We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like a laid back vacation, you'll love the company you'll keep...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chenay Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“If you like a laid back vacation, you'll love the company you'll keep...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We travelled to St. Croix and Chenay Bay for our fifth visit in as many years and the novelty has not worn off. Meeting Charmaine each time, it's like we haven't left. We always stop for groceries on the way from the airport, unload and unpack and by 8:00 pm on Saturday, we've got cocktails on the deck with Segovia playing softly in the background. We absolutely love the cabin versus hotel fomat: no neighbors above, below or on either side. We have stayed in unit 18 a couple of times because we like being removed from the more heavily travelled pathways. I have seen people complain about this and that and I will state that it is not a Bucaneer style resort, but we don't like Bucaneer-style resorts. It's quite laid back, as are the fellow guests. There are some folks we've seen several times and it lends to a more comfortable experience. I strongly suggest people research before they go. Your stay at Cheam is going to be very unstructured, quiet in the evenings and it seldom seems crowded. I can honestly say that I have not had any of the troubles others write about. I have arrived late on a Saturday, but I've called ahead and there haven't been any issues that others have described. I already have my airline tickets for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley E, Public Relations Manager at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We love having you and look forward to your return visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    119
    34
    39
    32
See reviews for
52
135
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shoreview, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our 2nd stay here. First stay in 3- 2011 and second stay in 2-2013. We knew would come back. Not only did we fall in love with the St. Croix we also found a great place to stay. The first time we were here we stayed in a 2 bed cottage, 2nd visit a 1 bed cottage. Both were very comfortable. We like having the kitchenette so we can have coffee/breakfast and snacks available. Great if you don't want to eat every meal out. One of the first things we do is to go to the grocery store when we arrive. We found the staff to be personable. The housekeeping staff even washed our (few) dishes if we had left any in the sink and the room was always cleaned well. The beach area is nice as well with umbrellas and chairs available. Great area to meet other guests. The pool area is nice as well although we prefer to be on the beach. Yes there are some bugs no see ums but they are easily detered with bug spray or sesame oil. We got a couple bites but nothing compared to the deer flies, horse flies and mosquitos we have in Minnesota! It was not that big a deal. Our only wish would be that the resturant had more selections. It is so convinent to have them right there but just not enough selection. Another reason grateful for the kitchenette.
We are already looking forward to our return to Chenay. I will say we are not fancy people. We don't require WI-Fi or lots of television. We come to enjoy the island and relax!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley E, Public Relations Manager at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort! We are pleased to hear you enjoy the island as much a we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrilton, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The title pretty much says it all...we arrived late on a Sat nt., exhausted from traveling all day, the night security guard was left an envelope w/keys in it for us. It was someone else's, & he had no record of us or our reservation. He was very apologetic but bewildered &he said that was the 2nd time that had happened that day. Finally after numerous calls to the manager & receiving NO answer, he put us in the room that had someone else's name on it. I contacted the agency that I booked through & they in turn contacted CBBR, & even though we were made to pack up again & move to another room, they agreed to give us an "upgrade ". It was 1/2 the size, no water pressure & a full size bed (I pd for a King), that killed our backs. We checked out the Buckaneer while we were there & that's definitely where we'll be staying next time.
During all of this hassle, we still never spoke or saw the "manager" & the desk associates were vague & borderline rude.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley E, Public Relations Manager at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We apologize for the disappointment you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately, we did not have the check-in date for your stay beginning until the next day so we were not prepared with a key and the proper room. We believe the error came from an error between the online travel agent used at booking and our system. We have worked diligently with the system administrators to make sure this does not happen again.

The upgrade was to an oceanfront timeshare unit - which many people favor, as they are closer to the ocean and our timeshare units have been remodeled more recently. We truly felt you would be happier with the upgrade and would have been more than happy to try to improve your stay if we had known while you were at the property that the accommodations were not satisfactory. Again, we hope you enjoyed the island and would be more than happy to give you a discount on a future stay if you would ever be returning to Chenay Bay and the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The property is very nice and consists of individual units with modestly equipped kitchenettes that can accommodate 2 or more people comfortably. I loved the location of our unit which had a great front porch overlooking the bay. Needless to say, I spent quite a bit of time there, reading and relaxing. The pool area is very nice as well (if you are not inclined to head down to the beach, which is just a short walk) with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas and a great way to meet other guests. The staff were all very friendly and hospitable, which I found to be typical of just about everyone that I met that lives on the island. It must be all that sunshine and fresh air! My biggest disappointment was the restaurant, which does not have much to offer in the way of dining choices. The property and resort experience would be much improved if they would offer a better menu selection which includes some fresh local seafood. They could have some live music as well. This would keep guests on the property instead of needing to go into town for a decent meal. Until then, be sure and rent a car if you go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley E, Public Relations Manager at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We are constantly wanting to improve and suggestions such as your about the music, restaurant etc. are much appreciated and will be shared with everyone! Thank you again! We hope to have you back at Chenay Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a beautiful property at one time, renovations are not complete no inside shower in 18, but it is an upgrade is what we were told.... so if you like bathing outside in a barely dripping shower then enjoy!
there were bed bugs, they were not no see ums. Our linens were never changed in 5 days, we had to ask for the room to be serviced twice at 5pm. The towels are worse than believable and never available in the morning for beach use.
Centipedes greeted us in the mornings on the floor, wear your shoes!

Beach chairs were awful and far too few of them for the property. Yes I am used to island time, but this was laziness on the part of the staff, attitudes of customers being too much trouble.

As I said what a waste!

Room Tip: Close to the pool unless you like hiking your luggage to the top of the hill, no help with that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Cheney Bay. our cottage was fine, everything working most of the time, however, other visitors were not so lucky. Ownership is changing and the facilities
probably need more maintenance. staff was helpful and courteous with us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just stayed here for our fifth year the place is constantly being renovated but in a good way. The resort has small cottages with a full kitchen, living area and spacious bedroom. Ours also has an outside shower which is nice for our dive gear. There is a pool overlooking green cay island and the outer coast of Christiansted. The bar onsite was closed for the month ( not that uncommon this time of year ). We have eaten there before and the menu is awesome with daily specials. The beach is quiet as well, it is just a few steps from the restaurant and the pool. The water is usually calm enough for a kayak around or even paddle boarding. The resort is never full and it never is crowded which my wife and I enjoy. Also there are no peddlers bothering you to buy trinkets. Just sun and sand. The resort is just outside Christiansted and 45 minutes from frederiksted.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Christiansted
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chenay Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.