We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit I-5: Updated and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gentle Winds Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gentle Winds Condominiums
Save Saved
You added Gentle Winds Condominiums to your Saves list
9003 Gentle Winds, Christiansted 00822-5605, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unit I-5: Updated and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from a trip to St.Croix and we stayed at Gentle Winds unit I-5! We stayed here back in 2009 and it needed some updating! Well, we were excited to see the updates! The walls have been painted and there is a brand new flat screen tv, blu-ray player, unit was clean! Lets be real-if you are in paradise you will be spending little time in the condo! The view was amazing, the Beach Shack was awesome--Mike makes great food and strong drinks! The owners are personable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I spent 2012 taking courses and doing open water dives for my Technical Diving certifications and we needed a place for our "final exam". St. Croix fit the bill due to the ability to make dives to up to 300ft and accomplish this without requiring a boat - i.e. inexpensively. My instructor and classmate/dive buddy and I stayed in Patrick's C6 unit, and found it to be the perfect spot.

These condos are located on the north shore, which is a diver's Mecca. The Salt River is just next door and a short drive to the West is Cane Bay. The property is beautifully maintained and set back from the main road to provide a sense of isolation. The pool area is beautiful and well maintained. It is lit by multi-colored led lights in the evening and provides a resort like atmosphere. Possibly one of the key anchors to the property is the "Beach Shack" which is open each day and serves up a variety of tropical drinks and grilled sandwiches and snacks. I believe we ate lunch there between dives (3-4 hour surface intervals)each day and found it to be excellent.

Unit C6 is well appointed and laid out so that everyone has their privacy, or can come together and discuss the day's events. The bedding is comfortable, showers are refreshing and the overall furniture has a "homey" feel. Also, if you're planning a long stay, the kitchen is always a critical concern. No disappointment here. All the necessary appliances, pots & pans and dishes are there.

I've found it very pleasant to work with Patrick and look forward to our next visit. If you're considering St. Croix, you need to consider this for your stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I-10 at Gentle Winds must be THE most desired condo in this lovely complex. Right next to the beach, there are fabulous views of the Caribbean from the balconies. Because it is an end unit there is a lot of privacy and peace and quiet. You can lounge on the upper balcony facing the ocean all day and dine on the lower screened in, beach view, balcony in the evening.
Every amenity is available within the spacious condo and the convenient layout again provides lots of privacy for multiple couples or family members. 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms make this a perfect set-up for traveling with friends.
The Beach Shack, located footsteps away from I-10, provides libation as well as a world class chef that can put together many taste tempting treats, lunch or snacks and a bevy of beach themed drinks. A fabulous Olympic size pool, recently completely renovated, adds the perfect touch to end a warm day on the beach.
Traveling to other areas of the island for site-seeing and eating is an easy, short enough, drive as the island is quite small. The locals are friendly and very willing to offer tips and advice regarding a day away from Gentle Winds Resort. The owner keeps up to date site seeing literature available in the condo as well as telephone service and a wireless internet connection.
It's a casual, island themed, paradise condo that will help create many great memories from the moment you arrive and settle in. It's an artist's retreat for sure with everything you could want to help relax and shake off the stress of everyday life, nothing too stuffy or too formal here. Tennis rackets, sun tan lotion, beach towels, what more do you need?
Any way you look at it, I-10 is just little bit of heaven. I think you will love it.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, but if you love the sound of waves crashing choose the upstairs room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed at Gentle winds every time we have come to St. Croix. We love Kent and Dawn, they are absolutely wonderful and pay great attention to detail. We thought this was our little secret a few years ago but now the word has gotten out and its getting harder to book. We have stayed there in 2006, 2007,2008, 2011 and going again in 2013. We love this condo! We will go back! Thank you Vreelands!

Room Tip: I 4 is the condo , its in the West Indies building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I don't think we could find another property on the island that has everything we are looking for. For us as divers, the location is excellent. We dive with Cane Bay and for several of our days of diving, we boarded the Ibis (dive boat) next door at the marina. Within a short drive from the condo, there are several great restaurants and lots to do. If you do want to go in to Christiansted, it's only a short drive away and also not too far from the K-Mart or the Plaza Extra - easily situated almost between the two.


After a morning of diving, we came back to the Beach Shack here at Gentle Winds for a bite of lunch - made to order. It's great to have such an option sitting right on the beach. Take your meal at the shack or just a few steps away in a lounge chair under a cabana. You've got to get there early to score the hammock though!!!

