We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just probably the best deal on the island for a higher end food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rowdy Joe's

Rowdy Joe's
East End of Cane Beach | North Shore Road, Christiansted, St. Croix
340-718-0055
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Washington DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just probably the best deal on the island for a higher end food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went again, a year later, when even many of the best restaurants on the islands have slipped ever so slightly, Rowdy Joes is still producing great stuff. It's hard to maintain that kind of performance when the economy stinks and fewer customers means quality ingredients are expensive to keep on hand, but Joe's is keeping up the quality.

I had their chorizo meatloaf and my wife had Asian ribs. Very flavorful, showed some real skill in the kitchen and in blending flavors. It's not a high class bar, but after some direction, they made a daiquiri better than most restaurants (2 rum 1 lime (they sadly used sour mix) and 3/4 2:1 simple syrup shaken and strained). That sounds easy, and is, but most people can't do it right.

I went again, and got fish and chips and once again, it was great, when there are probably hundreds of places in the US offering it, and only a few get it right. Rowdy Joes does it beautifully. (perhaps slightly undersalted. Perhaps).

Just great. If you are st Croix, you should go. Skip eat@cane bay (another restaurant close by) and go here after snorkeling at cane bay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    210
    84
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Awesome find in st croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We visited Rowdy Joe based upon a recommendation we received during a trip to Buck Island. Small restaurant with a very laid back feel. We tried the edamame and it was absolutely phenomenal! We even brought some of the teriyaki sauce home with us. We also tried the fish tacos and a mahi mahi dish. Hands down best meal we had while on St. Croix! loved the chill atmosphere and eclectic menu. We will definitely be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good fish tacos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We got take out for seven and the overall consensus was that it was OK. Our views might have been different had we visited on another day and had we eaten at the restaurant. The service was good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants on st croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Every time we visit St Croix we make sure we go to Rowdy Joes a a few times. Everything on the menu is great there at a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great menu- best Vegie wrap ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

small funky, on the way to north shore, scenic ride. We had lunch here twice- great selection and wraps delicious and inexpensive. Fried vegie wrap, fish tacos, salads are all large and stuffed- hard to finish. Icecream we heard was great- but toooo stuffed to have. Service very friendly. Worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowdy Joe's also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix

Been to Rowdy Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowdy Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.