We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for value-seeking travellers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Chenay Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for value-seeking travellers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This was exactly what my friends and I were looking for: A cheap, clean place to stay close to Christiansted with a beach and pool. I don't know what all the other people expected from the reviews on here for the price. If available, I suggest getting the groupon! I paid $85 for four people! Now I'm going to get into the good and bad about the resort.

The great stuff?
The front desk worker couldn't be nicer and the landscape was beautiful. Our bungalow had a kitchenette, king bed, full bed, and a beautiful view of the pool and beach. I looked at places double the price of Chenay Bay and they didn't even have a kitchenette! The beds were very comfy and it was definitely enough space for four if us.

The bad?
Parts of everything seems run down. Let me give you an example. They pool is beautiful from afar. Up close, some of the beautiful lights had no bulbs and it looked like it had waterfalls at some point that were no longer there. There was a beautiful stone platform with pedestals that looked like it may have been a shower at some point for people at the beach, but now it had no showers. Only the platform and blank pedistals remained. The bar and restaurant looked promising, but neither seemed open. As my group was leaving, we saw a few people sitting around the picturesque bar, so it must have limited hours. Our bungalow had random bits and pieces broken, but nothing easily overlooked. Looking around the resort, I could see into a couple other bungalows and some seem to have huge livingrooms as well, which looked newly renovated.

All in all, it seems like the resort was pristine in the past, fell into disrepair over the last five years, and is now on the upswing. If you stay here for the nightlife, you'll be sorely disappointed. If you go here looking for a spacious, beautiful, clean, cost effective place to stay when exploring Christiansted and the rest of St Croix, you'll be pleasantly happy!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    116
    31
    39
    32
See reviews for
51
131
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Croix
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a wonderful location but has now been owned by the bank for several years. Everything needs to be renovated. The restaurant is open only on a limited basis (closed at 7p.m.) and the menu is extremely limited. Hopefully it will be sold some day and be brought back to life.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Good place to stay if you just want a place to crash after exploring the island. Has the potential to be awsome. hopefully the new owners will wake it up and give it a facelift. Excellent location, nice beach, very quiet.

Room Tip: the rooms closer to the pool seem to be more updated, mots have water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Averill Park, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

In our early 50's we were the youngest couple there during our stay.
Resort is good if you are looking for a quiet place to stay. the beach is nice. The staff were excellent. Overall all the resort is corporately owned and for sale. It appears no maintenance money has been put into the place in a very long time. The restaurant is just a bar. There were no resort activities. We spent most of our time off property visiting local beaches and area attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We visited here for a couple of days and were suprised that a property in such a great location could be so utterly boring. If you want to relax or read a book and nap, then go here. The bungalow we stayed in was nice, but there were parts of it that were seriously run down and broken (the bathroom tile, bath handles and shower spout were all in poor condition). The kitchen was usable, but poorly appointed and super small. Luckily we had a nice view from out bungalow, but many of the bungalows do not have a view.

This place is relaxing, just don't expect a whole lot in regards to activities, bar, or restaraunt. Decent enough price and the grounds were well kept...

Room Tip: Unless you plan on reading and napping, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at Chenay Bay for two nights and loved it! We stayed in cottage #9, which seemed to be larger than the rest of the cottages; it had one bedroom, a living room and kitchenette. We brought our own bacon, because we read a review on here that said the restaurant isn't open for breakfast...best idea ever lol. The bathroom was clean and the pool and beach were steps away. The view of the bay from the porch was a plus, too. It's sort of secluded, which was perfect for us, because we were there to relax and weren't really too concerned with partying or shopping. We would definitely stay here again. Oh, and don't forget the bug spray. Seriously.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakota, Illinois, Usa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Chenay Bay Beach Resort is a very relaxing and very friendly beach resort on the lovely north- eastern side of the island of St. Croix. We stayed for six nights in one of the spacious cabins, replete with a fully stocked kitchenette. The swimming pool is clear and large, with only a few guests each morning or afternoon enjoying the sun, and one afternoon I had the pool to myself. The beach with clean soft sand is only a few feet away, and it never seemed to have more than a dozen or so people itself. There is a nice beach bar that serves a tasty luncheon menu, and you can get dinner there if you choose. There are snorkels and fins for guests to use, but the resort did not have kayaks or sailboats. The resort was quick to fix any complaints we had with kitchen equipment, and were very generous with beach towels and other amenities.
There is a snack breakfast with juice and coffee available, but Chenay is not a breakfast restaurant. The beach is so picturesque and enjoyable that most days there are even a few people from nearby homes who come to the beach to swim and snorkel, or enjoy lunch and drinks at the beach front bar. All the beaches in St. Croix are open to the public, and it is a compliment to have a few visitors, since the choices are so many.
The complimentary Wi-Fi service in our room worked very well, as did the television, which has a full range of stateside channels. We had a private veranda that overlooked the pool and the bay, and the whole effect of the resort was charming. We had a rental car, which was necessary to get to nearby food stores or to visit some of the islands' many tourist destinations. The resort is just east of "Cheeseburgers in Paradise" which is a fun place to eat. All in all we spent a delightful six days at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, and I would recommend it highly to people who want a secluded and relaxing place to stay on St. Croix.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are able to see the bay but the higher numbers have a little better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chenay Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;