We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chenay Bay Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chenay Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
md
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chenay Bay Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I knew from other reviews that this isn't a 4 star resort but I'd be hard pressed to give it 1. And that would only be for the lovely beach where it's located. The hotel is in bankruptcy/receivership. Our room was dirty, (hairs on the phone there when we arrived and stayed through departure), towels were almost see-through, shower very difficult to use-plate holding the faucet was totally detached from the wall-, mold in the shower. I think the staff did the best they could under the circumstances and were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley E, Public Relations Manager at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We apologize that your experience at Chenay Bay was not ideal. Our team does try very hard to make sure everyone has an enjoyable vacation. We hope that given the issues you still enjoyed St. Croix and return to the island. Thank you so much for your feedback as we do read and keep all of it to share with staff to continue to improve Chenay Bay Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    119
    34
    39
    32
See reviews for
52
134
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chenay Bay is currently for sale due to bankruptcy, so while they are trying to do their best, it left a lot to be desired. The resort is situated on a hill, with no car access to the cabins. So if you have difficulty walking for any reason, it is not "less-abled" friendly. The room I was in had 2 round rust spots for a hot plate, and the hot pad of the coffee pot was also just rust. It worked, tho! Most days, the staff left coffee for me. The bathroom had no place to put anything, and while the shower wasn't as mildew-free as I would have liked, it wasn't terribly bad. There were no bugs in the room (or lizards), which is a big plus in my book. I hope whoever buys it has the capital to fix it up. It's right on the beach, and only about 10 minutes from Christiansted. I would call this a 2-star resort, at best.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that's been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley E, Public Relations Manager at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay at Chenay Bay! We are sorry that you encountered some issues while staying with us.

While we do not regularly allow vehicles back through the resort if someone has their luggage or groceries we are happy to allow them to drive back as to not inconvenience anyone. We are sorry you were not informed of this option.

Our team does our best to help guests have the most enjoyable experience possible, so thank you very much for your feedback so we can share it and continue to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlehem. PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

this resort is oceanfront, and on the quiet (and safe) east end of st croix.
i chose ths resort becase of its cottage style set up. i personally don't like crowded high rise resorts. the units (if you get a timeshare unit) are more than adequate: tastefully decorated, clean, mini kitchen (so you don't have to take time away from the pool or beach for breakfast or lunch), and a porch that generally faces the ocean. nightly sunset view from your porch but use the bug spray at that hour
the units are functional, but not luxurious. those seeking luxury should stay at the buccaneer or rent a condo on vrbo. i generally spend the day at the pool, the beach, or exploring. so luxury isnt as important as location and value.
granted, this resort need some repair and updating. but a new owner has purchased the property. i am sure the upgrades will address most, if not all, of the legitimate complants mentioned in other reviews.
the staff and management at the resort are pleasant, helpful, and kind. housekeeping in the timeshare units cleans the unit once during a week. their service was excellent
while staying at chenay bay, you absolutely need a car. we rented a convertible jeep wrangler, which significantly added to the pleasure of traveling throughout the island. the resort is accessible to the quiet beauty of the east end: point udall, isaac bay (a 20 minute hike that is really worth the effort), and many other spots..we took a snorkeling trip with Llewellyn, on his trimaran sailboat to buck island. this excursion was limted to six passengers. he sails from the st croix yacht club. this is not to be missed.

