We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE CRIED!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WE CRIED!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

When we had to leave!

The Palms was simply PERFECT for us and we would go back in a heartbeat if $$$$ allowed!

We arrived the last weekend of April (seems impossible it was so long ago . . . memories seem so recent) and stayed for a week. Since we were there to get married we paid extra for the special "Two of Us" package and were thus afforded a cab (van) ride all to ourselves which meant no intervening stops. Arrival and checking were absolutely painless and were soon in our room (#5). It was a ground floor two queen unit which opened right onto the beach . . . I mean we could get feet wet in 50 feet!!!

The room had rose petals spread over the beds and chilled champagne waiting along with beautiful cut flowers . . . Patti was in heaven instantly. We just chilled that Saturday and Sunday until we could get a rental car on Monday. By chilled I mean we layed out on the beach, swam, snorkeled, had a few drinks at the open air bar and simply let big city life ooooooze from our bodies into the sand. ALL the staff, I emphasize ALL the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and we instantly felt comfortable will them.

This place is the polar opposite of the big, highly organized and impersonal resorts like you see on Cancun which was precisely what we wanted! If you need constant pampering, drink service on the beach, pretty cabanas and immediate access to droning jet skis this is NOT your place. The Palms epitomizes the concept of "island time" to their very great credit!

A bit about the beach . . . some have said this is not a place for a beach vacation and we couldn't disagree more! Yes, there are reefs very close to shore but in front of the main complex the bottom was fine and the swimming great! With the reef so close the snorkeling is great, and after having the famous (infamous :) Mitch showing us around the reef (during which he takes pics with his underwater camera) it was even better! After Mitch took just the two of us out for a night snorkel it was perfect!!!! When Patti came up out of the water her grin was so heartfelt and honest it was simply heartwarming . . . and she still grins to this day every time I mention it. Mitch enabled her to actually (most gently) hold an octopus as well as several other small creatures and being able to see them in the natural world was just icing on the cake! It was great to relax on the patio while watching Patti snorkel directly in front of the room, not sure where else that would even be possible.

I would be totally remiss to not mention a bit more about Mitch . . . man of many skills and as personable and fun as anyone you would ever want to meet! Besides the pics he takes while snorkeling (which he then puts on a DVD for you to keep), he also is a masterful tour guide on dry land; and he also makes a heck of a wedding witness when we dragged him away from his lawn trimming duties to be a witness at our very small, intimate wedding ceremony held on the beach. We absolutely wanted him to be part of the ceremony and the fact that he was covered with weed eater clippings simply added "charm" as far as we were concerned! Mitch, we miss you and hope to see you again!!!!

A few words about the wedding . . . since it was just Patti and I we wanted a very low level of formality which the Asst. General Manager, Marc went through great pains to provide! The level of effort and worry that Marc put into making sure everything met our desires was humbling to the point that we worried that he was going to wear himself out! Marc, it couldn't have been more perfect!!! From my first email to Marc weeks before we arrive to the moment we left Marc spared NO effort to make sure we were well taken care of. OBTW, Marc was also shanghaied into being a witness in the wedding even though he worried he didn't look "good enough". From the cake to the photographer to the Celebrant he arranged for our wedding was EXACTLY what we wanted thanks to Marc. Louise, the Celebrant, is the last part of the wedding story . . . our initial meeting, scheduled for a few minutes turned into a 2 hour session by the pool with someone we felt became an instant part of our family. WE had a wonderful conversation about who we were, and what we thought we wanted. She seemed to instantly understand our desire for an intimate but spiritual ceremony and intently listened while offering suggestions and ideas. The result was the perfect ceremony that we will never forget! The wedding picture of the 5 of us together; Louise looking wonderful in her flowing skirt, Mitch covered with clippings, Marc , and the two of us is one our favorites and will soon be hanging on our wall!

Many others have written about Monday Caribbean night so we well just echo what they have said and say it is a "don't miss" . . . especially with Mitch out there dancing :) Mitch also guided many of our fellow beach bums to the "Jump Up" festival on the water in Christianstead. It was a hoot and was a lot of fun! Oh, the Tuesday evening movie on the beach, also put on by Mitch was great fun!

Our travels around the island while driving on the left are also a pleasant memory . . . sure we got lost a few times, drove down some goat track dirt roads, and constantly repeated the mantra "stay left, stay left" but all in all it was just part of the adventure. Since we had completely embraced "island time" we simply never felt any pressure to be anywhere at any given time.

I'm sure I've left some items out but we can without reservation recommend the Palms facility and more importantly the staff! Go there with the intention of embracing island time and you will have a great time!! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 5 was great. It was ground floor with immediate access to the beach. Top floor rooms probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    151
    34
    15
    19
See reviews for
196
433
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Palms was just our style. Not ostentatious yet very enjoyable. The food was delicious and the portions were perfect. We visited during the first week in April at the end of the popular season which was perfect.
One tip: Don't sit under the palm trees at poolside unless you don't mind having a "friend" literally drop in on you! (See pictures). Mr Iguana landed 6 inches behind my lounge chair and I'm sure the shrieks were heard in Christiansted! One more tip: take your GPS with you if you are renting a car at the airport. It's a tricky place to find without one.
Rooms were clean, large and the bed was very comfortable. (Same pillow top as home).
Soooooo, good food, clean room, comfortable bed, quiet surroundings and friendly staff. What more could you ask for?
Try them out. We'll go back for sure.

