We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little run down, but fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chenay Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
North Weymouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little run down, but fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I admit, there are signs of delayed maintenance here, particularly in comparison to the Buccaneer where we stayed last time. But this isn't a 4.5-star resort. It is a quaint collection of cottages, with a top-notch, East-side location, gorgeous private beach, nice pool, great bar and restaurant for a reasonable price. Being more of a laid-back type, I loved the concept of the cottages. Your own private porch, a kitchenette to save on meals out, it even included a jetted tub! The food at Mahi's was very good and very reasonable. The bar specials are a great value as well. The pool was lovely, with three shallow areas you could lounge in overlooking the beach.

The downsides, yes, there are cats around, but I didn't find them annoying. If you don't feed them, they just move on to the next table of suckers. Noseeyums (tiny bugs) can be rough, especially if you're allergic to the bites, so partake of the communal bug spray well before dusk. Yes, the hottub is gone (but really, it's the Caribbean, did you want to sit in a hot tub?) and the pool chairs look a little past their prime.

If they find a buyer for this place and invest just a little bit in maintenance and a few upgrades, they will have one of the nicest resorts around. But even if they don't, they still have a reasonably-priced, family-friendly resort that is a joy to visit.

Room Tip: We got a garden view cottage, but because of the hill, we still had a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    129
    38
    42
    33
See reviews for
65
156
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We picked Chenay Bay Resort and St. Croix as an RCI exchange week and we were not disappointed. St. Croix is a beautiful island with friendly residents and excellent food and service. The photos of the beaches speak for themselves. Chenay Bay Beach Resort was just perfect for us. Our little cottage had a gorgeous view of the ocean, only steps away. The cottage had been recently redone, the bed was comfortable, the sheets quality, granite counter tops, tile floors, flat screen tv, wifi - all great. The staff was wonderful and accommodating. The grounds were beautiful, the pool overlooks the ocean and is very clean with comfortable beach chairs and lots of shade. The beach was three steps from the pool, with an outdoor shower, lounge chairs, and a bar and restaurant open for three meals a day and in between. We spent a lot of time just sitting at the pool or beach, sipping iced tea, reading and swimming.

As far as St. Croix, Christainsted is quaint in a hurricane-run down type of way. The restaurants were fantastic - I'd recommended Cafe Christine for lunch and Galangal for dinner. We arrived on a Sunday and the town didn't seem to really open up until Wednesday. Lovely boutiques and art galleries as well as a gorgeous harbor. We did a snorkeling half-day trip to Buck Island with Captain Mike on the Jolly Roger - it was well worth it to snorkel the outside of the reef through a National Park marine trail. We also hiked to the eastern end of the island - Point Uddal - for a completely private and remote beach.

Another recommended dinner spot is the Blue Water Cafe, about 5 miles east of the resort. Just fantastic food and atmosphere on the huge porch up on hill overlooking the ocean.

St. Croix is a bit rough and tumble, and we like it that way. It couldn't have been better. Make sure you plan to rent a car as the resort is about 5 miles out of town,

Room Tip: Ask for an unobstructed view - some cottages don't have one but most do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

