We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming beach front resort...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chenay Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming beach front resort...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband, 5 yr old daughter and I loved our stay at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. We moved there after 3 nights at another St Croix hotel and are so happy we did. It completely changed our minds about the island and the locals. The staff of Chenay Bay went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and happy. Our cottage was beautiful and furnished with very nice and comfortable furniture. The beach was beautiful and many times we felt like we had our own private resort. We were there in July which is off season so the restaurant had limited hours. Everything we had from the menu was delicious and one night when they were closing early, the chef made our family a special dinner and even offered to bring it to our cottage. A beautiful and charming little resort. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The timeshare cottages are new gorgeous! The cottage around the pool have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    119
    34
    39
    32
See reviews for
52
135
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The property is very nice with a great view. The problem is with the people who work there and the locals that go to the bar and pool.
The problems (or should I say attitude) started at check in. The young lady at the desk seemed to be inconvenienced by our arrival and her “I really don’t want to do this attitude” was very apparent. We had reservations and arrived about an hour early for check in, we spent the hour walking the beach and looking around, THREE hours later we were given the key to our room. The room was fine and well cleaned.
Later that night at the bar some locals where having some drinks (Not a problem), but the language coming out of them was! I am a retired Sailor so language is not usually an issue with me, but when literally every 2nd or 3rd word is F%#K. Well I did ask the individual making most of the comments to please watch his language, let’s just say it got to the point that my wife and myself decided it was better to leave the bar than chance an altercation. This actually happened on two separate occasions, we finally stopped going.
The Pool, yes it is hot in St Croix, and yes kids love pools, but if locals are going to bring their children to the pool at least stop them from splashing and annoying the guests. (Why did I spend the money to go to a resort ??)
We actually left this place (eating the cost) and moved to a different hotel.
Overall, the stay in St. Croix was great as long as we left the resort, I will never stay at this place again. If you are planning on a trip to St. Croix try Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: DON'T even bother to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

very relaxing. restaurant only serving lunch and dinner as off season little disappointing to find out upon arrival. but quick trip to store and was ok. beach is nice some good snorkeling. turtle come in late in the afternoon. overall good value for the money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Chenay is perfect if you want to chill and relax. The bartender is also the server and she is very pleasant and friendly! The cottages are charming and private and the fridge/freezer and kitchenette are a nice money-sawr :). A great place for peace and quiet!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at Chenay Bay the last week of June with my family. Everything about Chenay was perfect to us. We loved the rolling paved walkways that were throughout the resort. All the plants, trees, beachfront and terrain are picture perfect on the resorts rolling acres. St Croix and Chenay Bay is so beautiful, you never want your vacation to end. We were perfectly happy hanging around the resort all day swimming in the ocean off the restaurant/ bar and swimming pool. There is a beautiful reef 20 feet out with colorful fish and coral. As well, as a sea turtle among many other exotic forms of sea life and a view that is breath taking. The staff and service at Chenay Bay are so helpful and kind. If you have a question about anything from what to do or see while staying on St. Croix they are very knowledgeable and helpful. The bartender, Alden was very friendly and was so great to my family as with all the guests we noticed. He has an outgoing personality that made our stay extra great considering he helped us throughout our stay with everything from places to visit to just great service! The rooms are very nice and the kitchenettes were so great to have. We were able to save alot of money by buying groceries. It is also very safe. There are a few areas on the island that are not the safest but at Chenay Bay we never had to worry. If you have a family and children I highly recommend staying at Chenay Bay and visiting the surreal island of St. Croix!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a cottage close to front desk. It was very nice and clean. Cottage #28
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice, laid back setup. Friendly staff. Quiet location on the beach. The restaurant is good and the bar can be busy ! Although any place on the islands can be unsafe, Chenay does a good job of keeping an eye on cabins, vehicles, and guests. Additional quality restaurants are nearby. Rates are within seasonal swings. Plenty of parking at the property entrance. Large onsite laundry room. I am renting 3 cottages now and am very pleased, as is my crew.

Room Tip: Most cottages are located with a great view and easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I spent a week in July with my two grand daughters (3 and 7) at Chenay Bay and had a great time. The individual cabins are great for children- there is a working kitchen and refrigerator. The property is set right on the beach which has calm water for little swimmers. It was the off season, so the restaurant wasn't extremely busy, but we were able to get what we needed. The pool is on a hill overlooking the bay and is very well kept up. The employees were very helpful and gracious. Thanks for spoiling my girls, Angelique! The reviews I read before going shared concerns about a few things- the towels are not the newest and the beds are a bit hard, but these things were not a problem for us at all, because of all the positive aspects. The rooms and bathrooms are a bit small, but we spent very little time there, so that wasn't a problem either. It is about 3 miles outside of town, so a rental car is necessary to get around the island. The only annoyance was that the tv got only one channel. i asked them to fix that, they said they did, but it never changed. We spent our time exploring, instead of tv watching, which is just fine with me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chenay Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.