Room Tip: top floor offers more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We learned that the #1 rated hotel does not mean the nicest. The service was great, the food was very good and inexpensive, the rooms all have beautiful views, and Mitch is super nice and very helpful. But, be warned, the beach is tiny and rocky, and swimming is dangerous among the shallow coral. Snorkeling should only be done with Mitch, as the route in/out of the beach to avoid scraping on coral can be downright dangerous if there is any current (which there usually is). The rooms are fairly clean but sparse. It may not mean much to others, but we were also disappointed that the view is narrowly north, so you will not see any sunset or sunrise. We moved to the Buccaneer which is big and more expensive but very comfortable with 3 usable beaches (but still no sunset/sunrise views).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGroove, Manager at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We appreciate you staying with us at The Palms and for taking the time to comment on your recent visit.

Every Guest of course has different expectations as to what they want to experience on their vacation and their stay here with us. And almost everyone coming to the island has looked at the Guest reviews on Trip Advisor regarding The Palms and the many other resorts. TA is an excellent source of information for most anything you want to know about a resort, and it certainly helps to reduce surprises when you reach your vacation spot.

Our beach has been commented on many times, and while it is not huge, there is still lots of sand, sun, and coconut palms stretched over eight acres and a quarter mile of beachfront. Most of our Guests find that to be plenty, particularly considering that we are a smaller, more intimate, resort and the beach is almost never very busy. And our beach has been recognized internationally as the only Blue Flag beach on St. Croix. It has a lot going for it, including some of the best snorkeling on the island. While there are currents offshore, you’ll find that all reefs have currents. They are what make the reef so wonderful by bringing in food for all the marine critters. We know the water movement well and we share the knowledge with our guests – we even have it depicted on our beach sign. We offer complimentary snorkel tours, with all the gear, for our guests to introduce them to the reef and its critters, and to help them enjoy snorkeling even more when on their own. And many, including ourselves, comfortably snorkel the reef every day. Some less experienced snorkelers may choose to not go out by themselves. No problem, we are happy to accompany them at their request. That is what we do.

With regard to the room views, most of our Guests find them to be among the best on island - right on the water, with an occasional coconut palm and brown pelican accentuating the view. And since our beach faces northeast, our guests are most mornings treated to a stunning sunrise to greet the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently returned from a wonderful week in St. Croix, USVI. We traveled with The Hurricane Hunters, who were working to get set for hurricane season, which starts next month. We are retired military, which qualifies us for that. We booked our rooms at The Palms based on the high rating of TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed. Everybody from the GM, Juli, on down did everything they could have done to make our stay special. Every question or request received an instant response. Mitch made sure we had an enjoyable experience with the amazing shows and snorkeling experience. Our rooms was on the beach, and I mean ON the beach. When we stepped off of our patio we were in the sand and only a few feet from the water and beautiful palm trees. We plan to go back in December and will try to stay there. Thanks TripAdvisor for the reference!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, but there are no bad rooms. The second floor would just perhaps give a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Palms is wonderful. An active family, we appreciated the many options. Snorkeled after being taught in the pool. Our evening snorkel by flashlight was unreal. Chuck, the owner, geared us up with reef suits, wet suits and even gloves. Mitch, a wonder, led the snorkeling expeditions and Thursday walk. Saw octopus, rays, sea cucumber and a green turtle! We used our masks and fins throughout our week at other snorkeling sites. Loved the the history and flora walk through the neighborhood (learned many local flowers and trees) and sugar plantation. Visited Miss Rita, who shared sugar cane, a sweet ripe banana and a mango. Delightful Crucian woman. The Nature Conservancy, who owns the sugar plantation, is working to reinvigorate the coral reef. The snorkeling and hike were documented by photos provided on CD soon after the events! Pool is pristine. We swam nearly every day and lounged in the shade often. Nice ping pong table next to the pool. Loved the poolside visits of three iguanas- there are always lots of geckos. We enjoyed Caribbean Night- the moko jumbies were fascinating. Kiki and the Flaming Gypsies felt like something out of ancient Rome!

Buffet at Caribbean Night was good. Crucian rice and beans, yummy mahi-mahi, good ribs and desserts were excellent. Best Johnny cakes on the island. $25 for guests/ $30 for others a bargain. Food was good at the Palms. Reasonably priced. Pizza good. Burgers and fries- we often could not finish a portion. The bar serves good drinks. Beer felt inexpensive. We chose to eat often at the Palms.

We liked our room a lot. After our long trip my wife and I enjoyed our drink "on the house" and appreciated the small bottle of Cruzan rum which accompanied the Coke in the fridge. We chilled in the room often. Two comfortable queen beds. Refrigerator enabled us to enjoy juice, beer, snacks at our leisure. Waking up to sunrise- Northeast facing- and lounging in our chaises on the shady porch in the evening was a treat. Bathroom was nice. Stone tiled shower.

We loved the Palms. Everyone was friendly and helpful. It is evident that the staff like working at the Palms. If this sounds like your kind of place- go! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #17. Lovely stone tiled shower. Comfortable queen beds. Sunrise facing porch- two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Spent 6 days at The Palms, not nearly long enough. The most beautiful venue for a perfect wedding. All of the staff were excellent & made our trip wonderful . A special thanks to all of them for their helpfulness & friendliness. Food was great . We also had our 89 yr. old mother in a wheel chair & everything was very accessible to her & made our trip much easier.Thank you everyone . See you again soon. Denny & Sue

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Resort was beautiful. Very laid back & relaxing atmosphere. Staff was courteous and very willing to help with anything. Bartenders very informative... Food was phenomenal... Excellent! Perfect for a destination wedding, romantic vacation for two, or family vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.