We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Good Spirits

Good Spirits
5000 Teague Bay | The Reef Golf Course, Christiansted, St. Croix
340-692-4663
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #21 of 64 restaurants in Christiansted
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Delicatessen, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Famous for our great food, friendly service and great prices! Call for hours and specials.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and friendly owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Food was really great here! We had been driving for a while in search of dinner for our group of 7 and found this quaint place. Drinks were reasonable and yummy. We had an assortment of items from the menu,including the totchos, and everything was soooo yummy. We got to see an amazing sunset and had a great time chatting with the owners. Only issue was eating at dusk there were some Mosquitos out. The owners provided bug spray but I think some citronella candles would have been a nice addition. Otherwise well worth the search for this island gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    34
    13
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada, Florida, United States
1 review
“Jewel of St. Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Tucked away at the bottom of a hill next to a golf course on the east end of the island is the jewel of St. Croix. Our family tried almost everything on the menu. We were there for five days and went there everyday. It is an outdoor restaurant with a bar and convenience store inside. We stayed at Villa Madelaine right up the hill and we bought all of our necessities at the convenience store. We gave them a list and they had everything ready for us when we checked in. As for the food, the BBQ is the best on the island, and off the island for that matter. The brisket, ribs, pulled pork, and smoked turkey were cooked and seasoned to perfection. The hamburgers are awesome. And the sides like mac and cheese, creamed spinach, and black beans and rice were delicilous. Just beware of the totchos with homemade chili; it packs a punch. Their is live music most nights, which sets the mood for sitting outside eating and drinking under the strings of lights. The drinks are also unique and have a generous amount of alcohol. Try the Painkiller, which is even better than at the Soggy Dollar Bar in the BVI's. The Bushwacker is also delicious. All in all, this unassuming little place on the east end of the island, run by a very interesting couple, is a rare treat on the island of St. Croix.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“If you're smoking food, it should taste like it...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stopped at Good Spirits since the place recommended to us was closed. The service was good. The bartender/server was really nice and friendly as was the food runner. The place is next to a golf course and is in a pretty nice setting. Seating is either on picnic tables or at one of the few tables inside. The menu looked pretty good. We were informed that since it was mid week that they were going to be out of some of the BBQ. The start to prep it late week for the weekend evidently. Either way, we didn't miss anything. I had the smoked brisket and my girlfriend had the pulled pork. Neither had any smoke taste whatsoever. They were also poorly seasoned. On top of that, the sauce on the pulled pork had an odd taste. The conch fritters were tasty, however, as was the mac n cheese. In fact, the mac n cheese was a stand out item as it was smoked, and had a good smoke flavor, unlike the meat. It was really tasty. All in all, a disappointment. Typically a place only gets one chance to make an impression, and Good Spirits struggled here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmbatl, Owner at Good Spirits, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I am very sorry to read of your negative experience at our business. I was present when you dined and I try to insure that each customer leaves satisfied.

We do smoke our brisket. Our pork is roasted. I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy our BBQ sauce as so many customers tell us that's what keeps them coming back for more.

I am certainly pleased that you enjoyed our service and atmosphere. I encourage you to return anytime and ask for me personally. We want to make sure that you have the same kind of experience at Good Spirits as so many of our repeat customers.

Best

Jason Bronis
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good East-End Food Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It's always nice to have another reliable spot to stop and eat at on the east end of St. Croix. This was my first time to stop and eat under this new ownership. My wife and I each had the pulled pork sandwich and they were very good. Nice friendly atmosphere with fun outdoor dining. Great menu selections so we will definitely be going back to try some other things.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Definitely a 'locals' hangout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Loved just sitting outside at a picnic table enjoying the perfect weather, great food and good music. We enjoyed watching as people sat down and were greeted by name by the waitress, the other customers and sometimes the folks singing up front! My wife loved her 'Totchoes' (tater tots made up like nachos) and my ribs were finger-licking good! Great place to get an Island Vibe

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Spirits also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Good Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.