We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A St Croix must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galangal

Galangal
17 Church Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-773-0076
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
TUS
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A St Croix must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great Asian food, wonderful decor, and a good location near the fort in Christiansted. For me the seafood is always a good choice as it's fresh from local waters.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    214
    28
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“As we expected...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

St Croix has more quality restaurants than we would expect. Galangal is among the best we have enjoyed. Sophisticated ambiance; professional, engaging service; marvelous asian style food, magical desserts: all shared in an elegantly comfortable setting. Delightful and satisfying evening. Make reservations and enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Your kind comments on TripAdvisor make our efforts worthwhile and are greatly appreciated.
We will share them with our staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The best thai restaurant I've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I went twice during my stay. Highly recommend it! Great food and staff! Order a Hoegaarden beer that pairs perfectly with the thai dishes!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Visiting Galangal twice during your stay on St. Croix is the best compliment which we will share with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of, if not THE Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I've held off on doing reviews of restaurants here on St. Croix because I've lived here for over 27 years and don't want to leave anyone out. For a small island there are a LOT of wonderful restaurants but Galangal truly stands out as one of the BEST. The service is always spot on, you are greeted with an amuse bouche (I had to look up the spelling in Wikipedia), the wine list is excellent and the food amazing. I love the pork tenderloin (so tender it cuts with a fork), and any of the curries. I usually get a side of chopped Thai peppers to kick it up a notch. And ending with one of their gelatos (ginger is my favorite) is just heavenly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Ed and Molly:

Thank you for visiting our restaurant over and over again and sharing your dining experience with TripAdvisors readership. We are always happy to see your friendly faces. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a most delicious, beautifully appointed restaurant where you can't go wrong! I love it all!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mary:

Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Our customers satisfaction is our priority. Receiving a positive review like yours makes us and our staff very happy. Hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galangal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.