We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great affordable place to stay on St Croix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort

Save Saved
You added Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3280 Estate Golden Rock | Rte 752, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Ada, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great affordable place to stay on St Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Club St Croix has been our place to stay for the past two visits to the beautiful island of St Croix. The place is convenient to everything, clean and the view is the best on the island! Ours was a 2-bedroom/2 bath condo and we found it nice to have a full-kitchen and also a nice restaurant, Breezes, which is open for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Be prepared to take your grocery items with you or visit the nearest supermarket if you want to cook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    5
    6
    13
See reviews for
5
17
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilsall
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

As everyone says it is not a hotel. This aside it is a great place to stay we enjoyed coffee every morning on our private patio, the breeze and sounds were very relaxing. The kitchen helped us to save a ton of money and there are two grocery stores nearby. The beach was well taken care of and the water was nice and warm. Beach towels and snorkels are available from the office and we used them often. The Breezes restaurant was a great place to eat and Christiansted is a wonderful town with a great brewery and super friendly people. If you are looking for a place that is just minutes from the hustle of Christiansted this is the place. I hope to visit and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My wife worked a contract in St Croix for couple weeks, and being the dutiful husband, I came along as I can work remote. Yes, I give and give and give. As mentioned these are privately owned and rented by the management company, but I've seen several and all were what I expect. Lots of white cabinets and pastel art work. If you don't like that look and feel, then don't come to the carribbean.

The Good Things:
- The grounds : They keep he place very clean and updated. They are always working on something.
- The Beach is as close as you get to having your own. On the weekend I saw maybe 8 people on it. I've only ever shared it with 1 or 2 other people.
- The Pool : This is the best for me and my wife as Kidney shape pools are for kids and lounging next to. The pool here is Olympic length and Salt Water with space for two people to swim laps. Perfect! Its next to the Restaurant and has a Hot Tub section (no jets), which is good for a quick soak after a long swim.
- Breezes : The restaurant serves up good food at good prices. This is not the best in town, but when you work from the room and have only one car, which your wife takes, its great to have a solid place with good service and good drinks on the premesis.
- The Local Ex-Pats : The folks that live here half the year are great. Super nice, willing to help you plan your day and pass along contacts. First day we got a tour of one of the nicer places.
- The Location : I like that its just west of Christiansted, which has tons of great restaurants (The Courtyard, Savant, and the truly amazing lobster Wagu beef burger at 1844) and Cane Bay which has excellent snorkling and cool places to go to like Off the Wall, Above the Cliffs, Rowdys, etc. I've also found many local places nearby with cheap beer and large aluminum trays of platanos, ribs, jerk chicken, roast pork and misc veg that is great for Take Out.

The not so good:
- You need a car : You don't want to walk too far from Club St. Croix, unless your comfortable with the 'rougher' side of life in the islands. Pretty much all of St. Croix is a mix of Resorts, local businesses, housing projects, and places that were destroyed by a hurricane and never got repaired.
- If you leave something unattended like a phone or camera, it will be 'reallocated' to someone else. This is the same for anywhere on the island except the most expensive resort.
- To the east of the resort is a power plant of sorts which you can occationally hear. After 2 days I stopped noticing it.

We hope to come back to work on the island later in the year and will request Club St Croix.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views. Some of the lower rooms have only partial views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed at the Club St. Croix for a 5 day vacation. Like everyone else pointed out, this is a time share / condo location so that has pros and cons. The Cons is that you don't have the extras you get a t a hotel such as room service, but the pros are you get more room in your room for about the same price. It provides you the options of stocking up your fridge instead of being at the mercy of over prices food and drink options in hotels. Like a hotel, you room will be cleaned but not everyday. There is a market within walking distance.

My unit was a one bedroom with a balcony looking over the beach. You can check out snorkel gear for the beach as well as towels for the beach and pool. Like everyone else pointed out, this is not a tourist trap place. We felt like we had the beach and pool all to ourselves which was good and bad as I will point out later.

The restaurant was TOP NOTCH and the prices were more than reasonable. For example I had a 8 pound lobster and 18 oz Steak for $20! Everything on the menu was great. I would go back just to eat there. The only down side is you have to eat there instead of a room service option, but the Breezes restaurant is on the property. Being that almost every night my girl friend and I were the only ones there, we made friends with the bartender and she would make us samples of the local drinks. I would HIGHLY recommend a pain killer with their Cruzan Rum if you never had one.

Now the one negative. The condo is not in the best neighborhood in the world. They DO have security but the one guy I would always see at night was not around in the day time. Like I said, there is hardly any other guest there so one afternoon while we were swimming / snorkeling, in the ocean, stupid me left a bag with my digital camera in it. And of course when we came back to shore, it was gone. We filed the police report but I had to chalk it up to the game of letting my guard down. Was I upset? Yes I was.

If it wasn't for that incident, I would give the place a higher rating. I will go back to St. Croix, but I may stay someplace else and just take a trip over to eat at the restaurant,

Room Tip: It is hit or miss with the rooms BUT once you get there, if you don't like the unit you were giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed at Club St. Crox, january 2012. Staff was very friendly, checked in at 530 PM front desk was closed with a not to see Dotty. Was given room key and remote for the A/C. Club St. Croix isn't your usual hotel it is infact a collection of condeminiums and timeshares individually owned and rented by Antilles resorts. My "room" in realty a exquistely beautiful 1 bedroom condo, was fantastic. When i arrived the cleaning staff were still mopping my floor. The furnishings were very modern, and had an excellent view of the beach and pool. The only thing i could find with my room was the A/C in the bedroom would trip the breaker sometimes and had to be reset. I was in unit 207 very very excellent would recommend to anyone going to st. croix probably better for a couple than a family as only 1 bed and a couch.

Onsite is the breezes restuarant, ate their twice while i was a guest and would call the food good. They dont serve any sandwiches in the evening, but the wait staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Unit 207 was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pocono Mountains, Pa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I loved Club St. Croix. My family & I were there for my niece's wedding. We spent 12 glorious days there. We enjoyed the condo being just a few feet from the beach. We hardly saw anyone else on the beach or at the pool. We loved the 2 bedroom, 2 full bath condo so much we're thinking of going back next year. So what the condo decor was a little dated it was clean & fully stocked with EVERY appliance & cooking utensil 1 could want. I made smoothies with the local fruits every morning with the blender that cane with the place for my girls & even got the fixings for brownies. The housekeeping staff were GREAT. They kept our room fully stocked, even gave us extras for the days they were not going to be around. They let us take a peek at some of the other rooms they were cleaning & they too were nice. I picked their brains on the local festivities & they were very forth coming. The lizards were plentiful but they kept my daughter entertained. She even collected a few hermit crabs from around the property & kept them as pets for our whole 12 day trip.

Room Tip: A/C worked so good...I turned it off at night. We were there 12/27/2011- 1/8/12
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The problem is this is surrounded by low income housing. While on the beach, a local person was walking by and suddnely grabbed a bag on the lounge chair with the owner within 10 feet. The owner and I gave chase, but the guy jumped into the brush. Ok so it happened. Here is what bugged me. For the hour the ordeal when on, police reports, etc. not one person form the hotel or the restuarant even came out and asked about what happened. Based on what we were told, not the first time - seems to be a lot of crime at this location. No security, camera or a person to say sorry.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort

Address: 3280 Estate Golden Rock | Rte 752, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club St. Croix Beach And Tennis Hotel Christiansted
Club St. Croix Beach And Tennis Resort Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.