We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, beautiful and delicious.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galangal

Galangal
17 Church Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-773-0076
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Christiansted
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“friendly, beautiful and delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I've been to Galangal plenty of times while i've lived on St. Croix and it is always a great experience! The food is amazing. The owners are very friendly along with the servers. Once you walk into Galangal your mouth will drop, they have definitely put alot in making the place look beautiful. They have hand carved doors, numerous pieces of artwork and decor, even the bathroom is gorgeous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time for your positive review on Galangal. Comments like yours make our efforts to to provide good service and high quality food worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    30
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Vermont
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“really beautiful decor, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was surprised what a good restauraunt this is. I live in NYC and an accostomed to restauraunts on carribean islands being OK but not great.

This place is great! Really amazing interior design. Good service, good food, and pretty good value as well

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments an TripAdvisor. Your positive review is appreciated especially from a New Yorker where many Thai restaurants compete with each other. My favored is Thai Shop House on 9th Avenue you may already know it if not - give it a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise in STX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was there on a weekend trip from St Thomas and since we do not have Thai in St Thomas this was a must do!

Great coconut soup and Pad Thai!

Ambiance is also a surprise! Very modern and makes you feel like you are a restaurant in the States, instead of the same old beachy feel!

Please move over to St Thomas!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your visit to our sister island and our restaurant. Your positive review is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Agreat meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food, with excellent specials. Amazing ambiance. Helpful servers. Come before six P.M. for an amazing three course dinner at a great price.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
At Galangal we are always very happy to get a positive review. We will share your comments with our staff which are the ones who make it happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Southeast Asian Ambiance in a Caribbean Locale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had seen the positive reviews of Galangal on TripAdvisor, and wanted to make a special stop during a recent trip to St. Croix. (Being vegetarian, there's not always a lot that I can eat, and especially love Thai food because of the vegetables after overlooking any fish sauce that might have accidentally fallen in...) I don't know what to rave about more -- the food or the ambiance.

The restaurant is decorated in a pan-Asian style with two huge chofas standing guard outside the doors, and two Chinese figures inside. There are some wonderful architectural panels throughout, but, for me the highlight was the hand carved door from Bali. I really wanted to stand there and admire the carving -- except that it isn't a good place to stand being by the bar and the kitchen entrance.

The food was delicious. Very delicately spiced -- I ordered a green curry. But, what was most amazing was the ginger sorbet which I so enjoyed. Just make sure to save room for dessert!

The service was gracious and attentive. My only comment is that I wish they were open for lunch too -- I would have gone back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a positive review on TripAdvisor. A satisfied guests is the greatest reward a restaurant can get. We will share your comment with our staff who deserve the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galangal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.