We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My choice until we've built a home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3280 Estate Golden Rock | Rte 752, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
A TripAdvisor Member
“My choice until we've built a home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2005

My fianc'ee and I spent a week here in late November of 2004. We were there to finalize a land purchase a few miles east of this resort. Our room was located on the bottom floor to the back edge of the structure. The view was spectacular with cerulean blue waters in the shallows that broke over a coral reef many yards offshore. The beach is private with lounge chairs and palm canopies. While the beach/water are not ideal they can be enjoyed none the less. There are other beaches close at hand that can be enjoyed more fully. The room was a little worn but very accomodating and comfortable. The unit was fully furnished and the service staff friendly and efficent. I noticed someone complain about the office. Yes, it does amount to chairs and a table outside under a large canopy. The employees use a very small office which houses the files, phones and computer. Heck, it's the caribbean! It's not like you have to endure torrential rainfall or freezing temps while you are assisted! The Breezes restaurant is a local hangout with decent food and staff. It isn't a 4 star eatery but most restaurants on the island aren't either. If you insist on the very best then these restaurants can be found. We tried many from Breeze's to TuTu Benni's to Durgan's Reef to Cheeseburger In Paradise. You get what you pay for. We were never disappointed. If you are looking for a true resort/spa then there are other places to stay. I'd recommend The Buccaneer or Divy. However, be prepared to spend a whole lot more money! The island is small and we chose to spend most of our time sightseeing. As such, Club St. Croix was ideal for our intentions. Get a car. It is by far the easiest means of travel although taxi service is very efficent. I just wouldn't want to walk all over as my sole means of transport...period. Lastly regarding safety, as in any place you might live or travel there are risks of crime. The area around the Club is improvished (as is much of the island) and reasonable caution should be taken to avoid areas off the beaten track, especially after dark. This applies to the whole island not just the surroundings of the Club. We never felt the least bit threatened or fearful during our stay. The locals were friendly enough and a greeting was always forthcoming. Most crime is petty and commited by locals on locals. Just be smart. If you're concerned about such issues then you should look at the crime rates in St. Thomas against tourists to compare! We're going back in March of 2005 for another week with the kids. I can't wait!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    5
    6
    13
See reviews for
5
20
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2004

We loved the pool and the tennis. Our suite had a big balcony, caught the breezes every night. The staff was above average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2004

My family and I just returned home from a wonderful St. Croix vacation. We did not stay at Club St. Croix. When we were researching where to stay we looked at Club St. Croix and read many terrible reviews. We did stay at an amazing inn, The Inn at Pelican Heights. Everything was perfect. One night we decided to go to Club St. Croix to Breezes to get some drinks. This was a horrible mistake! We went after the dinner rush so there were only a few tables of people. We waited to be seated and the waitress kept walking by us so finally we went to the bar and asked to be seated. We weren't given any menus so my husband went back to the bar to order our drinks and was told that we needed to wait for the waitress??? So we waited...and waited...and waited. Nothing and still no menus. An older couple came in and sat at the table behind us. The waitress walked by us, looked at us and took the other people's order and completely ignored us. We were so disgusted we just got up and left and went to a fabulous restaurant in Christiansted called RumRunners. I don't know if she ignored us because we were only ordering drinks or if it was an age thing (my husband and I are in our late 20s). If this is the type of service at Breezes than why would I ever want to stay at the resort?

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2004

I used to live on St. Croix for four years...The seaweed accmulating on the "north side" of St. Croix is a fact of nature. I never really liked Club St.Croix and the "malaise" of the island is evident from the lack of "energy" at this so called resort. It is indeed just a stone throw from "projects"

Two areas that are worth mentioning are teh little hotel at "Green Cay Marina" and the two little surfside hotels out on the N. W. Side of St. Croix at Cane Bay. The Cane Bay Dive Shop....beach diving at many sites...not a luxury dive shop but for the "hard core diver" and then there is the 1,300 ft. Wall @ Cane Bay. Cane Bay Dive Shop...look at their web site...Call and ask for Hal...he can direct you to the hotels just up the streed in walking distance from his CBDS.

Carambola Beach Resort...is just around the corner from Cane Bay...Very nice but pricey.

My advice for doing anything in either of the towns on the island after dark is ...DON'T...

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2004

We stayed there 4/13/04. We checked out after 1 day because we couldn't take it anymore. The beach was rocky. There's no way anybody can go swimming on the beach. It's absolutely FULL of seaweed. There's seaweed all over the sandy part of the beach also. The pool area has spider webs on the tables and chairs. The "Pool" is very small. Someone should warn you this is not a conventional hotel. It's definitely not a resort, and there's no spa. The tennis courts look abandoned. The "front desk" is a table outside. Room cleaning is an extra charge. Clean towels cost $5 among other things. This is a residence. People live here and you're renting a room. Our bathtub needed to be cleaned or resurfaced. Rugs were dirty. Dishwasher old and rusty. Low water pressure in bathroom. The dirty old TV looked appx 20 years old. Patio screens falling off. You must request a remote control. The room air conditioners worked fine. There's a general feeling of unsafeness due to the neighborhood. There's a McDonald's about 30 to 40 min (on foot) away, but there's no way anybody in their right mind would walk there. There are some good things. Staff was friendly. Spectacular view. Extremely quiet. This is a good place for a writer to go to collect his/her thoughts and not be bothered. Not a good place for a vacationing family or couple. Even though you have to call taxi's for everyting they do come fast. We met a great driver named Paul Roberts (-----------------------------------) we would recommend to anybody. Also try RumRunners restaurant you'll love it. Would not recommend this "hotel".

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, New York
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2004

We had a great time. We snorkeled at the beach and saw some fish even man-o-rays. Snorkeling and scuba is better up at Cane Bay. But the beach at Club St. Croix worksin a pinch. Our room was abundantly stocked with furniture and dishes, pots, pans and VCR w/several tapes, books to read, and a bose stereo. Everyone there commented on how nice their room was. The maid service was thorough and came when you left your room...always trying not to disturb you and offering assistance in any way possible.we stayed the first week of March 2004. Food is best at Rum Runners and Off the Wall

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2004

Just returned from a week at Club St. Croix (2/5-12). Was quit pleased with the resort and the island in general. This is a place where you can truly lay back and relax without the hassle and noise of other more tourist orinted islands.

The 2 story condo at the resort was very comfortable and spacious.
Although it could have been a bit cleaner we had no problem making ourselves at home.

The island itself is quite small and I would highly encourage all visitors to rent a car and get out and see some of the other parts of the island. In particular, the east end has beautiful beaches, the far west end is simply beautiful with the lush mountain terrain butting up to the beautiful beach areas.

There are 2 movie theaters in Frederikstead to hang out on those lazy weekend afternoons. The local people were very nice and we felt pretty safe (2 ladies) we were just sure to be home after dark.

Highly recommended resturants include Tutu Benni and Cheeseburger Paridise...... BEWARE do not eat the chinese food.....Looking forward to my next visit to St. Croix and taking a sea plane to the adjoing islands of St. Thomas and St. Johns.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort

Address: 3280 Estate Golden Rock | Rte 752, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club St. Croix Beach And Tennis Hotel Christiansted
Club St. Croix Beach And Tennis Resort Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.