We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad bad experince” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chenay Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad bad experince”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

first of all, you get what you pay for.....
we booked from cheapcarriebean.com and it was very cheap($500 including air + 5 nights)

Good: Cheap, very cheap, people are nice and that's about it.

BAD:
1. don't expect a hotel, it's just a bunch of bungalows, no wifi in room, no nice lobby
2. some of the rooms are updated (but still looks bad), some other rooms just remind me horror movies....
3. bugs, they are small and they can run through your screen of the door/window, they bite hard, and it's itchy as hell, through the 5 days, I have 105 bites (yes, my wife counted for me, and she got 50+). I guess it's not a hotel thing, it's everywhere on this island, maybe it's a season thing....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Manager at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Bad experiences are never a good thing when it comes to your vacation time. We do run like a hotel, but we are unique as our accommodations are cottages. The no-seeums (bugs) are bothersome all over the island and we do recommend using bug repellant. Chenay Bay is now under new management and working to improve the property and quality of service. Although this change cannot take away the bad experience, we hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    119
    34
    39
    32
See reviews for
52
135
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wallkill, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We really enjoyed our weeks stay at this hotel and beach. They were busy fixing and cleaning things up while we were there. The no-see-ums were sprayed for by the hotel, but these have been especially troublesome through out the caribbean this year. We really enjoyed the large cabin with king sized bed and double, granite counter tops, and cooking facilities. The ocean and swimming pool were comfortable and clean. The hotel is in recievership by the bank, but seems to be trying to improve. Tons of potential with the right management. Will come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for #30 or #26, good views on top of hill. You can drive to and drop off things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess County, NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We took advantage of an incredibly cheap deal to visit St. Croix. My grandmother used to say, you get what you pay for. Unlike other visitors, we experienced the hotel staff as being a bit unfriendly and very inattentive. Check in was harrowing, as the young lady said, "we can't find your reservation" before she had even looked! They were unable to print boarding passes for our return trip, and thus we spent our last full day of vacation at the Christiansted public library computer doing that. The room itself was OK. Maid service was unpredictable, and there wasn't always a full complement of towels. But it is hard to stay completely mad at a place with a private porch with an ocean view. And St. Croix is enchanting, so it is hard to stay completely mad at all. Oh yes, and my husband was bitten terribly (no-see-ums? bed bugs? - who knows!) despite use of insect repellent.

Room Tip: 48,49, or 50 seemed the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My husband and I spend 7 wonderful days at Chenay Bay. If you would like to have your own private cottage nothing else compares on St. Croix. We have visited 5 times now. Each visit we scope out other options and always return to Chenay Bay. It is not a hotel. It is a resort. it is ever changing and easy to navigate around. Yes, the beach has rocks/pebbles, but I witnessed it cared for by the staff each morning with a raking. I snorkle the waters here and have seen turtle. The cats about have been in the catch and release program. They can be identified by the partially snipped ear. So in short, the staff cares about it's guest, beach, resort, and even it's cats. Food can be expensive at any resort, in comparison, Chenay is not so bad. Use the kitchenette, take advantage of 5 dollar foot longs from subway, treat yourself to meals out as needed. Thank-you to everyone for your attention when needed. yes the cable may go in and out during construction, but come on your on vacation...buy a deck of cards or a book from the office library, or talk to a stranger, It's all perspective.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

