We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rowdy Joe's

Rowdy Joe's
East End of Cane Beach | North Shore Road, Christiansted, St. Croix
340-718-0055
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Food on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Rowdy Joe's has the best food on the island. It's not fancy, it's not expensive, but it was the freshest and most unique meal we had on our 2 week visit. The edamame was my spicy and delicious and we also tried a few of their specials. They aren't open all year so if you are going in the off-season make sure to get over their while they are open. I recommend bringing bug spray if you are going for dinner as there isn't as much of a breeze and we were eaten alive (it was worth it). The locals here are SO friendly and we ended up chatting with the table next to us the entire night. Great place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    86
    16
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milford
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Have the Ice Cream as an app!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I've been to Rowdy Joe's several times and love it each time I visit! This time I ordered the fish tacos. They are very good. The flavors are perfect, they're a little messy, but worth it. But, the highlight of this visit was the ice cream....Chocolate Malt! It had crispy chunks of light malt in the ice cream! I was in heaven!!! The bartender was very nice and made great drinks. The atmosphere is fun. The only negative was the hostess that sat us. She was so uptight.We just wanted to sit at the bar and she said, "there aren't any seats..and there are 10 people coming in for that table, 4 for that one etc." Instead of saying, "sure, first come, first serve at the bar!" Anyways, it didn't ruin our time. Go check it out!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“YES! Love.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Loved Rowdy Joe's! Their menu was unique, and we enjoyed sitting outside in the breeze. I had the cubano with fried polenta on the side. My husband had the fish tacos. Very, very good. Sadly we did not have ice cream. We were there for a late lunch, and our server said the ice cream wasn't ready yet. So sad because the flavors sounded so good! We went too late in our trip and with them being closed on Wednesdays and Thursdays, we had no more opportunities to get ice cream. I hope to return to STX and will definitely go back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Wonderful dinner. Enjoy all of their specials. The food and service were terrific. We went with a group of friends and really enjoyed it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Loved the food and the eclectic menu. The homemade ice cream was delicious!!! Becky was a great waitress.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowdy Joe's also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Rowdy Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowdy Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.