Room Tip: i don't think you are likely to get one of the upgraded rooms through cheap caribbean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley E, Public Relations Manager at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and tips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We travelled to St. Croix and Chenay Bay for our fifth visit in as many years and the novelty has not worn off. Meeting Charmaine each time, it's like we haven't left. We always stop for groceries on the way from the airport, unload and unpack and by 8:00 pm on Saturday, we've got cocktails on the deck with Segovia playing softly in the background. We absolutely love the cabin versus hotel fomat: no neighbors above, below or on either side. We have stayed in unit 18 a couple of times because we like being removed from the more heavily travelled pathways. I have seen people complain about this and that and I will state that it is not a Bucaneer style resort, but we don't like Bucaneer-style resorts. It's quite laid back, as are the fellow guests. There are some folks we've seen several times and it lends to a more comfortable experience. I strongly suggest people research before they go. Your stay at Cheam is going to be very unstructured, quiet in the evenings and it seldom seems crowded. I can honestly say that I have not had any of the troubles others write about. I have arrived late on a Saturday, but I've called ahead and there haven't been any issues that others have described. I already have my airline tickets for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley E, Public Relations Manager at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We love having you and look forward to your return visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our 2nd stay here. First stay in 3- 2011 and second stay in 2-2013. We knew would come back. Not only did we fall in love with the St. Croix we also found a great place to stay. The first time we were here we stayed in a 2 bed cottage, 2nd visit a 1 bed cottage. Both were very comfortable. We like having the kitchenette so we can have coffee/breakfast and snacks available. Great if you don't want to eat every meal out. One of the first things we do is to go to the grocery store when we arrive. We found the staff to be personable. The housekeeping staff even washed our (few) dishes if we had left any in the sink and the room was always cleaned well. The beach area is nice as well with umbrellas and chairs available. Great area to meet other guests. The pool area is nice as well although we prefer to be on the beach. Yes there are some bugs no see ums but they are easily detered with bug spray or sesame oil. We got a couple bites but nothing compared to the deer flies, horse flies and mosquitos we have in Minnesota! It was not that big a deal. Our only wish would be that the resturant had more selections. It is so convinent to have them right there but just not enough selection. Another reason grateful for the kitchenette.
We are already looking forward to our return to Chenay. I will say we are not fancy people. We don't require WI-Fi or lots of television. We come to enjoy the island and relax!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley E, Public Relations Manager at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort! We are pleased to hear you enjoy the island as much a we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrilton, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The title pretty much says it all...we arrived late on a Sat nt., exhausted from traveling all day, the night security guard was left an envelope w/keys in it for us. It was someone else's, & he had no record of us or our reservation. He was very apologetic but bewildered &he said that was the 2nd time that had happened that day. Finally after numerous calls to the manager & receiving NO answer, he put us in the room that had someone else's name on it. I contacted the agency that I booked through & they in turn contacted CBBR, & even though we were made to pack up again & move to another room, they agreed to give us an "upgrade ". It was 1/2 the size, no water pressure & a full size bed (I pd for a King), that killed our backs. We checked out the Buckaneer while we were there & that's definitely where we'll be staying next time.
During all of this hassle, we still never spoke or saw the "manager" & the desk associates were vague & borderline rude.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley E, Public Relations Manager at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We apologize for the disappointment you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately, we did not have the check-in date for your stay beginning until the next day so we were not prepared with a key and the proper room. We believe the error came from an error between the online travel agent used at booking and our system. We have worked diligently with the system administrators to make sure this does not happen again.

The upgrade was to an oceanfront timeshare unit - which many people favor, as they are closer to the ocean and our timeshare units have been remodeled more recently. We truly felt you would be happier with the upgrade and would have been more than happy to try to improve your stay if we had known while you were at the property that the accommodations were not satisfactory. Again, we hope you enjoyed the island and would be more than happy to give you a discount on a future stay if you would ever be returning to Chenay Bay and the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The property is very nice and consists of individual units with modestly equipped kitchenettes that can accommodate 2 or more people comfortably. I loved the location of our unit which had a great front porch overlooking the bay. Needless to say, I spent quite a bit of time there, reading and relaxing. The pool area is very nice as well (if you are not inclined to head down to the beach, which is just a short walk) with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas and a great way to meet other guests. The staff were all very friendly and hospitable, which I found to be typical of just about everyone that I met that lives on the island. It must be all that sunshine and fresh air! My biggest disappointment was the restaurant, which does not have much to offer in the way of dining choices. The property and resort experience would be much improved if they would offer a better menu selection which includes some fresh local seafood. They could have some live music as well. This would keep guests on the property instead of needing to go into town for a decent meal. Until then, be sure and rent a car if you go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley E, Public Relations Manager at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We are constantly wanting to improve and suggestions such as your about the music, restaurant etc. are much appreciated and will be shared with everyone! Thank you again! We hope to have you back at Chenay Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chenay Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.