We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate food and first rate service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galangal

Galangal
17 Church Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-773-0076
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First rate food and first rate service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a find. I think this restaurant was open on my last visit to St. Croix (2009) but somehow I missed it. Finding it in 2013 was a treat. First rate Thai cuisine, beautifully prepared and presented. The flavors were subtle, but present...not in-your-face. Our server, Kate, was able to answer all of our questions about how the various dishes were prepared and never failed to check in with us at the most appropriate moments during the meal. I noticed that she even made a point to hold the door for dinner guests as they exited, and she didn't fail us in that regard. I look forward to my next meal there. Also, back in around 2007 or so I recall a Pizza Hut or Dominos in the same location. Galangal proves that there's hope for Pizza Huts everywhere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Galangal at TripAdvisor. Your positive comments are truly appreciated and will be passed on to Kate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    207
    27
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent food and customer service!!:)))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My first time at this restaurant was amazing! I was even surprise by waitress with dessert for my anniversary. The ambience is so welcoming and I must say I will be coming again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Galangal to celebrate your anniversary and for taking time to review our restaurant on TripAdvisor. Your comments are always welcome and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Galangal hits all the marks. Elegance, ambience, excellence. From the moment you walk through the door you notice the attention to detail that is Galangal’s standard. Every element has been carefully designed right down to the table settings. The décor is exquisite, adding to the ambience. The staff is very knowledgeable and attentive and the owners are always on hand. The food is consistently excellent and pleasing to the eye as well as the palate. The curries are spiced with a well-balanced blend of flavors. The delicious food is complimented by a great wine list. Save room for dessert! The Belgian flourless chocolate cake is not to be missed. Served warm, it is soft and decadent but not overly sweet. Pair it with one of their hand crafted sorbets. The green tea and ginger are always delicious but do try whatever the seasonal special is. Last night was Carambola Basil…fabulous! Hands down one of THE best restaurants on island and an experience you will long remember.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of Galangal on TripAdvisor. Your comments make all efforts worth while and we will share your review with our staff who deserve all the credit.
Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“friendly, beautiful and delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I've been to Galangal plenty of times while i've lived on St. Croix and it is always a great experience! The food is amazing. The owners are very friendly along with the servers. Once you walk into Galangal your mouth will drop, they have definitely put alot in making the place look beautiful. They have hand carved doors, numerous pieces of artwork and decor, even the bathroom is gorgeous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time for your positive review on Galangal. Comments like yours make our efforts to to provide good service and high quality food worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Vermont
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“really beautiful decor, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was surprised what a good restauraunt this is. I live in NYC and an accostomed to restauraunts on carribean islands being OK but not great.

This place is great! Really amazing interior design. Good service, good food, and pretty good value as well

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments an TripAdvisor. Your positive review is appreciated especially from a New Yorker where many Thai restaurants compete with each other. My favored is Thai Shop House on 9th Avenue you may already know it if not - give it a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galangal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.