We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galangal

Galangal
17 Church Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-773-0076
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
South Huntington, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

You are paying for the atmosphere, not the food. This place is beautifully decorated and sexy. But $29 for red Thai curry is absurd. I've been to Thailand and I live in ny with Thai restaurants abound where it costs $10 for the same thing and far better quality and authenticity. The dish was ok at best. Calamari was pretty good but a little chewy and dry. My husband had the basil beef and it was basically beef stir fry. Very disappointing.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We agree with you wholeheartedly that our food is overpriced, especially when one compares prices with Thailand and even the US mainland. However you may consider that our energy is 54 cents per kilowatt hour while it is 17 cents a kilowatt in New York State. Our food prices are constantly 40 to 50% higher than for instance in Miami or New York. Your red curry cost $24.00 but when you add shrimp it costs $29.00. The difference is $5.00. For six shrimp 16/20 which come with the red curry you ordered we pay $6.00. There is no mark up but rather a deficit to us for the add on.
We hope you might re consider your opinion about our prices and wish you a happy Holiday Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    33
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food in Christiansted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had our most enjoyable meal on St Croix at Galangal. The two mains we had were particularly notable -- Asian Beef Short ribs and Duck Prig King Red Curry. Both were very interesting with great seasoning combinations and the short ribs were cooked enough that most of the fat had been rendered leaving the flavor without the fattiness that short ribs often have. Highly recommend both dishes. Shared an interesting german pinot noir that complemented the food. The service was attentive and the food and wine recommendations were absolutely reliable.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review Galangal on TripAdvisor. Your comments are appreciated and will be shared with our staff who deserve all the credit.
Again thank you for your visit and have a Happy and Blessed New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfailingly Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Intermittently as I visited St. Croix over the five years since it opened, I have had the pleasure of dining at Galangal. In 2010 I wrote a review. I am pleased to say that nothing has changed since. In my opinion, it has maintained its position as the top restaurant on the island. The food is authentic.
The wine list excellent and well balanced with some very good wines at reasonable prices. The wait staff is well trained and amiable. The decor is attractive with many elements brought from Thailand. Galangal is a favorite for locals - always a good sign.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Galangal on TripAdvisor. Returning guest are the ultimate reward for a restaurant. Again thank you for your continued support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thai dish names without any touch of delicious thai food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Very nicely decorated restaurant with great ambiance. Nervous serving staff and absolutely disastrous food - Tom Kah Gai soup tasted of vinegar, Masaman beff was shredded beef in oily grease, ribs .... chunk of burned beef in oily grease.... neau pad kapaow .... again shreds of beef in oily grease and absolutely no assemblance to the original thai dish.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Andersen (aka Jim V):

Although Galangal’s objective is to provide the best dining experience possible, unfortunately, we fall short occasionally.

We were shocked that your server added a gratuity to your check without consulting us as required by company policy. We apologize for that and have credited the $27.00 service charge to your VISA account.

Otherwise, we whole heartedly can't agree with the rest of your review on TripAdvisor.

We respond to your critique because our employees who are few and select do their very best to please our guests. We would like to think 180 positive reviews are proof of it. They don't deserve to be hurt by a mean spirited critique. 

Our menu was designed by our Executive Chef Yui from Chiang Mai five years ago. Yui has been back to our restaurant to ensure the quality and accuracy of our recipes. Her latest visit was April this year.  Because of her impeccable credentials Chef Ramsey had chosen Yui as liaison for his Northern Thailand episode and she was a judge on Extreme Chef.

Our St. Croix Chef, Mini just recently returned from a trip to Bangkok and Chiang Mai (sponsored by Galangal) to experience Thai cooking first hand with Yui at her school and about.

Our Tom Ka Gai soup is made to order and although there is lime juice squeezed in at the end; fresh lime juice is not vinegar. If anything does go wrong with one’s order, it’s most likely that the lime juice is added to the wok too early and may turn bitter, but not sour.

The beef Flank Steak we use is trimmed and sliced by hand in both the Massaman Curry and Thai Holy Basil and Beef. There’s no reason to shred it. The “oily grease” expletive you use to refer to everything you were served has no basis. Thai Holy Basil and Beef and the Massamam Curry has exactly ONE Tablespoon of a blend of 75% Canola oil and 25% Olive Oil.

Galangal’s Short Ribs are braised for 5 Hours, the resulting liquids are cooled separated and developed into a grease free sauce. Coincidentally, they were braised that same morning and I had them for my dinner and remarked to my partner to have them as they were especially good.

With regards to your comment on authenticity, You are, in part, correct. Even though we import all our curies direct from Nittaya Thai Curry in Bangkok, unlike Thai restaurants, we add less sugar and fresh local vegetables to our dishes to provide a balanced meal.

In spite of all the above, we are sincerely sorry that your dining experience didn't meet your expectations. We are small, leanly staffed and are involved in every aspect of our establishment. So, obviously it saddens us when a customer leaves unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
1 review
“Amazing ambiance and wonderful food!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I have had another WONDERFUL meal at Galangal!!! The salmon special and beef short ribs we ordered were absolutely delicious as was our appetizer and dessert of various flavored gelatos :) The staff was freindy and prompt and the dining room temperature was perfect. Definately one of our favorite places to dine on St. Croix!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
We are always very happy having a satisfied guest taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are depend on our local community to survive during the off month in summer - so your comments are especially important to us. We will share your review with our staff who deserve all the credit. Thank you again for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galangal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.