We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chenay Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice, Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Though the cottages are small, they are very comfortable. It is so peaceful! Unfortunately when we were there the restaurant was closed, but we went in October when it was out of season. This was definitely the time to go, though, because it wasn't crowded. The pool was quite dirty with debris, but again, it wasn't in season and I actually preferred to go when others weren't vacationing. Our AC unit wasn't working when we arrived but someone came to fix it within 10 minutes. I would definitely stay at this resort again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    129
    38
    42
    33
See reviews for
65
156
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Chenay Bay Beach Resort was a pleasure. The staff was very polite and helpful and coming from a big city My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed how relaxing and private the resort was. Some of the reviews on here are harsh, the grounds were cared for and as with most resorts on the water it was a bit weathered but it had a certain charm. The rooms were clean and comfortable and new towels were given each day. I would certainly suggest getting a car when visiting St.Croix there is so much to do on the island and not much is close to Chenay Bay Beach Resort. The beach was very calm and clean, There is sea grass and a bit of snorkeling. The bar was welcoming with very friendly bartenders ( Admira-- was very nice! and Allen another employee was very sweet and helpful). There is a very nice pool that is lit up at night and the water was just the perfect temperature. There is not much night life but as I said I was looking to relax so this did not bother me, the restaurant served bar food, though they are not open very late in the day so we ate in many different places around the island.

*** bring bug spray *** there are "no-see-ems" and they are itchy bites, we did not get any from our room we believe it was mostly at night and on the beach during sunset! worse than mosquito bites and this is around the island not just Chenay Bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my daughter for 4 nights during the month of Feb 2014. The location is in a beautiful site, right by the beach. Front desk service was very helpful. 2 things though: 1- the restaurant was not offering full service. Employee told me that a new owner acquired it just recently and was still work in process. 2-The rooms need a little of upgrading. But they are clean and comfortable. Not a 5 star place, but definitely a great place to stay. We will be going back in July/Aug and most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We didn't stay at this resort but stopped by to see the property that my brother-in-law and his family frequented. We loved the feel of the resort as soon as we arrived. The villas are well placed, the beach beautiful, and the pool clean and inviting. From first glance we would definitely stay here during our next trip.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I already posted, but mistakenly I posted under Chenay Beach, not the resort. We are currently staying at Chenay Bay. If you are looking for a clean, quiet, no frills.place to stay while you are in St Croix, this is the place for you. If you are looking for 5 star, this is not the place for you. CHENAY BAY RESORT is a good value for what you are paying and for my money, it is a great value!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were there for 6 days 5 nights- great deal from Groupon, it is comfortable.JetBlue & Seaborne Airlines nice and friendly - so was Cape Air upon our return home. Taxi for 2 $28 from airport about 35min or so. Keep on mind not full service resort at all. Front desk hours 8am -8 pm. Sometimes phone will ring awhile if no one is at desk. Had a cottage unit with a furnished kitchenette comes in handy seriously. No hard line phone in cottage, WFI handy works best by front desk area and Mahis Seafood. Flat screen tv with cable. My cell phone service T-Mobile didn't work well on island so depended on WIFI. The pool wasnt cleaned daily which needed to be from leaves and stuff do didnt get in at all, the grounds were so so looks like some remodeling, lots of small lizards moving around -make sure to get bugs spray. Mahis Seafood is depending on day/time if lucky will have a cook, no veggie burgers at all my whole stay that sucked but Nina the bartender makes "EXCELLENT" Cruzan Confussions. Loved the 1 mile ocean front take that walk worth it with the tent campsites.Snorkeling was fine, Water felt good hang out by beach.
Food options- no fast good deliveries places, best to rent car - if able to stay on left side of road- but if needed take taxi to local restaurants. Duggans Reef, Cheeseburger Paradise (which is great ) you can also walk to we did less than 15 mins, Cantinas. Best to go to market and buy your own food. Seen a few people bring in own mini grills as well. There is a laundry room $2 to wash & $2 to dry. 1 dryer 1 washer bring own laundry supplies, the front has stuff for a fee. Christenstad was ok but not much opened shops/restaurants closed early as well, use caution late night, not much of nightlife happening. Take Captian Morgan and Cruzan Rum tours. We also feed the pigs O'Douls in rainforest. We went to Udull Point and Isaacs Bay that was great prepare for short hike though worth it. If you get a chance take a drive of island beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I was meeting another family member on the island of St. Croix. I flew in 7 hours past their arrival. Once I arrived at Chenay, I was shocked at what I saw. It was poorly lit in the dark. It was unkempt, the grounds were littered with dead foliage and debris. The cottage was not what we had reserved. We reserved one with 2 beds. Not 1 bed and a pull out couch. After calling 3 separate times and verifying that we would get the cottage we were paying for in the reservation, and arriving to find this was not so. The overwhelming smell of cleaning chemicals just about knocked me over after opening the door. We immediately turned around and drove up the street to the Buccaneer! We had to "eat" the cost of the cottage at Chenay Bay, however.....it was worth it to experience what we did at the Buccaneer Resort. If you don't mind ghetto like conditions, and being surrounded by seedy looking characters, maybe you will find this to be the place for you. It just was not for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
4.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
3.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
3.7 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chenay Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.