We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As usual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Alley Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King's Alley Hotel
Save
You added King's Alley Hotel to your Saves list
57 King Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
PR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“As usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

King's Alley Hotel is the place to stay in St. Croix specially for business. Its excellent located in Christiansted, I always stay here. Its steps away from the boardwalk and good restaurants. Tony, the hotel manager, is great assisting you with your needs. What the hotel lacks in terms of amenities is steps away from it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

On my first trip to St Croix I stayed at the King Christian, big mistake. The second time on the island I chose King's Alley for the reviews here on trip advisor. The rooms were very clean, the king size bed was quite comfortable, and the flat screen TV was just right after taking in too much sun. The hotel is located on the Boardwalk with in a few meters of the brew pub, Rumrunners and Angry Nates. The jet ski rentals, snorkeling, scuba diving and tours are all located on the boardwalk just outside this hotel. The only points I think were lost due to the lack of amenities at the hotel. There is no breakfast, no lounge, NO elevator and outside of a few dated vending machines no refreshments. However, given that you are so close to the rest of the things it all works out. All I can say is clean, comfortable, updated and the AC was cold.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed here for a night and in our hurriedness to catch an early flight, left 2 sentimental items behind. Called hotel and within 2 days our items were sent to us fed ex.
Great central location too, close to great little restaurants along the marina. Thanks Tony, we hope to return back to St. Croix soon and enjoy another stay in your hotel!
Jeremey Tuchsen and Frances Buch

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed at the King's Alley Hotel and were very pleased. It has been newly updated, the rooms were clean and spacious, the bed very comfortable and it is within steps of the boardwalk. We weren't interested in a pool so did not miss it. We have travelled extensively worldwide for both business and pleasure and would highly recommend this hotel.
There is no elevator which may be a problem for some however I assume there is always the first floor option. The rooms have a small fridge and coffee maker, television is flat screen and quite large. There was a safe, blow dryer and iron and full sized ironing board in our room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I was very disappointed with the service from this hotel. We got there on Thursday, March 31,2011 and left on April 3, 2011. We were given Room 201 and this room had the generator too close to us, so they changed us to Room 205. Well... we got up in the morning and the floor was wet so our luggage and some of our clothes were wet too. We notified the front desk and they didn't care. Even though the location is nice, there is a lot of noise from the music outside so it is hard to sleep because it doesn't stop until 2:00 a.m. + The people of St. Croix are great but this group of people at the front desk need to learn that it doesn't cost to smile and to be nice. I will NOT recommend this hotel to any of my friends. If you want a place to eat at St. Croix try: Cafe Christine(best pie in town) Kendrick's for a great dinner and if you really want to be adventures try Paulina's Cafe(Prince Street #15)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel within 18months. First the location of this hotel is awesome. The rooms are some of the best on the island as far as decorations and comfort. Flat screen TV, Keurig coffee/tea machine in each room, glass shower, great cross breeze with balcony door open. In front of the hotel is a place called Pleasants... ( Best food and Happy Hour prices in St. Croix). The Kings Alley is a must stay if you like upscale yet simple. I will stay there again.. real soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

I was a little nervous about this hotel, but found it to be a great place to stay while on a business trip in St. Croix. The room was beautiful, the bed fantastic, the bathroom great, and the location just right! Located just off the water where there is no shortage of restaurants and shops, it's a great location to be in Christiansted.

Complaints:
No internet access in the rooms. Lobby only.

No breakfast. There was a little place just across the alley with Otis Spunkmeyer muffins and other snacks, but not really "breakfast".

My room had itty bitty tiny little ant-like critters that i found crawling around. Harmless and squashed with a finger, but not exactly something you like to hear.

I was only there over night, but the next morning the power went out on one side of the wall eliminating the use of 2 lamps and the alarm clock (that i noticed was flashing when i first checked in, so apparently the power comes and goes???)

I didn't see an elevator. Not that i can't carry my own bag up a flight of stairs, but this can be a problem for some. If there WAS an elevator, i didn't see it.

Front desk staff - This was hit or miss... One woman was quite helpful and friendly. The other just looked bored and inconvenienced when you spoke to her. Not rude..but not eager to go above and beyond.

Overall, this was a great place to stay for a night to do business and then catch the sea plane (just down the pier!) to St. Thomas.
Some small glitches, but nothing to ruin my trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Alley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Alley Hotel

Address: 57 King Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
King's Alley Hotel St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Alley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.