Definitely not what I expected.. in a bad way. Upon arrival to the island itself, was great. 85+ degree weather, free rum upon arrival...what more can one ask for? Until we arrived to the resort and were slowly disappointed. Check in was one example. I traveled with 3 other people and was hoping to get cottages next to each other, although the cottage next door to mine was not vacant, they would not let my sister stay there. We payed for an "ocean view" which cost a few more bucks, that was non existent, unless you count the small piece of ocean that is somewhat visible behind the trees and other cottages. Oh, did I mention the trek up what seemed like a mountainside just to get to the room? The rooms were decent. Nothing special. Definitely outdated. Remote didnt work, hardly any hot water and No phones. (which they blamed everything on construction, that was their excuse for everything) The only thing I appreciated was the kitchenette. Your going to need it, since the only restaurant is Mahi's, which is definitely NOT inexpensive. We were hoping a trip to the beach would redeem any upsets...wrong. Terrible chairs, very rocky, found garbage floating in the water. So...we decided to go to the pool, which the pictures on the website must be super old. Fountains broken, lights broken, hot tub doesn't exist, I don't even know how often they fill it, bc the water level was well below the pumps. The food at Mahi's was ok. Nothing special, especially for what they were charging. Renting a car is a must in order to appreciate everything the island has to offer and to go grocery shopping. I've stayed at many resorts, and never had the need to go off and explore bc everything I needed was available. The only time I spent here was to lay my head down for a nights sleep . Where we all were eaten alive by bugs. You better not forget the insect repellent!!!! The front desk was not helpful at all and Not knowledgable. I got more feedback from other guests that were there. Don't waste your money here.. Point blank.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I read as many reviews as possible before booking a VERY good deal on cheapcaribbean.com, it's about what I expected. We were lucky enough to get unit 2, which is right next to the pool and restaurant. It was very clean and well kept. The bed was hard...nearly every bed in the caribbean is hard (we've been to Jamaica a few times, Dominican Repub., Mexico...all the same). You MUST rent a car, we rented a car from Judith of St. Croix, highly recommended, got a Jeep delivered to the property for $45 a day, great deal. Islan is beautiful to drive, easy to get around, gorgegous beaches.
THE GOOD: It is no frills, but it's quiet. There were times that we went to the pool an were the only ones there. Everyday we'd wake up, decide on a beach to drive to, and spend the morning there, then packup, grb lunch, and sit at the pool in the afternoon, we never had to fight for a chair, very peaceful. Our room was clean and the staff was friendly.
THE BAD: The price of food at the restaurant on site is absolutely outrageous. Even breakfast was never under $30 for the two of us and we ate light. Food is ok, the coconut shrimp was GREAT, and the wings were okay. They have decent drink prices. The beach is NOT great, not well taken care of, lots of rocks. That's why we drove to all sorts of beaches, the pool was fine, I don't understand everyone's problem with the pool. They were in the process of converting the hot tub into a seating area (smart move, who in the world uses the hot tob when it's 85 everyday?).
NOSEUM TIP: We used Neutrogena Sesame Seed oil everyday AND at night added Deep Woods Off, I got one bite total, my wife was bit only a few times, wasn't a huge deal if you were prepared for them.
Overall, the US VI are GORGEOUS, we took a Seaplane (takes off and lands in the ocean) over to St. Thomas for a full day, those beaches were much better, but it was very, very commercialized, someone trying to sell you things every 5 minutes. St. Croix is a quiet island, definitely less commercialized. I highly recommend the Buck Island tour, it is a great beach and great place to snorkel, do the 1/2 day trip, I can't imagine that the full day trip was worth $90 a person.
If you go with the right expectations and find a good deal, I would recommend this property. Do NOT go if you require a 5 star property...if you enjoy a relaxing vacation with lots to see, it's a great time.

Room Tip: Ocean view is great, if no ocean view, be as close to the pool as possible, since it isn't open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conroe
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

first of all i was looking at the pictures some reviewers had taken about 2009 and 2008 and this resort has further gone down since then. now i got a very good price threw cheap caribbean so and i read alot of reviews before i booked. i did not except a 5 star resort for the price i paid and i payed for what igot. we had cottage 23 a garden view which isnotone ofthe time shares. it was badly in need of a update, we had plenty of hot water but very little cold water, the tolet would cloug up very easy the kicten sink would backup. it had a queen size bed and a double they where ok, sheets very old and worn out also the towels should have been replaced. we had maid service but theyu would never leave soap or shampoo so i would hae to walk down the hill to get some. after three days the maid finally started leaving them. iwould pull the sheets off the bed every other day to be sure they would change them. the maid told the front office i was doing this every day and this was not allowed because they only changed the sheets every other day. it looked to me like the maid was complaing about a guest, something i have not run into before. it is very quiet being in the middle of nowhere but i rented a car for 7 days and getting around is not a problem even driving on the left is easy compared to say england or asia roads are pretty good also. but you must rent a car for it is a long walk to anywhere unless you just like to read and relax. the pool was clean but low on water, thelights did not work for swimming after sunset hot tub not working and all the bachchairs are dirty and shot. did not eat in the resturant as it seemed too high for me. I cooked breakfast every day after shopping at plaza extra a large supermarket about 2 miles west on 70. i would not to sconners market very small everything over priced and out of date. i guess nov is not the best month for st croix as most of the water was cloudy from wind and storm at sea so diving was not at its best. several locals told me this used to be a very nice resort but has gone threw several now owners and mangement companys and the last ones have not kept resort up. the time shares cottages are very nice with ocean views because these have been updated. now for the bugs, there are no bed bugs but alot of sand fleas which bite and leave red welts i saw several guests with these. we did not have any problem with this using the off provided by chenay bay. these sand fleas are everywhere on the island but chenay bay seems to have more than the rest for some reason. staff where friendly and helpful, except for the maids. if the water was clear the beach would be one ofthe best but stillnice to just swim in. overall we are not unhappy because it was such a cheap deal but we would not go back because i can go other islands for about the same price which ilike better.

Room Tip: only good rooms that i saw are time shares which cost alot more
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chenay Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.