We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort

Save Saved
You added Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3280 Estate Golden Rock | Rte 752, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
St. Croix
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Fantastic place to stay and feel at home in your own condo rental. It's expensive to dine out all the time, so having the fully equiped kitchen at our disposal was really great way to save and dishwahers make cleanup easy. We enjoyed quiet breakfasts on our own balcony overlooking a well kept beach, Buck Island and the harbor activity. There is a great resturant on the premises also.
All the units are individually owned so there is quite a difference in some of them. On the whole they were well maintained, very clean and comfortable. The staff is so courteous and friendly, they go out of their way to be helpful.
If it's a laid back, relaxing place to stay without the bustle of people around this is it. We were there 8 days and saw 6 people on the beach at the most at one time, same at the pool.
We will definitly return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    5
    6
    13
See reviews for
5
17
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We spent 6 days in St. Croix and felt that the Club St. Croix met our needs. We spent the majority of our time out doing things, so it really was only a place to prepare a meal, bathe and sleep. We weren't looking for a first-class hotel, and were thrilled to have the availability of a kitchen in the room and a laundry facility on the premises. We rented a junior suite, which is a step up from the basic room. This gave us a balcony with ocean view, a regular queen-sized bed, and the kitchen area with dishwasher. The unit was furnished with enough pots, pans and utensils that cooking was not a problem. Maid service is hit-or-miss unless you put the hang tag on the door indicating that you want service. They replenished towels and washcloths, emptied trash and swept the floors. They changed our linen once when I left the bed unmade. Laundry is expensive to do at $3.50 a load to wash and $3.50 to dry, but it made a difference in terms of how much clothing we needed to pack. Laundry soap is available in the one load box at $1.00 each. Tokens need to be purchased from the office in order to use the laundry facility, which is located in the pool area. A deposit is charged for beach towels and snorkel gear as well. Internet access is a little pricey, but we found that one day of internet was enough, and the connection was fine. There is a daily charge for room phone, so if you have a cellphone, use it--reception was fine on almost every part of the island. We did not eat at Breezez, the restaurant on site.

Some of the other reviews are critical of the office staff, the units and the beach area. The office staff were pleasant, but not overly friendly. They do not allow visitors in the office, but the office is quite small, and we didn't find that policy offensive in any way. The units are not new, and they are located directly on the ocean. There is bound to be some wear and tear as a result--corrosion of metal doorframes, etc., but we didn't find it overly problematic. The unit was comfortable for us, and although not something out of Architectural Digest, was perfectly adequate for us throughout our time there.

Just off the Club St. Croix beach is a major seaweed bed, which is just something that occurs as a result of being behind the coral reef and on the north shore. There are so many other beaches to choose from, that it didn't matter one bit to us, and there is no beach on St. Croix that is off limits--their policy is that everyone should be able to enjoy the beaches. That being said, I was appalled to see some beach areas littered with dirty diapers, broken beer bottles and so forth. The beaches on St. Croix are so pristine, I cannot fathom why anyone would want to ruin them.

All-in-all, we felt that Club St. Croix was a fairly good bargain and afforded us a central location from which to get to various places on the island. Some reviews also noted the proximity of the housing projects to the club. We did not feel unsafe at all, no matter where we were on the island. Use good common sense--not traveling alone, not carrying large amounts of cash, not going into the projects, and not being out in unfamiliar territory after dark. St. Croix is a lovely place with a lot of wonderful things to see and do, or simply, to do nothing at all!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asotin, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

The murphy bed was terrible; hard. At $125.00 a night this was the most expensive place we stayed for the month we were in the Caribbean, and the very bottom of our list! Only stayed one night before moving to The Hotel on the Cay for a week! Check in is at a table outside the office, Guest are not allowed in the office??? Staff was not overly friendly! At Hotel on the Cay they went out of their way to welcome us and tell us about all that the hotel had to offer!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed at Club St Croix 1-12 July 09 and again had a great experience. Professional staff, nice room, nice pool and spa, etc. Was our 8th stay at this facility and we will be back again next July.Vi

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

My husband & I stayed @ club st croix for 6 beautiful days! The weather was wonderful, Breezez the onsite restaurant was a bit pricey;but very good. The room had all the amentities of home-the hot tub was broke & a bit cool, but the pool was very nice. The beach just outside the room was a lovely view-however we preferred to go to the beach on the cay via ferry everyday-because of the excessive seaweed-overall our experience was GREAT! And we will definately stay again!

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — beach/seaweed
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

My wife and I broke up winter (27-Jan to 10-Feb) at this nice quiet place located on the bay about five minutes west of downtown Christiansted. It gave us just what we had hoped, alot of independence and relaxing time. This is not a full-service place, but one perfect for explorer/vacationers. Our second floor 1BR/1Bath with a balcony and full ocean view looked newly-remodeled. We rented a car (essential!), cooked in a few times, ate out a few times at one and two star places, and found ourselves within 45 minutes of everything on the uncrowded island. We even did the Annual Home Tour! Sprat Hall Beach on the West End is the best we found for wade-in snorkeling, but we loved Cane Bay, too. Played Carambola a couple times.
The beach at Club St. Croix itself is 50 yards from the balcony and made convenient sitting, but the water was not particularly good for swimming. The beach was a haven for watching kite-boarders. We played morning tennis most days. The hot tub was good, even in the dark!
The staff was friendly, prompt, and helpful. They loaned out snorkeling and tennis equipment at the office.
All-in-all, when we come back to St. Croix, we'll come here and suggest the same for other explorer/vacationers. Convenient, crisp and clean, great for staying in, great for going out, and easy on the pocketbook!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

My husband booked this online after doing quite a bit of research. We chose it particularly because of the direct view and access to the beach (good for our kids) and the onsite restaurant (good for ease for meals). We arrived late due to airline delays, and were greeted politely by the night clerk on duty. She apologetically informed us that our room had experienced "a flood" that would take a few days to clean up. (Yuk!) She offered us a room at their "sister resort" just a few properties away. We had little choice at that point and accepted. Unfortunately, the handful of hotels on that strip of beach back up to a ghetto, which some of the travel books gloss over as "public housing". Our substitute room at Colony Cove was on the third floor of an apartment building that was 'made-over" into a hotel. A first glance at the room seemed OK, with pleasant enough decor. However, the "balcony" was covered on all three sides with iron grates (our small child called them "prison bars"), there was no hot water, the bathrooms were infested with mosquitoes, the microwave had a "Do Not US" sign on it (not my misspelling), and there were no pillows to be found. Exhausted, we gave up and slept there anyway. We secured a room at another establishment first thing in the morning, and our online booking service refunded everything -- even the first night's stay. Save yourself the trouble and book your stay somewhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort

Address: 3280 Estate Golden Rock | Rte 752, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club St. Croix Beach And Tennis Hotel Christiansted
Club St. Croix Beach And Tennis Resort Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.