We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove

The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove
4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-718-8920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 66 restaurants in Christiansted
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove Restaurant.
Carbondale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We eat Christmas dinner at the Palms at Pelican Cove. Very nice dinner and great service. Nice resort we didn't stay there but I might next trip. The only negative would be the fact that that stretch has lots of black sea weed that washes on shore. Beach is beautiful despite the sea weed and great access from hotel.
The William's Family
Carbondale,IL.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    71
    27
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, & atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very pleasant adult-oriented outdoor restaurant area with great service and fantastic food at reasonable prices. Get the banana cream cheese stuffed french toast... mmm... You won't regret it!! All wait staff was super friendly except Lizzy, who rolled her eyes at my mother when we told her she gave us the wrong toast (wheat instead of white) and then slammed it down on the table when she came back with it. Other than her negative attitude, I definitely recommend dining here!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your experience here at The Palms Restaurant. We have a new Restaurant Manager that just joined us from a large international hotel chain. He has decades of experience and some great ideas. His first emphasis going forward will be boosting customer service and maintaining our, as you said it, "fantastic food at reasonable prices". I am sorry to hear about your experience with one of our wait staff. We visited with her and she apologizes that she came across that way; she says she absolutely did not intend to be anything less than totally professional. She promises that it will not happen again. We do appreciate your comment and your review; your feedback helps keep us on the road of continued improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Day dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Maybe we shouldn't have ordered the roast turkey. They are probably better at seafood. "Candied yams" turned out to be sweet potatoes with marshmallows. Not making that up.
It was fine. It was a lovely location and the staff were attentive and friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Glad that you found your Thanksgiving Day dinner to be ok and the service to be good. I did visit with the Manager, the Chef, and also checked the suppliers shipping list. The Candied Yams served with dinner were in fact Yams and not Sweet Potatoes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawson, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This open air restaurant offered great food in a relaxing atmosphere with live music supplied by a local steel band. Our first night on the island set the casual tone for the remainder of our stay.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good breakfasts, not so good dinners.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The food was okay. Expensive for what it was. I found all of the dinner food rather bland. I did enjoy the breakfasts, which were simple and basic, but had great flavor! Head elsewhere for dinners. (That said, I have not been there in one year, if there have been changes in the menu, the beachfront location is amazing and could be worth another look.) over the past year,

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. A lot has happenned over the past year at the Palms Restaurant. We do make a point of reviewing our menus on a regular basis and will add items that are frequently requested by Guests and drop some that are not as popular. The Dinner Menu, as well as other menus, will have changed a couple of times since you were here last. We are also fortunate to have been joined by Andy, our new Restaurant Manager, and his wife Emily. Andy's resume is extensive and the last many years he has overseen restaurants at one of the larger international hotel chains. He and Emily are doing a great job and are receiving many compliments from our guests. One thing we have not changed is the wonderful ambience and the amazing beachfront location, as you described it. Please drop in your next time on island and let us know if we are moving in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.