We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't walk by without trying!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galangal

Galangal
17 Church Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-773-0076
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't walk by without trying!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Galangal is one of those places - from the outside you could walk by and miss - but don't! Beautifully and warmly appointed with treasures from Asia - and food prepared with the finest attention to detail - you will enjoy a great visit if you go. We've eaten at galangal many times, have introduced friends and have never once had a less than exceptional experience.

The food is definitely Asian fusion (I would call it) and/but easy for someone who may not be familiar with curries and Thai dishes to find great food to their liking.

Do go -- galangal is at the top of the list for great dining in St Croix, USVI!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your many visits to Galangal and for spending time to write a review on TA. It is heartwarming to read your comments which are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    33
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superior food, service and decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We go to St. Croix every year and always dine at Galangal because it is the best restaurant on the island. The food is exquisite, the service is excellent and the décor and furnishings are superb. When you enter the restaurant it feels like you have left St. Croix and arrived at a fine dining room in Thailand. You will enjoy their Asian style of creative menu items. I had the short ribs which can not be prepared any better than these..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Sandwichguy;

Thank you for visiting Galangal and taking time to write a review on TA. It is comforting to know that you liked our food, atmosphere and service. We will share your comments with our staff who deserve all the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is my wife's favorite place on Island to eat. I have a great meal every time I go. I love the curries!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Good reviews on TA make us always happy, especially when it comes from local guests because they are the ones helping us through the slow summer season. Thank you and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Virgin Islands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Special occasion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

So many wonderful restaurants on our little island! Galangal stands out for unique, prepared as ordered Asian food. Went with a friend for a birthday dinner and did their prix fix menu. Many choices make it easy to enjoy this option. Knowledgeable waiter explained all in detail and clarified what could be subbed (at addtl cost) from regular menu. Fresh flavors and lovely presentation make this a one of a kind here. Def a special occasion place for locals as it is on the higher end of our market. try papaya salad, anything with Tuna, ribs, ice cream

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for visiting Galangal and spending time for a review on TA. We are glad that you liked our food, the selection for our prefix menu, and our service. We truly appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, presentation, and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food here is superb and the owner cares - in every way. We enjoyed our anniversary there with a special dinner, best table in the house, and a surprise dessert from the host as well. How delightful! The food is always perfect, fresh, and cooked to order.

Note this is not a "local fare" restaurant - and is for foodies and those looking for a higher class establishment, not so much a beachfront, bar and grille.

A great place for a special night - a reunion of friends - or just a night for a family to go enjoy a good dinner with healthy, fresh, and Thai-spiced food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Mitch:

We feel honored by you choosing Galangal to celebrate your anniversary. We are thankful for your review and comments on TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galangal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.