We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Do Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Beard's Adventure Tours

Big Beard's Adventure Tours
PO Box 224534, Christiansted 00822-4534, St. Croix
340-773-4482
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 30 Activities in Christiansted
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Fairfax Station, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Must Do Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Buck Island is THE reef to snorkel. We went on the half day tour and felt like we were in the hands of professionals.
Big Beard provides all the snorkel gear needed and takes the time to teach folks how to snorkel. Though I've snorkeled in many places taking a few minutes with my wife as she got comfortable I learned a few things about how to blow thru my mouth piece to ensure less carbon dioxide in the tube.
The reef and fishes are the best compared to other st. Croix locations.
On the way back a group of dolphins showed up and Michael the captain was willing to stop and stay with them as we all took pictures.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    44
    14
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great knowledgeable crew. Would do this trip again & again. Crew were on spot. Never seen a mongoose before. That was cool. This is a must do with this crew.
Worth every dime

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“full day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Did the full day trip as an activity on my port day on a cruise. The crew was friendly, laid back and professional. Did two beach stops, plus an open water snorkel stop. The water was a little rough for me so was not able to do the snorkel as I was feeling sick. Lunch was hot dogs, burgers, fish. The entire day was great. Views were amazing and the best water I have encountered!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun day on the Big Beards boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a great experience on our full-day snorkeling tour with Big Beards. The crew was very focused on safety while also being very friendly and helpful. Our guide gave us a quick guided tour of the reef and then turned us loose to explore on our own. The reef at Buck Island is beautiful but it has clearly been visited by lots of snorkelers and divers. Our tour guide made sure we knew how to respect the reef and leave no impact. The water is deep and the current is significant, so this might be a little challenging for novice snorkelers. We sailed to another beach where the crew prepared burgers and hot dogs for lunch. This gave us a chance to visit with the other passengers and ask the crew about things to see and do around St. Croix. Overall, a good day.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A Caribbean Must!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Buck Island is amazing. White Sands - Empty beautiful place and underwater MAGIC of the snorkeling is incredible! The Crew was perfect (talented and helpful, a very expert lesson from crew on snorkeling that all of us were so grateful for and with great practical tips). The crew kept offering comfort in the form of food, beverages and conversation. The Trip was fantastic. Food was basic - but fine. I am very very glad I took this tour.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Beard's Adventure Tours also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Big Beard's Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Beard's Adventure Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.