We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat with the right touches.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chenay Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat with the right touches.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just stayed here for our fifth year the place is constantly being renovated but in a good way. The resort has small cottages with a full kitchen, living area and spacious bedroom. Ours also has an outside shower which is nice for our dive gear. There is a pool overlooking green cay island and the outer coast of Christiansted. The bar onsite was closed for the month ( not that uncommon this time of year ). We have eaten there before and the menu is awesome with daily specials. The beach is quiet as well, it is just a few steps from the restaurant and the pool. The water is usually calm enough for a kayak around or even paddle boarding. The resort is never full and it never is crowded which my wife and I enjoy. Also there are no peddlers bothering you to buy trinkets. Just sun and sand. The resort is just outside Christiansted and 45 minutes from frederiksted.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    119
    34
    39
    32
See reviews for
52
135
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middle Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I spent 10 nights on business in July and will spend more in the coming months. For my needs the facility was excellent. I was not in one of the renovated cottages (apparently they are all on the list to be done), but it was functional, comfortable and began to feel like home. The wifi kept me in touch with home and I spent several afternoons/evenings getting ahead my tasks.

The quality and friendliness of the staff is tops on my list on an island that really hasn't figured out the hospitality part of "hospitatlity industry." The management was great, Carmen at the front desk was super, Natalie at Mahi's (a great place to eat) always had a smile and Jerrod in maintenance not only addressed my one concern immediately, he also introduced me to "canapes", a fruit that grows on many of the trees.

My cottage was more in the "garden" area and not on the beach, but it reminded me of a cross between a "summer camp" and a beach vacation....something for everybody. Can't wait to take my family.

Room Tip: Rent a vehicle to explore; be prepared for the no-see-um biting bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

i stayed at chenay bay one night, then promptly checked out the next morning and went to the buccaneer. i didn't feel safe. when i got to my room at the top of a hill (which i walked to on an unlit path by myself for at least 10 minutes), it was unlocked and the front door was wide open. the mini-blinds on the front door were broken such that anyone outside my room could see in/me, which was disconcerting. i was there for work and the guys i was with enjoyed it and would stay there again.

the plus side is the beach bar and beach are awesome/really fun, but i would never stay at the hotel portion again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I've been visiting St Croix since the mid-'90s, but had never been to Chenay Bay before. I stayed as a time-share guest, so there are some things I can't tell you, but I give it a lot of points for being halfway decent in the off season. There were a number of frustrations, including no Jazzy Blue or the $5-hamburger-night they have in-season on Wednesdays. However the bungalows were neat and clean, the pool area well-kept and working, and the bay placid and full of interesting things to see. If you're looking for a tranquil spot a ways out of town, I'd give the place a qualified recommendation.

Chenay Bay is down the East End Road, past Cheeseburgers in Paradise, and not too far from Cramers Point Park, which is arguably the nicest public beach on the island. The Chenay beach is ok, but there's not much wave action, as Green Cay protects the harbor. The bay is very shallow and mostly eel grass, so there's lots of sea life, though not the colorful reef fish you see elsewhere.

The resort itself is a little village of some 40-odd bungalows on a hillslope above the beach; the pool isn't huge (and is a little beat) but has nice hardscaping and great views of the ocean and the cay. There's a bar, together with the resort's restaurant, Mahi, basically right on the beach. The latter has good food and is not wildly pricey by Caribbean resort-restaurant standards, but dinner entrees run in the $25+ area, with lunch platters around $16. Cheeseburgers in Paradise, a bit of a walk away, runs around $12 for the same kind of thing.

The rooms have refrigerators and stoves (but no dishwashers,) so we stocked up at the Plaza Extra and Kmart, and dined relatively pleasantly by the pool most days (OH yes, bug spray WAS called for...) We didn't find the cats annoying and they weren't overly aggressive.

