We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chenay Bay - St Croix” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chenay Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Chenay Bay - St Croix”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely small - low key resort. Units are supplied with kitchenette which makes it very convenient. I suggest a rent car so you can grocery shop, explore the island. Dated bedding and furnishings. A/C worked and no complaints on being too hot. Restaurant does not open for breakfast which was a disappointment...only lunch and dinner. Pool is okay with great view of the bay. Lot's of NO NO NO signs for the beach...they do not let you take your own coolers, food, drinks to the beach of your own, however - less than a 1/8 mile away is a road to take you to the same beach that is a bit better and you can take what ever you wish. Restaurant quality was just okay...they should advertise it differently to get more of a crowd. Towels and linens need to be updated - very thin and non-absorbent and very small to our standards in the US. If you want a good quality place to stay - I would suggest the Chenay Bay, we enjoyed it very much. If you are looking for a more 4+ resort full service resort - look at the Renaissance Cambolia. Explore the island - it was a blast! Staff was great at Chenay - everyone friendly and happy all the time.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the pool view rooms or rooms on the front row. You can not park your car by your uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    116
    32
    39
    32
See reviews for
51
131
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just stayed at Chenay Bay and could not have had a better time!! We had expected to stay in a garden view villa but to our surprise we got an ocean front view which was so beautiful and relaxing. Just seconds away from the beach and bar made this place even better! The beach is very nice and kept very clean, the bar/restaurant staff were all very polite and helpful when suggesting places to explore. (Disregard people's complaints about the locals - everyone we met was super friendly and gave great insight into the island). Highly suggest staying here - you will not be disappointed at all!! (Great restaurant to eat/drink within walking distance also - Cheeseburger in Paradise)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sinai, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed three nights at Chenay Bay Resort before moving on to The Buccaneer. Our cottage, #6, was situated perfectly in front of the pool and we had lovely sunset views. It was clean and cozy, although the pillows were uncomfortable. The pool, although not in the greatest of shape, was fine for our ten year old. Snorkeling off the beach was enjoyable, especially since there was no current to worry about.
We avoided eating at the restaurant. There were always crumbs on the tables and it looked deserted. The one time my husband tried to order drinks at the bar, a man with two dobermans was there and they did not look friendly. Fortunately, there are very good restaurants on the East End.
The sport shack was closed the entire time we were there, so we did not get to kayak until we got to the Buccaneer. Not sure if that is because we visited during the off-season or because the place is still in receivership.
I would have been extremely unhappy if we spent our entire vacation here, but it was ok for three nights. I'm curious to see what improvements will be made when the property is finally purchased.

Room Tip: Cottage #6 has wonderful sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband, 5 yr old daughter and I loved our stay at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. We moved there after 3 nights at another St Croix hotel and are so happy we did. It completely changed our minds about the island and the locals. The staff of Chenay Bay went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and happy. Our cottage was beautiful and furnished with very nice and comfortable furniture. The beach was beautiful and many times we felt like we had our own private resort. We were there in July which is off season so the restaurant had limited hours. Everything we had from the menu was delicious and one night when they were closing early, the chef made our family a special dinner and even offered to bring it to our cottage. A beautiful and charming little resort. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The timeshare cottages are new gorgeous! The cottage around the pool have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The property is very nice with a great view. The problem is with the people who work there and the locals that go to the bar and pool.
The problems (or should I say attitude) started at check in. The young lady at the desk seemed to be inconvenienced by our arrival and her “I really don’t want to do this attitude” was very apparent. We had reservations and arrived about an hour early for check in, we spent the hour walking the beach and looking around, THREE hours later we were given the key to our room. The room was fine and well cleaned.
Later that night at the bar some locals where having some drinks (Not a problem), but the language coming out of them was! I am a retired Sailor so language is not usually an issue with me, but when literally every 2nd or 3rd word is F%#K. Well I did ask the individual making most of the comments to please watch his language, let’s just say it got to the point that my wife and myself decided it was better to leave the bar than chance an altercation. This actually happened on two separate occasions, we finally stopped going.
The Pool, yes it is hot in St Croix, and yes kids love pools, but if locals are going to bring their children to the pool at least stop them from splashing and annoying the guests. (Why did I spend the money to go to a resort ??)
We actually left this place (eating the cost) and moved to a different hotel.
Overall, the stay in St. Croix was great as long as we left the resort, I will never stay at this place again. If you are planning on a trip to St. Croix try Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: DON'T even bother to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

very relaxing. restaurant only serving lunch and dinner as off season little disappointing to find out upon arrival. but quick trip to store and was ok. beach is nice some good snorkeling. turtle come in late in the afternoon. overall good value for the money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Chenay is perfect if you want to chill and relax. The bartender is also the server and she is very pleasant and friendly! The cottages are charming and private and the fridge/freezer and kitchenette are a nice money-sawr :). A great place for peace and quiet!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Christiansted
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chenay Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.