We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galangal

Galangal
17 Church Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-773-0076
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Va
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thai?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I found it a bit odd that a Thai restaurant was one of the top rated restaurants in St. Croix... But it lived up to the reviews. I had the Pad Thai and it was excellent.. The shrimp rolls were also excellent. There is also a very extensive wine list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your visit and taking time to review Galangal on TripAdvisor. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and shared with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    33
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Best place In Christiansted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our favorite place in Christiansted. The atmosphere, menu, and staff are all unique, pleasant, and intriguing. The multiple variations/offerings of appetizing food are great. Nothing will disappoint.
Diner One - Thai grilled beef salad, Duck Prig King Red Curry(tender duck and curry can’t be beat), Quatro (ginger, mango, green tea, and melon sorbets), two Kirin beers
Diner Two - Smoked squid salad(the best flavor combination we have tasted), Thai Holy Basil and Beef (not complicated, but sooo flavorful), Mango sorbet, two glasses of Melbec (Argentinean red wine)
$141.00 USD without tip left $171 USD

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are happy that you visited Galangal twice. Taking time to review Galangal on TripAdvisor is greatly appreciated. We will share your comments with our staff who deserve all the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Truly superior Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Pad Thai was the best I've ever had anywhere. The restaurant's decor is lovely and the service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you liked especially our Pad Thai. We will share your comment with the kitchen staff, which deserve the credit. Thank you again for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First rate food and first rate service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a find. I think this restaurant was open on my last visit to St. Croix (2009) but somehow I missed it. Finding it in 2013 was a treat. First rate Thai cuisine, beautifully prepared and presented. The flavors were subtle, but present...not in-your-face. Our server, Kate, was able to answer all of our questions about how the various dishes were prepared and never failed to check in with us at the most appropriate moments during the meal. I noticed that she even made a point to hold the door for dinner guests as they exited, and she didn't fail us in that regard. I look forward to my next meal there. Also, back in around 2007 or so I recall a Pizza Hut or Dominos in the same location. Galangal proves that there's hope for Pizza Huts everywhere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Galangal at TripAdvisor. Your positive comments are truly appreciated and will be passed on to Kate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food and customer service!!:)))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My first time at this restaurant was amazing! I was even surprise by waitress with dessert for my anniversary. The ambience is so welcoming and I must say I will be coming again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Galangal to celebrate your anniversary and for taking time to review our restaurant on TripAdvisor. Your comments are always welcome and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galangal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.