We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chenay Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
New York City
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Good Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

After reading all the mixed reviews, I was worried about staying at Chenay Bay, but we just came back from a week there, and I had a very good experience.

The staff was helpful and friendly. The grounds were well kept. The beach and pool were clean, quiet and uncrowded. The restaurant service and food were very good. Our room was clean, cheerful and comfortable, and the price was very reasonable.

I couldn't agree more with the prior reviews about getting a "renovated" room, which comes with new appliances, new floor and bathroom tile, etc. (Note that a "refurbished" room is merely repainted, so don't be confused.) I had some initial difficulty upgrading to a renovated room, because I called many times over the course of several weeks and was always told "the computers are down". But two days before my arrival, I called again and suddenly had no problem upgrading to a renovated room for an extra $25 per night, which is more than worth it.

Some prior reviews complain that the "ocean view" of most rooms is actually blocked by trees. That's true, but it didn't bother us, and we much preferred having a renovated room facing beautiful trees (and still only a few steps from the beach), than an older room with a view.

We don't like ordering every meal off a menu while on vacation, especially when travelling with our children who don't sit quietly at restaurants. The kitchenettes at Chenay Bay were perfect, and allowed us to enjoy one or two meals a day at our own pace on our own porch.

The maids provided daily towel service, made our bed and emptied the trash every day. They don't wash your dirty dishes, as one review said, so bring your own maid from home if this is really your priority when going on vacation in the Caribbean.

As others have noted, the water fountains and hot tub don't work. So what? And yes, during our 7-night stay, we found one cockroach and one centipede in the bathroom. This is the tropics and to be expected. Yes, we got some bug bites outside at night, but again it's the tropics, and the time we were bitten worst was during a visit to the Buccaneer beach. Just use bug spray.

One review complained there were no beach umbrellas. We sat under the palm trees. No tragedy there. Other reviews complained about too many shells on the beach and/or too much vegetation in the water -- which I didn't find to be the case, and which is no different from anywhere else on the island. The snorkeling was good at Chenay Bay, and we even saw a sea turtle while snorkeling off the rocky point to the right of the bay.

One review noted the resort isn't walking distance to anything, which is correct -- except for the pool and fabulous beach -- which presumably is why anyone goes there in the first place. Chenay Bay is a 10-minute drive from Christiansted, and visitors should rent a car if they're staying for more than a couple days or plan to see anything else on the island. Chenay Bay is easily accessible to the whole island, so don't worry about being out on the "east end".

It would be nice if the Chenay Bay website provided more information, including about amenities, but if you call they’ll tell you whatever you want to know. They have free WiFi access in the lobby area. The rooms come with coffee makers and two coffee packets, so beyond that you should bring your own ground coffee and filters to avoid shopping for these locally.

All in all, we had a very good stay at Chenay Bay. It's not the Buccaneer, but that's not what we were looking for. We'd love to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    129
    38
    43
    33
See reviews for
65
156
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

This was a pleasant place to stay in 2010, but since September of that year it has been in bankruptcy proceedings. Before booking for a very special occasion in 2011, calls were made to make sure the place was still in business, and we were assured it was. The difference a year made was like and night and day. Don't go by pictures on either the old website or the new website that falsely advertises a lot of features that are in total disrepair. There is no jacuzzi, there are no fountains, there are no beach umbrellas or anything to offer shade, other than the bar. The pool has a trough of green algae behind it from where the fountains USED to splash over and drain away from it. We were told this was cleaned weekly but annually might be more like it.

Maid service does not include washing dishes - apparently we weren't given the "welcome" notice upon arrival. The TV did not work, there was no phone in the bedroom and there was no clock. There are no hammocks, and don't expect to be able to use a sail boat either!

Despite us asking several times for an early wake up call on day of departure, AND asking for this to be put into the log book for the night watchman, we had NO wake up call. When we asked about an alarm clock to borrow, we were just told that room didn't come with one! (There is a K-mart in town they could have bought for us and future guests!)



Don't ever expect to see a bus go by, nevermind the false advertising that there are buses from the property to take you into town, You are not within walking distance of anywhere!

Sadly, it was just thing after another, and it had been a nice place a year beforehand!

