We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Chenay Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Spring Hill, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Miserable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

First the bed was the absolutely worst bed I have ever, and I mean ever encountered in any of my travels.
The first night they had issues with the cisterns so we had no water for bathing,
Move the next day to another unit. Which was a good thing because overnight, the room was invaded by these little centipede looking critters.
Maid told me that they were only an issue in the "Uphill" rooms, and since we were moving, they should not be an issue. and they weren't, unless you were in one of the "uphill rooms" and the other rooms were full.
From the first day, internet was iffy at the first room, all they have is wireless, and some rooms have coverage and some do not.
On the 2nd day, lost all internet, this was a WORKING trip for me so not having internet, when it was part of the package I agreed to made my life much harder.
When talking to the desk, they said the only guy who could fix it was "Up North" ( The U.S.) and would not be back for another week... That's B.S.
Fix it!
Will not be staying here again, and would recommend that you not do so either.
I will say that the staff was very friendly, even if they could not fix any of the issues I had.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel, but if you must stay, one downhill, closer to the pool is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    115
    31
    36
    31
See reviews for
51
129
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed at the Chenay Bay beach resort for 6 days in May 2014. I had did my research an was hoping it wasnt as bad as described. I stayed in a bungalow number 9, it was mildly renovated but the king bed was horrible. We were basically sleeping on coils. the resort itself is pretty much dead which is why I stayed there needed some peace and quiet, so rent a car. The resort also has renters living there. As for the island itself there is not much to do but plenty of bars. Driving around was a little depressing and groceries were very expensive but alcohol and cigarettes are cheap.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Something has definitely changed here at this perfectly located resort and not for the better! Such high potential seems to be going down the tubes. The staff are friendly and helpful but advertised services are lacking. The pool was dirty everyday I was there, feral cats who are starving will pester you incessantly, beach was below average with the loungers filthy and broken, some cottages appear to be rented out to groups well over limit, questionable ladies walking around dressed inappropriately and even the time share owners I spoke with are very frustrated with the direction this place is headed. I remember nice family oriented gatherings on Friday / Saturday nights with live music and cordial atmosphere with high quality food- no more... This place appears to be abandoned and under disrepair. I was thinking about buying a week here before my trip but would not waste my money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here for a week with my friend May 3 thru May 10th. We had a great, newly done bungalow with a kitchen, iron board, etc. The room was very clean and had a queen and king bed, so with one bed, i can imagine it would appear to have more room. it was just what we were looking for. someplace quiet, peaceful, without the usual trappings of a large hotel, like expensive drinks, outrageous prices and crowded beaches. one day the manager brought us a fresh mango and few minutes later a worker brought us a freshly opened coconut. that would never happen at a big resort. we enjoyed sitting by the ocean, on one of the lounges provided. there was never more than 10 people sitting at the beach so it was quiet, and nice and great to read at. they also have a pool that had some leaves in it (so not a big deal people) but was a little too warm to be as refreshing as going in the ocean. but the surrounding area was clean and nice. please understand that the place is not fancy and it does show its wear and tear, but the manager is doing her best to maintain it. her employees have worked for her on an average of 10 years each and enjoy working there and is reflected in their attitude which is friendly and helpful and kind. the restaurant had some simple things, that were very good, and the beer and wine or whatever you wanted was ice cold. we enjoyed meeting a local electrician that answered all of our questions about the people and customs of st. croix, without hesitation. we also enjoyed swimming with three little local kids, and meeting their mother. they were polite and fun and truly enjoyed the sea. at 5:30 pm the turtles pop their heads up while feeding and i can imagine that with a free snorkel, which the hotel provides, you could see them easily, as they are only 15 feet off shore. their is a beach and a place to go for a walk on the beach, and both were clean. i found no problems with this place at all. not only did i not find any problems, but am most likely going to go back at another time with my husband. there are many things to do on the island, and we paddle boarded and took a snorkeling trip, all reasonably priced. we also rented a jeep and we would seriously, if you are the type of person that needs to be sure where they are driving (we were not, and enjoyed the adventure of trying to find places) to get either a GPS or a map that is NOT from the rental car agency and it is vague and small and half of the roads are not on it.
i highly recommend chenay bay and would return. its location is great, not too close to town, not too far, with dining choices abounding. i loved this place, and i have been to many beach resorts, but i enjoyed the individual attention, getting to know the locals, and the fun of setting off on an adventure without any idea where we would end up. also, the air conditioning in the rooms are fantastic, and cool off the room immediately.

Room Tip: there are some that have ocean views. our room was near the lobby so we were able to get a strong wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Though the cottages are small, they are very comfortable. It is so peaceful! Unfortunately when we were there the restaurant was closed, but we went in October when it was out of season. This was definitely the time to go, though, because it wasn't crowded. The pool was quite dirty with debris, but again, it wasn't in season and I actually preferred to go when others weren't vacationing. Our AC unit wasn't working when we arrived but someone came to fix it within 10 minutes. I would definitely stay at this resort again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Chenay Bay Beach Resort was a pleasure. The staff was very polite and helpful and coming from a big city My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed how relaxing and private the resort was. Some of the reviews on here are harsh, the grounds were cared for and as with most resorts on the water it was a bit weathered but it had a certain charm. The rooms were clean and comfortable and new towels were given each day. I would certainly suggest getting a car when visiting St.Croix there is so much to do on the island and not much is close to Chenay Bay Beach Resort. The beach was very calm and clean, There is sea grass and a bit of snorkeling. The bar was welcoming with very friendly bartenders ( Admira-- was very nice! and Allen another employee was very sweet and helpful). There is a very nice pool that is lit up at night and the water was just the perfect temperature. There is not much night life but as I said I was looking to relax so this did not bother me, the restaurant served bar food, though they are not open very late in the day so we ate in many different places around the island.

*** bring bug spray *** there are "no-see-ems" and they are itchy bites, we did not get any from our room we believe it was mostly at night and on the beach during sunset! worse than mosquito bites and this is around the island not just Chenay Bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my daughter for 4 nights during the month of Feb 2014. The location is in a beautiful site, right by the beach. Front desk service was very helpful. 2 things though: 1- the restaurant was not offering full service. Employee told me that a new owner acquired it just recently and was still work in process. 2-The rooms need a little of upgrading. But they are clean and comfortable. Not a 5 star place, but definitely a great place to stay. We will be going back in July/Aug and most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chenay Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.