The pool facilities were recently renovated and the difference was great. I'm sure it was pricy for the owners, but well worth it. The water is now salt and the pool decking was gorgeous. Lighting around the pool in the evening enhanced that late evening swim.

This year we were in Unit I2 because our favorite was already booked. We all agreed that we probably won't be staying in this unit again in the future. When we booked, the unit was billed as recently renovated, but we frankly didn't see it. We could tell where curtain rods had been attached to the walls but the "renovations" didn't include filling in the holes nor painting where the rods attached to the walls. Instead of reinstalling new curtains, the unit was desperately lacking in window coverings. In some instances, we at supper with sunglasses on inside the unit. It did make for some nice sunsets though. In the evenings, when outside, we could see straight into and through the unit. Many of the furnishings within the unit were "tired". The bedding and towels within the unit haven't been updated in years and the kitchen was lacking on many basic cooking utensils, dishes and necessities. The unit had central air, which we used to some degree, but the upper bedroom didn't have a vent and the vent for the upstairs loft was rusted shut.

The management office was great to us again. They maintain two gas grills that you can ask to have placed in an accessible area for your use to cook supper. The property is well maintained with an overall resort appearance. If you want to keep your golf game in check, there are 4 3-par holes on the property for you to try out, and yes the greens are properly cut and trimmed. Up at the entrance of the property, there are 2 tennis courts and at the back you will find a basketball court.

Overall we find Gentle Winds to be an excellent value. The overall amenities of the property and it's location keep us coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My large extended family gathered for 10 days from 6/29-7/9, all staying in different units at Gentle Winds. I've been to Gentle Winds twice before, and always love seeing our unit for the first time. Calypso Condo does not disappoint in any way. My parents, my husband and our 3 children all stayed in the unit. With 3 bathrooms, 3 bedrooms and a sofabed, we were all comfortable with sleeping arrangements (and personal space).

Calypso Condo (C-2) is bright, colorful and has all modern amenities, but embraces its locale. We loved the local art work, updated kitchen and views of palm trees, the resort, and the sea.

The recreational toys in storage came in handy, as we used the tennis rackets, snorkeling masks, coolers, rafts, etc. We brought nothing but our bathing suits and some casual clothes to wear to occasional dinners out. A favorite local haunt is eat at cane bay. We went three times in that one week!

Gentle Winds is like a jewel that you want everyone to behold, but at the same time, want to keep its' brilliance all to yourself. We rose almost every morning and hit the tennis courts by 7:30, all ages in tow. We lounged, poolside or seaside, cooling off frequently. Our children and their cousins spent hours playing ping-pong and in hermit crab alley. The shack kept us hydrated and satisfied with daily drink and food specials. Our favorite was the Gentle Windy (and the virgin fruit smoothie for the kids!)

Thank you, Barbara, for the special touches like the champagne, soft bed linens and plastic cocktail glasses. Our stay on St. Croix is never long enough, but even now, weeks later, I still feel the trade winds on my face and hear the palm branches swaying in the breeze. I hope to return to Calypso again.

Tricia M.
Summit, NJ

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the Calypso Condo (C-2) if it is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Gentle Winds Condo (unit I 6). The condo was clean and fairly well equipped. The location was perfect. This condo was on the ground floor, so we could just walk out the bedroom onto the lawn to the beach or pool. The beach is beautiful and the thatched huts offer much needed shade.
The huge pool with mini waterfalls was always clean. The kids loved it.
We ate at the "beach shack" a couple of times and really enjoyed the convenience if it.
I would definately recommend this condo complex and unit I 6. Our whole party rental three condos and we couldn't have been happier.
Great vacation spot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gentle Winds Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentle Winds Condominiums

Address: 9003 Gentle Winds, Christiansted 00822-5605, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentle Winds Condominiums consists of 66 individually owned two and three bedroom units located on 40 acres of beautifully landscaped property. All bedrooms have ensuite baths. Many of the units are rented directly by the homeowner on FlipKey or a similar vacation rental site and/or a real estate agent. Some units accept pets and have wheel chair access. There is a seasonal snack shack/bar. There is an excellent swimming beach as well as two tennis courts, half court basketball, jungle gym, shuffle board, salt water pool and a four hole golf course at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gentle Winds Condominiums Hotel Christiansted
Gentle Winds Condominiums St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gentle Winds Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.