We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Comanche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Club Comanche to your Saves list
Club Comanche
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Strand St | Waterfront boardwalk, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a too-short week at Club Comanche on St. Croix, where we celebrated Inauguration Week. The newly renovated inn is absolutely lovely with beautifully laid out and charming rooms in the historic Main House and innovative redesign of the Bridgehouse. Room furnishings are handsome island-style and extremely comfortable, with no amenity forgotten. Our room was welcoming, spacious and airy with a wonderful view of the harbor. I also got a peek into other rooms and was extremely impressed by the use of intriguing spaces and the remodeled loft rooms. Additionally, the patio garden is a welcoming and relaxing retreat. Though all the finishing touches such as the restaurant and retail shops were not yet complete, the delightful Innkeeper and staff more than compensated with recommendations and attention to every inquiry and need. The new owners are doing a tremendous job in returning The Comanche to its former place as the landmark destination in Christiansted. As an added note, we also enjoyed snorkeling off of Buck Island with Big Beard's Tours and kayaking the Salt River with Caribbean Adventure Tours.

  • Liked — Redesign of historic structure
  • Disliked — Noise from neighboring properties before midnight
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jst01, Director of Sales at Club Comanche, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments.

The renovation has been completed and we would like to welcome again at the Club Comanche.

Sincerely

Jan Steinberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
9
29
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

The Club Comanche on St. Croix (USVI) is undergoing a total transformation under new ownership. It is being completely renovated, maintaining its historical elements while improving all aspects of its physical plant and adding the kinds of comforts modern travelers have come to expect.

I recently stayed at the Club Comanche when construction was underway, and I had a very positive experience. My room was comfortable, attractive, and functional, with a fabulous view of the harbor.

The innkeepers and staff were extremely friendly, responsive, and accommodating, and they seemed committed to making my stay a memorable one. I am sure that later in the year when the construction and decoration have been completed the Club Comanche will be as desirable a place to stay as it was 30 years ago, while being even more comfortable and better equipped. In the meantime, contact the innkeeper directly to see where things stand before making reservations through a third party.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jst01, Director of Sales at Club Comanche, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you for your comment.
All renovation works have been completed since December 2009.

Sincerely

Jan Steinberr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

I am writing this to forewarn Triathalon participants and anyone else that visits St. Croix to stay away from this hotel. It is NOT open to my knowledge and is under heavy construction. It doesn't seem possible that it would be ready for the event. There are NO facilities at this time although there are plenty of restaurants near by. The pool is empty and should be condemned.
When the hotel is up to par and I have inspected it, I will withdraw this warning.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeston, Marketing Manager at Club Comanche, responded to this review, March 31, 2008
I can certainly understand your concern about this property, a hotel complex that was neglected for quite some time. The good news is the Club Comanche, St. Croix's oldest hotel, has been purchased by new owners within the last six months and is indeed under complete renovation at this time. The goal is to return this historic site, in the heart of Christiansted, back into the glamourous, sophisticated, landmark hotel it was when it opened in 1948 and with the reputation it enjoyed for many decades.

One by one, the rooms in the Main House, built in the 1750s, and the Bridgehouse across the street are getting a welcome facelift with new paint, updated amenities, and furnishings in the West Indian style. The massive pool, which was the first one in the Virgin Islands, has been repaired and freshly painted. A new filtration system is converting it to fresh water. Upon completion of the renovation, the hotel will feature a 100-seat restaurant, three bars, a wine room and spa along with banquet rooms, a business center, a gallery of shops, and docking facilities.

The new owners are looking towards a 60th Anniversary Celebration in November, 2008, once more being able to offer a most memorable stay in a historic hotel center stage on the Christiansted boardwalk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

My husband and I booked this hotel for our honeymoon. When the taxi dropped us off, the driver asked us if we were sure we wanted to stay there... he offered to drive us to a nicer hotel in a "better area". we were walked to our room to see that the hotel is falling to pieces. There were literally boards falling off of the bridge walkway we took to get to our room. she then apologized that our honeymoon suite we paid for was unavailable, and that she would have to put us in a room that she didnt usually put guests in. ON MY HONEYMOON! the room had no blankets on the beds. the old sheets that were on the two twin beds (again... ON MY HONEYMOON!) had cigarette burns through them and blood stains. there was a family of mosquitos in the room. the tv didnt work. the cord on the telephone had been cut. the little fridge that was in there was broken and flooding the floor. the bathroom was disgusting and i would not walk anywhere without my flip flops. the music from the surrounding bars is SO LOUD. I witnessed someone being beat in the alleyway beside the hotel and was warned not to leave the room without my husband. we decided to stroll around the area shortly after we arrived. when we returned, we discovered that our room had been broken into through the AC unit in the wall. the burglar broke everything he could and robbed us of everything we had left in the room. Mary the owner would not allow us to use her phone to call the cops (ours was stolen and the one in the room didnt work). finally our neighbors let us use their cell, and it took the police 2.5 hours to get there! Mary refused even to speak with us, and her son finally moved us to another room for that night (why didnt they just put us in there in the first place?) and refunded my money only after i begged and pleaded with him for some time. at breakfast the next morning, the owner of a restaurant (Rum Runners) said that she hears stories all of the time of people getting robbed at that hotel and that it is her opinion that Mary is a crook. As we left for our next hotel, (Carambola Beach Resort... WAY BETTER and i paid just a fraction more), we talked with others who had stayed at the hotel that also relocated after just one night... fearing their safety at Club Comanche! Id post photos but my digital camera was stolen.

  • Liked — proximity to ocean, Rum Runners breakfast
  • Disliked — I FEARED FOR MY LIFE!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jst01, Director of Sales at Club Comanche, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments.

I am sorry for all the inconveniences you experienced at the hotel under the previous ownership and we can assure you that the hotel since its entire renovation and refurbishment
and with the new management is a totally different prodcut and experience as you can see at the various very positive comments in Tripadvisor.
We are trying to improve daily in order to improve the Club Comanche hotel continiously.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the new Club Comanche hotel.

Sincerely

Jan Steinberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Comanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Comanche

Address: 1 Strand St | Waterfront boardwalk, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Comanche 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Club Comanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Comanche Hotel Christiansted
Comanche Hotel Christiansted
Club Comanche St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Comanche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.