was delicious. A VERY large portion of curry, chick peas, potato and chicken wrapped in an extremely large roti bread. The chicken was so tender and the curry was amazing. Neither of us could finish it all but we came close! I really could have used a fork as it got messier as it got smaller - it was served like a square burrito in a plastic baggie. The woman at the counter was so friendly and we enjoyed talking to her about the island. We chose to eat at one of the 3 small tables just ouside the areawhere you order.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    23
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Good food but set your expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The name of this place is ACE Roti shop. Shop is the emphasis here because it's primarily takeout but they do have two little bistro tables you can eat at if desired. Window service only. The menu is roti (chicken, beef, shrimp, goat,fish) and some appetizers. Excellent west indian curry food but rated average overall due to atmosphere/location. This is a little hole in the wall just outside C'sted and next to the projects. It's located halfway down a small side street. There are a few signs for directions but the locals keep tearing them down so you may have to call for directions. One sign takes you directly in from the main road. Another takes you through the projects. They're only open wed-sat 10-4:30 and also set up food stands for local events like jump-up.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“It's hard to find, but DON'T leave until you do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The reviews are true! My wife and I are lovers of international and cultural food. This little slice of Trinidadian heaven in St. Croix is not to be missed. Look let's be honest, you are not coming here for the ambiance, the scenery, or the sit down dining experience. You are coming here because you are going to get some really good dang food. This was literally our last meal from St Croix. We arrive Saturday night, and Ace is closed Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday. So Wednesday on the way to the airport we stopped to get our Roti. We split a boneless chicken roti because they are generally healthy portions. Well my only mistake was sharing one. I was nearly in tears when my half was gone!

It can be hard to find, so give em a call when you get close 340-719-7684. I am trying to load a pic of the menu with directions as well. But honestly the directions wouldn't have helped us much.

Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best goat roti!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The location is funky, but the food is the real deal. The goat roti can't be best----slow cooked with lots of sweet spices until it melts in your mouth.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Ace is the Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you like Real Island Flavor,you must stop at Ace for the Curry Roti it's to Die For.Don't let the location stop you.We like to Grab a Roti on Way to Beach for Picnic.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ace Roti also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix

Been to Ace Roti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Roti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.