We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't like it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3280 Estate Golden Rock | Rte 752, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call direct for best rate
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
St.Louis, MO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Didn't like it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2004

We stayed there 4/13/04. We checked out after 1 day because we couldn't take it anymore. The beach was rocky. There's no way anybody can go swimming on the beach. It's absolutely FULL of seaweed. There's seaweed all over the sandy part of the beach also. The pool area has spider webs on the tables and chairs. The "Pool" is very small. Someone should warn you this is not a conventional hotel. It's definitely not a resort, and there's no spa. The tennis courts look abandoned. The "front desk" is a table outside. Room cleaning is an extra charge. Clean towels cost $5 among other things. This is a residence. People live here and you're renting a room. Our bathtub needed to be cleaned or resurfaced. Rugs were dirty. Dishwasher old and rusty. Low water pressure in bathroom. The dirty old TV looked appx 20 years old. Patio screens falling off. You must request a remote control. The room air conditioners worked fine. There's a general feeling of unsafeness due to the neighborhood. There's a McDonald's about 30 to 40 min (on foot) away, but there's no way anybody in their right mind would walk there. There are some good things. Staff was friendly. Spectacular view. Extremely quiet. This is a good place for a writer to go to collect his/her thoughts and not be bothered. Not a good place for a vacationing family or couple. Even though you have to call taxi's for everyting they do come fast. We met a great driver named Paul Roberts (-----------------------------------) we would recommend to anybody. Also try RumRunners restaurant you'll love it. Would not recommend this "hotel".

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    7
    6
    13
See reviews for
5
21
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2004

We had a great time. We snorkeled at the beach and saw some fish even man-o-rays. Snorkeling and scuba is better up at Cane Bay. But the beach at Club St. Croix worksin a pinch. Our room was abundantly stocked with furniture and dishes, pots, pans and VCR w/several tapes, books to read, and a bose stereo. Everyone there commented on how nice their room was. The maid service was thorough and came when you left your room...always trying not to disturb you and offering assistance in any way possible.we stayed the first week of March 2004. Food is best at Rum Runners and Off the Wall

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2004

Just returned from a week at Club St. Croix (2/5-12). Was quit pleased with the resort and the island in general. This is a place where you can truly lay back and relax without the hassle and noise of other more tourist orinted islands.

The 2 story condo at the resort was very comfortable and spacious.
Although it could have been a bit cleaner we had no problem making ourselves at home.

The island itself is quite small and I would highly encourage all visitors to rent a car and get out and see some of the other parts of the island. In particular, the east end has beautiful beaches, the far west end is simply beautiful with the lush mountain terrain butting up to the beautiful beach areas.

There are 2 movie theaters in Frederikstead to hang out on those lazy weekend afternoons. The local people were very nice and we felt pretty safe (2 ladies) we were just sure to be home after dark.

Highly recommended resturants include Tutu Benni and Cheeseburger Paridise...... BEWARE do not eat the chinese food.....Looking forward to my next visit to St. Croix and taking a sea plane to the adjoing islands of St. Thomas and St. Johns.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2004

The resort was just ok...not worth the money spent. We had a room with a Murphy bed and rocl hard pillows, that made it impossible to have a good night sleep. Not only did we toss and turn all night, we woke up with sore neck and shoulders due to the crappy bed. There are 2 grocery stores to walk to, both equal in distance. We went to Foodtown and it is not the closest walk when loaded down with grocery bags. I didn't feel safe walking the streets around the resort, to get to the grocery store. The view was nice enough, the refinery mentioned in some other reviews was in view from the room, but not teribly noticeable, I didn't feel that it was a 'bad' view. The beach is small and we gotten eaten alive by bugs called 'no-seeums'. We had to cab everywhere we went and it was never the same price to the same destination. The staff was friendly enough. The restaurant Breezez was good food, note that during the week they are not open for breakfast. They are open for brunch on the weekends-and it was apparent the staff was not prepared for a brunch rush. I wouldn't recommed staying here ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2003

The Club St. Croix should be rated as a 1 star. Do not stay here no matter what your budget is. This hotel is next door to a housing project. The beach is dirty and not safe. The pool has a lot to be desired, it was so small. The rooms are not very clean, in fact there were blood stains on our sofa. The air conditioning unit is downstairs, you sleep upstairs with fans. We just did not feel safe and the dirtiness gave us the creeps. Spend the extra money and stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2003

The St. Croix Beach Club had clean, spacious apartments with a fantastic view of the ocean. Breezes restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. The beach was good for sunbathing but to rocky for a barefoot stroll or a nice swim.

Renting a car and driving on the left was the convenient way to get around the Island. Safety was obviously an issue because almost all windows and doors had security bars but we found the people to be very polite and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2003

My husband and I recently returned to St. Croix to celebrate our 10th anniversary and relive the wonderful time we had there when we were married. We used our RCI timeshare week and secured reservations at Club St. Croix in Christiansted. We were very disappointed to realize the decline of St. Croix in the past decade. Roads are worse, crime is much, much worse, once vital businesses are closing, and personal safety was a huge concern and issue for us as visitors.I witnessed a couple robbed mid-afternoon on our beach at Club St. Croix. We were only then warned not to even go to the beach alone or with any belongings, and told not to even go after dusk because of recent physical attacks and robberies to workers and visitors at that resort and adjoining resorts. We were also warned not to go near large bushes and shrubs due to persons hiding in wait to rob or assault unsuspecting tourists.Even though Club St. Croix had a guard after hours the property could not be totally secured due to access from the beach side and the beach was not patrolled on a continual basis. Tourists, such as the couple I witnessed being robbed had a false sense of security and should have been warned upon check in of the personal safety issues the resort was encountering. Including gunpoint robberies of recent security personnel.We believe this resort has a responsibility to us as new visitors to disclose this type of information and should at a minimum increase security on their property. As much as we love St. Croix, and will certainly return again one day, we will make sure we stay at a resort that will make sure their guests are safe and protected 24/7. We would not recommend Club St. Croix for tourists who are not familiar with the rougher social realities that are ruining this beautiful island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.1 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#2 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort

Address: 3280 Estate Golden Rock | Rte 752, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club St. Croix Beach And Tennis Hotel Christiansted
Club St. Croix Beach And Tennis Resort Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.