Our main complaint was that the cold water tap for the shower was tricky to shut off and had a tendency to rotate off the wall. The watersports booth was closed for the season, so no snorkel gear or kayaks. Another source of irritation was that there are security lights on the sides of the buildings all night, so our room was never completely dark. Also, there were no hammocks, which Carambola DOES have.

Contrary to some descriptions, wifi IS available at the resort. The no-smoking rule is applied to the rooms only, and we did encounter some smokers at the beach, which is not entirely private - don't leave valuables under the cabanas!

So yes, things were slightly funky, but you'd better expect that in the Caribbean! I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: We got bungalows by the pool, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just got back from a great week at Chenay Bay Beach Resort on St Croix. The setting, views, relaxation, Cottages, staff...all could not be beat! You can pay a lot more: you just won't get a lot more! This really has to be the best buy in the Caribbean. It is so easy to get to. Fun golf at The Reefs.Views over the calm waters of Chenay Bay that you just walk out into: Then you sit at the beach bar and look out over it! For me it was just what I needed and I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Weymouth, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I admit, there are signs of delayed maintenance here, particularly in comparison to the Buccaneer where we stayed last time. But this isn't a 4.5-star resort. It is a quaint collection of cottages, with a top-notch, East-side location, gorgeous private beach, nice pool, great bar and restaurant for a reasonable price. Being more of a laid-back type, I loved the concept of the cottages. Your own private porch, a kitchenette to save on meals out, it even included a jetted tub! The food at Mahi's was very good and very reasonable. The bar specials are a great value as well. The pool was lovely, with three shallow areas you could lounge in overlooking the beach.

The downsides, yes, there are cats around, but I didn't find them annoying. If you don't feed them, they just move on to the next table of suckers. Noseeyums (tiny bugs) can be rough, especially if you're allergic to the bites, so partake of the communal bug spray well before dusk. Yes, the hottub is gone (but really, it's the Caribbean, did you want to sit in a hot tub?) and the pool chairs look a little past their prime.

If they find a buyer for this place and invest just a little bit in maintenance and a few upgrades, they will have one of the nicest resorts around. But even if they don't, they still have a reasonably-priced, family-friendly resort that is a joy to visit.

Room Tip: We got a garden view cottage, but because of the hill, we still had a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We picked Chenay Bay Resort and St. Croix as an RCI exchange week and we were not disappointed. St. Croix is a beautiful island with friendly residents and excellent food and service. The photos of the beaches speak for themselves. Chenay Bay Beach Resort was just perfect for us. Our little cottage had a gorgeous view of the ocean, only steps away. The cottage had been recently redone, the bed was comfortable, the sheets quality, granite counter tops, tile floors, flat screen tv, wifi - all great. The staff was wonderful and accommodating. The grounds were beautiful, the pool overlooks the ocean and is very clean with comfortable beach chairs and lots of shade. The beach was three steps from the pool, with an outdoor shower, lounge chairs, and a bar and restaurant open for three meals a day and in between. We spent a lot of time just sitting at the pool or beach, sipping iced tea, reading and swimming.

As far as St. Croix, Christainsted is quaint in a hurricane-run down type of way. The restaurants were fantastic - I'd recommended Cafe Christine for lunch and Galangal for dinner. We arrived on a Sunday and the town didn't seem to really open up until Wednesday. Lovely boutiques and art galleries as well as a gorgeous harbor. We did a snorkeling half-day trip to Buck Island with Captain Mike on the Jolly Roger - it was well worth it to snorkel the outside of the reef through a National Park marine trail. We also hiked to the eastern end of the island - Point Uddal - for a completely private and remote beach.

Another recommended dinner spot is the Blue Water Cafe, about 5 miles east of the resort. Just fantastic food and atmosphere on the huge porch up on hill overlooking the ocean.

St. Croix is a bit rough and tumble, and we like it that way. It couldn't have been better. Make sure you plan to rent a car as the resort is about 5 miles out of town,

Room Tip: Ask for an unobstructed view - some cottages don't have one but most do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Christiansted
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chenay Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.