We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal without a huge bill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galangal

Galangal
17 Church Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-773-0076
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
“Great meal without a huge bill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

All the dishes were great but the Tim Ka Gai soup was especially delicious. For a really nice dining experience I certainly recommend this spot

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review which is always greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    209
    27
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food and Owner made this extrodinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I visited Galangal on the last night of our trip which was our anniversary on Oct 24 of 2012. Service was impeccable. The young lady who waited on us whose husband is a chef was incrediblely tuned into making sure we were happy but wasnt overbearing. As a patron at a restaurant, this is a great quality.She was a very nice person and made us feel comfortable and pampered. If the owners read this, please share her name so I can recommend her to others.The owner visited with us for quite a while after our meal and we moved to the comforable couches in the center of the restaurant. It felt like we were in his home by his hospitality. Will be back for sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant. The servers name is Kate. We have shared your positive review with her and she is thankful for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Galangal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Galangal was highly recommended by a local friend. Looking for a special dinner spot and could not have been more pleased with the decor, wait staff and food. The tuna taki appetizer was superb. I had green curry with Mahi and my wife had the duck. Both fabulous. The waitress Kate was knowlegable about their menu and provide just the right suggestions. Service was excellent.
You won't be disappointed

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant we greatly appreciate it. Kate is quite happy that you liked her service. That is what it is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Thai...and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Green Curry....very authentic. Loved it! Call for reservations just in case during peak season. Do not recommend the steak and fries.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Once Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A group of us have flown over to St. Croix a couple years in a row now and once again we made our way to Galangal for dinner. We were not disappointed in the slightest. What a great place and fabulous food. Many in the group wanted to go back again other nights while there, but we had already made reservations elsewhere. But, this was clearly the best of the meals had!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. The returning guest is the greatest reward for any restaurant. We thank you for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galangal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.