We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chenay Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Live on the island and wanted a romantic secluded getaway and this was the perfect place beautiful room romantic place for moonlight walk very quiet worth the affordable price would stay again love it



Lynelle n Greg

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    124
    35
    41
    33
See reviews for
60
145
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We just returned from a 7 day stay at Chenay Bay (9/16-9/22) First I can not say enough about the staff. EVERYONE was exceptionally welcoming and refreshingly friendly.

Before we left and I read the reviews here and all they did was instill unnecessary apprehension.

Here is what I found. Most importantly, we found NO BED BUGS. let me say it again: WE FOUND NO BED BUGS. Being it IS the tropics, we did bomb the room upon our arrival. We did this for no other reason than I am afraid of creepy crawlies. I had nothing to worry about. The TV didn't work, but the resort went above and beyond to help correct the problem. Even allowing us to watch Monday night football in a vacant room....again another example of OUTSTANDING customer service.

Yes. It could use some new beach chairs. But give me a break. Ask for an extra towel and lay it down. Problem solved until the new ones come.

As for the pool? Ok, it needs a good cleaning, but the water is as refreshing as the view from the side of it. And the hot tub? Who cares!.....for what it costs to heat it? I say fill it with sea water and call it a day. The fountains I'm sure were nice but again, they cost. Make them into planters and Viola: natural beauty.

The 2 waterways are in the process of being transformed into picturesque landscaped gardens.

Now for the transportation. Are you KIDDING? REALLY? unreliable? ?? Not only is this grotesquely an untrue statement, it is unjust and down right RUDE. We found the transportation in a league of its own, our driver educated us about the island, and went out of his way to accommodate our every need. Including taking us around WAY passed what should have been the end of his day.

This is a true gem and first rate place for the nay Sayers, I say too bad you spent your time trying to find negative things to wrote about here instead of enjoying all it has to offer.

Rome wasn't built in a day and neither will the rebuilding of Chenay Bay. There's a new resort manager who is EXTREMELY hands on and takes charge when they become aware of problems. I believe on time and hard work of which she is not afraid of, she will return Chenay Bay to be even more beatiful than it ever was.

I want to say thank you to everyone at Chenay Bay for making our stay both pleasurable and memorable for us. We can't wait till we can go back and see the progress that's been made.

Christine and Bill

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tn
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have stayed twice and you fixed the new pool area since we were there last but you have let the new pool become an eyesore with all the non working fountains and hot tub not working. We stayed a year ago in October and I am still reading that you have not made repairs. You have a jewell of a place but you do not keep it maintained. We had a cute cottage but there was some kind of glue or cleaner all over the beautiful tiles , and I mean everywhere . Our Bathtub faucet was broke the whole time we were there,my husband fixed it temp and and was told it would be fixed. The repairman did not ever come back, said he needed a part. but the truth was he did not know how to fix it. The food at the resort is good, beauttiful flowers and walkways(but not maintained) Looks like repairs are started on outside of cottages and than left unfinished. Looked the same when we were there before just a lot of unfinisihed repairs and tools everywhere. You built a new pool area and than did not take care of it, what a waste of money. I would love to come back and see that you have turned the place around . We love the area and you could have the best resort around if you would hire a good repair person.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I want this to be our secret get away. This resort has just the right mix of informality and attentiveness that my wife and I so appreciate. Many people seem to complain about bugs. Well, you're on an island in the Caribbean, these are common. I never found a bedbug, although my wife did endure a number of bites while at the bar or on the beach after dark.. Prepare for it. Having a stand alone cottage was ideal. No one above, below or beside us. I nice little porch for coffee or breakfast, even dinner on a couple of occasions. It gets real quiet around 10:30 in the evening, allowing you to sleep soundly or have a relaxing drink on the porch and listen to the waves hit the beach. While room service is not what you'd find in a larger hotel, we always had towels and they were always accomodating to special requests. Renting a car is recommended. The center of Christiansted is about 15 minutes, just stay on the left. It's not that difficult driving on the left, I put off getting a car for three days, then couldn't believe how much of mountain I had made of the molehill. Just pay attention, and if you drink, do that at CB. Whle it seemed to always be close to full capacity, it was never crowded. That is something we REALLY liked. We like people, but we don't want to feel compelled to interact. The food was always good and you could be lulled into the idea of eating all your meals there. Venture out: Angry Nates, Pickled Greek, American Cheeseburger(seafood sampler), Domino Club, are but a few options. Buying some groceries and cooking in the cottage is also recommended, especially for breakfast. We are looking forward to returning this December for another week.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