After several previous wonderful visits to Chenay Bay Resort, recent reviews caused some concerns. Now, after spending over two weeks at Chenay Bay, all fears were COMPLETELY UNFOUNDED. Well, except maybe for the sand fleas which are all over the amazing Island. They do seem discerning on whom they attack the most, as my bf remained unscathed while I brought home a number of unwanted souvenirs, even tho’ I used every type of repellant, including the sesame oil & lotion. The bites, however, were a small price to pay. And the remaining itching triggered smiles for the memories of those 17 days.
There has been upgrading; our cottage was absolutely terrific, & the pool was as clean & beautiful as ever. The previously seldom-used hot tub has been replaced with a setting for ‘ceremonies’ & the west end now has seating additions which are lovely. The grounds are immaculate, & the varied & beautiful flora is as well attended as our spoiled home gardens. The beach was well-kept on a daily basis & the chairs, some older ones as well as new additions, were all in good condition & plentiful.
My bf snorkels from sunrise until the magnificent sunsets. He saw a variety of sea-life every day from turtles to rays to rare white urchins. I became friends with a tiny baby gecko on our deck who would come down a post when I called him, & every morning (we seemed to always be the first up) a dove awaited us for her(?) morning cracker, chasing away other doves & once even a mongoose. There are presently 3 kittens at the restaurant. They are sweet, shy & polite…grateful to those who give them scraps & easily dissuaded by those who do not. They are in good health & well-fed.
Mahia Restaurant has a terrific chef. Her creations are varied, well-presented & very, very good. They are, however, also very, very over-priced, even appetizers & breakfasts. On previous visits we ate every meal at the restaurant. We did not do so on this visit. Fortunately, heeding the reviews we had mailed staples in advance. Those care-packages, combined with 3 visits to grocery stores, made the in-cottage meals a good alternative to always dining at Mahia’s, which also on occasion, with the capable but busy bartenders also acting as servers, had unbearably slow service. There may be changes in the Restaurant in the making. Hopefully, such changes will not include the very accommodating & personable current Restaurant/Bar staff.
The staff at Chenay Bay Resort continually has received rave reviews. The reviews are true & deserved. The collective word ‘Staff’ includes each & every single employee. Having such a long (but not even long enough) visit, we were lucky enough to become acquainted with those in the Office, the ladies who kept our cottage ‘a home’, the truly great guys in charge of security & maintenance, the knowledgeable & affable grounds/beach keepers, & as previously stated, those at the Restaurant. They ALL were a big part of making for a wonderful, relaxing 2+ weeks.
Finally, we made some wonderful friends…too many to list here, which we hope to see again next year. However, our e-mail/contact list did not make it home with us. There was a sunset picture promised to all. It is included here although taken on a previous trip. Nothing in it has changed to present. Chenay Bay Resort remains a treasure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We did a time share exchange for our week at CB. April 17-24, 2012. I saw some of the negative reviews and they were helpful as far as the bugs were. I did bring my own bug spray however I seemed to still get bitten. This being our first trip to CB I was a bit worried about some of the reviews. We stayed in #18 a one bedroom it was up a steep hill, not good for anyone with walking or breathing issues.The food was good at Mahi's. We only had a few dinner meals. Bartenders were great! The beach was fantastic! My husband brought his snorkel gear with him and went snorkeling twice and saw NO fish. Maybe if he had gone with a partner, he could have gone out further around the point. We never used the pool. If your looking for a quiet place to relax, this is the place for you. We bought some things at the local grocery stores for breakf. and had leftovers most time for lunches. Having a kitchenette is nice. We also bought our own cruzan rum and enjoyed drinks in our room or on the porch. Walking around with alcholic beverages anywhere in St. Croix is no problem! We rented a car from "Judi of St Croix". they were excellent to deal with and I would use them again. Having a car we could travel all over the island and we did! We only used maybe half tank of gas. Parking is an issue in Christiansted, be patient and don't leave anything of value in your car! We enjoyed meals at The Rum Runners, The Pickled Greek & Twin City Coffee House. We bought braclets at Sonja LTd. Yes, I did my research prior to our stay! A good resource is " StCroixthisweek.com". Cheneay Beach does need some renovations (paint, varnish, new beach towels, chaise lounges, etc.) but all in all I would go again. It is the carribean and everyone and everything is pretty much layed back. If you've traveled around in the carribean, like us you, would know this and just being on an island can be expensive. Locals were friendly to us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was also concerned about the reviews about this place, but they were just fine. Again, if you're looking for the four seasons, book elsewhere. if you're a normal traveler who doesn't spend too much time in the room, this will be fine.
We booked a garden view room, but got in, checked in and found we had a REALLY great ocean view cottage that was also steps from the pool.

the rooms can use some love, but ours was huge, had everything we needed and we were fine. there were scuffs on the walls and the bathroom needed to be remmodeled, and the toilet ran the entire time we were there, but it didn't bother us much.
The pool area is nce, but stake your chair out early or you're screwed for the day.
Mahi's was where we spent most of our time. The food was good, the drinks were great and the staff is EXCELLENT.

I can't stress this enough, if you don't bring bug repellants, DO IT. Also, if you're allergic to anything BRING YOUR MEDS. we failed to bring ours and we both busted out in hives and rashes from the sand fleas, which sucked, because we had to wait nine hours for medication to be transferred to STX. This is island wide, not specifically at Chenay Bay, so bring your spray EVERYWHERE. I'd actually recommend lemongrass oil. Skin so soft doesn't work, off doesn't work, sesame seed oil kinda works, but no matter what, you'll get bitten.

Getting back to the property, I'd return to Chenay Bay for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have just returned from a visit to St. Croix. We had reservations at Chenay Bay and after reading some of the reviews, I was a little concerned-----however, we found it a wonderful place! The view of the Bay is just awesome. The cottage was perfect - I was ready to buy it and stay on there!! The beach is beautiful. The pool still needs some work but it was always clean and was enjoyed by all the people staying there. We could tell that some of the units needed some work but there were people working on things every day so hopefully someone will buy it and get it back to it's best. Hope everyone enjoys it as much as we did!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Beach is among the best of all of the resorts. The entire staff is great! Very laid back atmosphere. The beach bar, Mahi really needs some updating, but is lots of fun! GREAT bartenders, especially Will. Most important for people with allergies I would recommend another destination entirely. The bugs, (hopefully sand fleas and not bedbugs) are really serious for those who are allergic to them. I wore insect repellant the whole time and came home with bites everywhere. My husband has none! Tomorrow I head to the doc to see what it is. As good as the food is - "Cheeseburger in Paradise" restaurant is infested! - not a resort restaurant, but a nearby one.

Room Tip: King rooms are not really Kings, possibly queen size beds and very small overall space. I would upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
4.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
3.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
3.7 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chenay Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.