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jordan mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

The rooms are dirty, spiders and cobwebs. This was a family vacation consisting of 3 rooms, one of them came with complimentary cockroaches. Things were run down, dirty, and not kept up. A/C went out nightly, our power went out daily(random times of the night while we were sleeping causing the a/c to kick out and everything to beep and wake us up.) There is a short in the phone system at the resort(we were told by the front desk) explaining why our phone would ring at random times with static on the line. fountains at the resort were not functioning, dirty pool, food was not worth the price. The beach is not nice soft sand, it is shattered shells that kinda hurt your feet. It appears at one point in time this was a beautiful resort to visit, but that time has passed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

The beach and views were great .However this is a resort that is definitely in decline The landscaping and overall appearnce was rough. The rooms are awful,not very clean and bugs were crawling on the floor.The pool filters did not appear to be functioning . We went to an area resort The Buccaneer to use their pool .
The restaurant staff and chef John were very nice and helpful.The other staff were not as friendly and seemed put out when we asked questions.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I have been to St. Croix 7-8 times over the past 20 years, usually staying with family.
I had been to the beach at Chenay Bay, but never stayed there. I was a little apprehensive when I learned the week before that the parent company was in Chapter 11 Bankruptcy.
My wife and two teen sons were in one cabin type unit with 2 beds. The unit had a new full size fridge and new appliances and woodwork. Bathroom was only partially done but clean. The bed I slept in was very comfortable. No view from our unit (#25) as we were in the back. I was satisifed with the unit. The pool was great with fantastic view of the Bay and Green Key. They never did fill it fully to make the infintity portion and the fountains work. Beach was nice. There are some grasses on the bottom, but there was decent snorkling 200 yards out. Last day they were opening new snorkle gear. I was a little disappointed that there were no boats as advertised. Staff was somewhat accomodating but not friendly and never volunteered any help. Restaurant was good. We had 2 dinners, breakfasts and lunches over the 6 day stay. Not fine dining but solid with good very friendly service and never a dud meal. $5 burger night was a bargain. You do need a car if you stay here. I like being away from Christensted because it is safer. They even had a security guard at night though I never felt like they needed it. I would definitely stay here again. Check the ownership status as I heard a rumor that the parent company in bankruptcy may sell Chenay Bay soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed this very nice resort.The people there Damon,Barbara,Shameen,Diane,Carmen all made our stay very pleasant.The Wifi worked very well.The cottages were neat,clean and efficient.The beach has a gorgeous view,water easy to swim in,snorkeling was good.I got inked by a octopus yesterday while snorkeling ,that was cool.We saw sea turtles any day you wanted to see them on the left side of beach ....walking down 300 yards left on beach.You can see Green Cay and see St John and St thomas only 40 miles away from beach.Bring binoculars.the food is great.$5 hamburger nite and $2 taco nite.Happy hour 4 to 6 is good m-f.Get a car.Use travelzoo website for car.Then go into Christianstad to Fort Christian Brew Pub.Also try Tamarind Beach Resort for happy hour ,2 miles towards town.great setting for a beach bar,I believe it is called the east end bar and grill.Easy drive to Point Udall.Do not allow anything visible in the car on this island.Also go to Shoy beach,2 miles towards town...pull in Bucaneer....go to gate on the right...security will let you in ...no charge....you will feel like royalty...this beach will be your own.My wife and I took food and our favorite beverage when we vacation.We had a very nice meal with our very own beach.It is very safe and you will truly feel you own it.Chenay Beach is lovely also.The seclusion of shoy is nice once and awhile.There is a what I call an anthony bourdain place rt 70 and 75.La Rainne...there is a police station and a mcdonalds there...but just across from pizza hut is the Chicken Shack.... a must.... puerto rican cooks.chicken,mahi mahi,pork...all wonderfull...and a nice bar to wash down the goodies.Enjoy the Island and if you follow a few pointers in my review....your trip will be enhanced.By the way I am Sicilian and we know how to live.And so do many others on this planet besides Sicilians.And one more thing to say...Our Maker painted this Island well.There are breathtaking scenes on your way to Point Udall.Christopher Columbus must have had a blast when he pulled up on his ship in 1493.And he was a person who appreciated the handy work of our Maker.Read his log sometime...about the sea life he saw he stated...." the eye does not tire of what I behold" making reference to the abundance of sea life jumping out of the water form every direction.Good Day .Pueblo Store has good wine prices.corner of 75 and 70....take scenic route ...to La Rainne...dip down towards divi...quickly from chenay...it is easy more scenic and no traffic.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the 5 nights in our private suite. It was roomy, well apointed and comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. We enjoyed the restaurant for several meals and the bay had the best snorkling on the island! I did not wnt to leave.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
4.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
3.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
3.7 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chenay Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.