We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad Eat at Cane Bay happened to be closed that day.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rowdy Joe's

Rowdy Joe's
East End of Cane Beach | North Shore Road, Christiansted, St. Croix
340-718-0055
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Glad Eat at Cane Bay happened to be closed that day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent part of the day at the beach in Cane Bay. We always eat at Eat at Cane Bay afterwards. This time, Eat was closed. So, I suggested to my husband that we try Rowdy Joe's. I had been wanting to try it for a while. We got there for a late lunch. We were expecting a burger joint. Boy, were we wrong! The menu is fairly extensive with lots of different things to choose from. We had a hard time narrowing down what we ordered. We got the pork and ginger dumplings, a panko encrusted baked brie with a mango and almond chutney, and a Caprese salad. Everything was fantastic! The dumplings were deep fried. We would have preferred pan fried. But, they was delicious and get 4 really large dumplings stuffed with lots of pork and ginger. The brie was perfectly cooked, ooey and gooey on the inside. The pesto they put on the Caprese salad was excellent. Unfortunately, we didn't have room for some of the home-made ice cream. The server was great. She knew the menu like the back of her hand. And, she was doing it all - server, bartender, bus person, all in one. We look forward to returning during our next visit. There were at least a half dozen other things on the menu we wanted to try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    207
    84
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I ate way too much and it was worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We enjoyed Rowdy Joe's so much for lunch one day, we came back another day for dinner. It doesn't look like much from the outside and there's no ocean view, but the awesome food makes up for it. The service was good and the dark & stormy's were even better. Things we ate over the course of 2 meals and loved: ginger pork wontons, sriracha edamame,cuban sandwich, curry lamb empanandas, fish tacos, chorizo meatloaf, espresso heath bar ice cream, bread pudding with homemade caramel sauce (OMG the caramel sauce is the stuff dreams are made of), and the pumpkin ice cream.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch (leave room for the ice cream!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stopped here for a nice casual lunch one day during our week-long Nov 2013 trip to STX. They have nice outdoor seating, as do most or all in Cane Bay, so you can enjoy the nice breeze and weather while eating. The wait staff was very good and friendly and everything we had was great. Especially the home-made ice cream dessert. Yum! Make sure you keep a little empty spot for it. Can definitely recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This place rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We recently spent a week in St Croix at the Renaissance Carambola Resort, which is just 10 minutes from Cane Bay, where Rowdy Joe's is. As is our habit of avoiding generic chain restaurants, we always ask the locals for their favorite places to eat. There were three names that kept popping up: Rowdy Joe's, La Reine Chicken Shack, and Harvey's. We ate at all three, and all of them were fantastic!

Rowdy Joe's offers both inside and covered outside dining. Why anyone would ever eat indoors I will never understand... LOL We began our meal with a Rowdy Joe's Dark Stormy, a drink made with a Caribbean brewed root beer, Cruzan rum, and I believe there was a touch of ginger in it. Killer!! You have to try one of those.

For an appetizer, my wife and I shared the coconut curry lamb empanadas. Fantastic! A nice amount of coconut curried lamb was tucked inside a perfectly fried empanada. It was served with their special mango habernero "chutney" sauce, which we were told starts out with mango chutney and is spiked with vinegar and habernero peppers. It was ridiculously good! It is not a thick chutney that you might expect, but a thinner sauce. Any way you slice it, it is amazing. That was just the start of things to come. For our meals, we had their fish tacos. They are prepared with fresh caught mahi. The owner has contacts with local fishermen, so the fish might change depending on what is caught that morning. The fish is delivered in the mornings and cleaned and fileted on site. You can't find fresher fish! The tacos start with small flour tortillas. Inside each is a perfectly cooked piece of fish that is dusted with some sort of blackening spice and then it appeared to be pan fried (possibly grilled?). There was no breading on it, so I am sure it wasn't pan fried. The fish is topped with an undressed cabbage/green papaya slaw and more of that crazy good mango habernero chutney/sauce. They were absolutely fantastic! The sides were also great, although the Greek style cucumber and feta salad offering we chose was a bit strange to have with a fish taco. My bad. We also ordered their Asian bbq ribs. They were also very tasty, although they didn't appear to have been barbequed. I think the menu name relates to the very good sauce on them. I am quite certain they were cooked low and slow in the oven. The ribs were pork spareribs and were fall-off-the-bone tender. The sauce was also quite good. Perhaps a few minutes on the grill would have given them a bit more smoky of a flavor, but I am not complaining! A side of cabbage/green papaya slaw was a great touch and helped to cleanse the palate and lighten things up a bit.

Another thing not to miss is their homemade ice cream! We tried the rum raisin, which we got "to go" to take back to our resort. We actually topped it with this real gooseberry concoction we bought from a street vendor just a few doors down from Harvey's in Christiansted. That ice cream was some of the best we have ever had, with a deep, rich flavor and almost impossible creaminess. Good stuff!

So, if you visit St Croix, my advice is to listen to the locals and don't bother eating at your resort, wherever that might be. Who wants a steak or a piece of corporate chicken from your hotel or resort when you can dine on the best fish tacos you have ever tasted, or fresh conch in a butter/wine sauce (at Harvey's) or the ridiculously good rotisserie chicken or stewed oxtail at Le Reine Chicken Shack?! When in Rome, people... :D

To sum up, if you live in St Croix or if you are visiting, take the very scenic north shore drive to Cane Bay and party! There are a bunch of great places there, such as Rowdy Joe's, eat@canebay, or even the beach bar Spratnet. We highly recommend Rowdy Joe's, and I am not easy to please. Cheers!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Great! Must go at least once.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Wasn't expecting much based on the restaurant's appearance - more bar food. The selection of foods served was very different but everything I ate was excellent. Went for lunch and had the best ever smoked mushroom and Gouda soup along with jalapeño jack cheese mac coated with bacon. The Mac n cheese was good but couldn't compare with the soup. Went back for dinner and my fiancé had fresh Mahi that was wonderful. We got there kind of late and the place was crowded so they ran out of their ice cream. We had cocoa bread pudding with chocolate chips and cream and it was awesome and I don't like bread pudding.

Well be going back in a couple of days for ice cream. I wish this restaurant were close by my home in Colorado; it would definitely be a favorite!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowdy Joe's also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix

Been to Rowdy Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowdy Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.