We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Comanche

Save Saved
You added Club Comanche to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Comanche
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Strand St | Waterfront boardwalk, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This property is difficult to locate and the staff was unable to provide directions from the airport. The rooms are beautifully restored. However, parking is non-existent and requires walking for several blocks on what seems to be less-than-safe dark streets. Additionally, when the office is closed, all easy to access doors are locked, you must navigate treacherous steps that again are not well-lit. No convenient restaurants after 7pm. Several glass window slats were missing from the windows which allowed street noise to overwhelm my room. Hot water was only warm and had low pressure. After the stay, it was practically impossible to get a copy of my receipt.

Room Tip: The best room for business travelers would be in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
6
26
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Republic, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The rooms were clean and charming. The hotel was sooo close to everything that it was a delite. We have stayed at various resorts over the years and we would never compare it to a resort. It is a historic building that is not perfect, but the charm and great staff make up for the lack of modern. It was great to see that they were redoing the pool. I highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: We stayed over Jump Up weekend and that was the only night we noticed the noice late into the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

When you first try to find your room in this rambling building it is quite confusing--our room #14 was up three unconnected flights of stairs (no working elevator), but when you find it, it feels quite homey. The old building has been nicely painted and updated. The bathroom was all new. The room was spartan, but lovely, with a massive wooden bed, phone, and TV--no refrigerator or anything else like that. The air conditioner was new and fully functional as well. The only problem with the hotel was the noise. There is a bar connected to the second floor, but we really didn't hear much in our room. The problem is all the partiers passing by, including at 6:30 in the morning when they chatted loudly outside our room.
I would recommend this pretty, reasonably priced hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st augustine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Staying in St Croix for business, so not looking for a "resort" to stay at. Its a small hotel with awesome staff. The bartenders and the front desk lady made the experience for me. They were so friendly and helpful and directed me to all the places I wanted to find. Its a very minimal hotel, no food, no pool (well they have one..its just not in any condition to swim in). It was everything I needed, quiet, laid back and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Comanche's main building where we stayed is one of the oldest wooden structures on the island, originally a doctor's home. As such, it's old, with wooden floors and thin walls. The rooms are updated with air-conditioning and plenty of outlets. WIFI is dependable but not fast like stateside.
The room we have is furnished with an antique King Mahogany 4-poster bed, antique mahogany wardrobe, desk and nightstands. It's beautiful, as if we were taken back to the late 18th century. There's a small coffee maker, alarm clock (never used) and an ironing board/Iron. We also requested and were furnished with a small fridge for our 3 week stay.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our room is serviced daily.

The Hotel bar is just across the small bridge over the street. There's live music on occasion there and you can hear the fun clearly from the room. It's inviting and lively. The boardwalk is right down the path. There you will find the windmill bar and many great places to eat and drink. The Hotel is a short walk from everywhere in Christiansted.

Synapses: If you're looking for a hotel with sterile plastic floors and sound proof walls then this is not the hotel for you. If you enjoy the party, love the Caribbean lifestyle, appreciate antiquity like I do then this is the #1 hotel on the Island!!!

I love this place!

Room Tip: I can only tell you about the Historic building BUT they do have a modern building closer to the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Quaint. Look, Christiansted is not the disney world caribbean mega fun plea happy land that you might see on other islands. St Croix in general is a little rougher around the edges, but to me, tho is the real caribbean. The hotel is old and charming. The weathered wooden floor, the turn of the century decorations, and the overall ambiance could fool you into thinking you a WWII era author, or maybe the protagonist in an old black and white film. The hotel is a bit noisy, a bit spooky, but hugely charming. Don't miss the bar!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

An in-town hotel, with custom love. Not a chain, but a boutique hotel. A huge upgrade from decades past. Pleasant surprise. STX is an amazing island with lots to do, for both the business traveler, the single crew looking for fun, and of course, families. lots of selection.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Comanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Comanche

Address: 1 Strand St | Waterfront boardwalk, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Comanche 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Club Comanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Comanche Hotel Christiansted
Comanche Hotel Christiansted
Club Comanche St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Comanche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.