If you are reading this, you probably saw an insanely cheap Internet deal. Well,. Chenay Bay is infected with bed bugs and fleas. By your second or third night your body will be covered with bite marks and spend your trip scratching like a dog.

By our last night it was nearly unbearable.

It's a shame. Because St. Croix is a wonderful island with amazing scuba diving, snorkeling, mountain hikes and relaxing drives.

Since the bed bugs were so bad, I won't bother with other complaints. Considering the cheap price we got, I don't feel complaints about the beat-up lounge chairs, out of order swimming pool, stained sheets and towels, etc are fair.

What is fair is to expect an insect-free room which we didn't get.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IORManagement, Rental Marketing Mgr. at Chenay Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In regards to your concerns, Chenay Bay does not have any bed bug issues. But St. Croix’s beaches do have their share of “no-see-ums” this time of year. They are found in almost any aquatic or semi-aquatic habitat throughout the world. Their scientific name is “ceratopogonidae,” and are referred to in North America by other names as well including biting midges, sand flies, and punkies. They are small flies. The females suck blood from host animals, like mosquitoes.

Their bites can cause intensely itchy, red welts that can persist for more than a week. The discomfort arises from a localized allergic reaction to the proteins in their saliva, which can be somewhat alleviated by topical antihistamines. Bug repellents that include DEET will repel these insects, much like they do mosquitoes. The front desk and restaurant has repellent available for guest use.

Again, thank you for your review,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Death Valley, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We have been to most of the carribean islands. We enjoy adventure and loved our week at Chenay Bay Resort. There are some folks who should travel only to 5 star resorts if that is the type of place they expect. We were pleasantly surprised with our lovely cottage and beautiful ocean view. All employees were freindly and polite. We did rent a car and visited many of the 'tourist attractions' of the island. Even the driving on the left was fun! Perhaps we are 'glass half-full' people, but we enjoyed the terrific parts and ignored the parts that could use rehabilitation. I wish I could afford to buy the place!

Room Tip: we only saw 47 thru 50 and they are ocean view, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I went there alone to get away from the kids and really enjoyed our time. It is a beautiful resort that has a small beach and a good restaurant. If you rent a car (HIGHLY recommended), it is a very easy drive into Christiansted (about 15 minutes or so). There is also a nice grocery store (Schooner's) about halfway into town. The people there were very nice and helpful. The best part about the hotel is the free snorkeling and kayaking rentals. The snorkeling right there at the hotel is so-so, but there is a small island within kayaking distance from the resort. If you head over there in the morning you can do some nice snorkeling by the island. The room also included a refrigerator, range, coffee pot, and sink, which is nice to have. It also had a nice large flat-screen TV.

Now for the complaints. You have to understand that this resort is in the Caribbean, so don't expect too much. The room we stayed in had a pretty ugly tile floor. It had two beds, and of course we didn't need the second bed so we just used it to throw our luggage on. A sofa or bigger sitting area would have been nice. The whole unit could have used some upgrading ... the a/c was a bit loud. The island was having difficulty with power during our stay so the water was sometimes on and sometimes off. We had to take showers in a trickle of water at times. The spa looked like it hadn't been working in quite some time. The infinity pool was open, and nice for swimming, but the fountains and "infinity" effect were all turned off. Not sure if it's just maintenance or if it broke and they haven't bothered to fix it.

Bottom line is don't go to this resort thinking it is a 5-star or even 4-star top-of-the line resort. It's a bit old and dated, but a lot of fun if you can accept the "charming" atmosphere! The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the views were fantastic. And it was an easy drive into town. All-in-all we were very happy with our stay.

Oh, the best restaurant we ate at during our stay was Rumrunners on the boardwalk in Christiansted!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Odigeo so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chenay Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.