We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best snorkeling on St Croix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Altadena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling on St Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have been coming to St Croix every year for 29 years; The Palms wins! It has the most beautiful beach and snorkeling on St Croix are here at Pelican Cove. Great service, great food that our picky kids even love, great views, incredible experience here.The resort is just beautiful and the large schools of fish are, too.

[Warning: don't try to navigate the rip tide without a guide here: if you are swimming alone or snorkeling alone, unless it is a windy/wavy/rough sea you can do it alone if you stay very,very close to shore. More peaceful swimming beaches are close by, just ask the staff to direct you..]

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    153
    34
    15
    19
See reviews for
199
446
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Palms for a romantic getaway vacation. The powers that be were definitely against us as we visited St. Croix, but with the resort’s owner, Chuck Fischer in our corner, we couldn’t lose.

The trip started off nicely enough. Everything was to our satisfaction and we couldn’t wait to start our tropical vacation. On our second day, we went snorkeling with the resorts owner, Chuck, who provides day and night trips free of charge for guests. We were having a great time until I was stung mercilessly by a type of jelly fish called fire coral (I’m that guy I’m sure Chuck will now tell stories about to future snorkelers). The burning of this sting lasted about 18 hours and the unrelenting pain felt like someone was holding a lighter to my knee. After getting some remedies, which didn’t help the pain, Chuck stayed with my wife and I until the late evening drinking and eating to help take our mind off of things. The internet’s advice for this sting was basically to grit your teeth and bear it.

Two days went by and we were off to our next adventure. We went horseback riding on the western side of the island. We took amazing pictures of riding horses on the beach and had a lovely time. Returning from our trip we stopped by one of the island’s beaches for a quick 5-10 minute stroll on the beach. In that time our rental car’s window was smashed and our priceless horseback riding pictures were stolen. The speed at which these criminals operate is astonishing; I am now able to joke that we were robbed by The Flash. Besides the camera, the thieves stole our cell phones and my wife’s purse along with our room key. We flagged down a passing police officer who essentially said there’s nothing that can be done. The rental car company charged me $400 for the window on top of everything.

Our vacation was ruined and my wife was in tears. What could be done to salvage this trip? At this time the staff at the Palms stepped up for us. They did not charge us for the lost room key. Stephanie at the front desk lent us her personal camera for the rest of our trip. I was stunned that she offered to do this for 2 strangers that she met then and there.
That night Chuck made it his personal mission to turn things around for us. I have never seen the owner of a resort care so much about his guests and treat us like genuine friends instead of patrons. We smoked cigars, ate, drank, jumped in the pool with our clothes on and even went for a flight in his plane. You quickly get the impression that Chuck is not in the business for the money, but rather likes having a good time and really cares about people. He comped us meals and drinks and seemed to take responsibility for us having a good time. Chuck went so far out of his way for us I couldn’t thank him enough. It was amazing. After being robbed I didn’t think we could have had fun, but somehow Chuck Fischer made it happen for us.

I highly recommend the Palms because of the experience we had with the staff. The nature hike with Mitch was great and I want to mention that because it was a highlight of the trip and I focused so much on the negatives that met us on the island. Mitch is a warm funny guy that is eager to be your friend as well as offer you excellent service. I also recommend the night snorkel with Chuck and Mitch. It was fantastic and I didn’t want to have a complex after being stung earlier in the week.
Despite the bad things that happened to us, I would return to the Palms in a heartbeat. The resort is small and in a quiet location. The owner lives in one of the suites on the resort and is one of the nicest and warmest people I have ever met. We had misfortune hit that in no way was his fault, yet he made it his mission to help us at his own cost. You won’t find an experience like The Palms anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solroed Strand, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great place to stay. Superfriendly staff, good food, nice seaside.

Beside that we found that Pelican Cove to have the best snorkling we ever found on our trip to USVI. Unfortunately its not easy to do on your own. Strong currents, high waves and rip tides makes a dangerous cocktail. But with Mitch and Chuck as tourguides you are in good and safe hands. They takes you safe through the dangerous parts - far out to the reefs. It is difficult to image that your can get better snorkling guides anywhere. The night snorkling after eels, Squids and octopus is pure magic
We highly recommend this great and friendly place
Sine, Peter and Sarah, Denmark

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our honeymoon here over the week of Thanksgiving and it was phenomenal from start to finish!

We purchased the Passions Package and it was chock full of stuff for us to do and enjoy throughout the week. From the moment we stepped out of our taxi and walked to the front desk, we were well taken care of. This is also when we first met Mitch, but I'll get back to that. We picked up our keys and were carted off to our roof top suite. The view was amazing and wonderful to wake up to each day.

Chuck, the owner was quick to introduce himself and welcome us to the island. This definitely set the vibe of this place as a laid back, family friendly area. Yes, most island resorts are like this, but not with such high level customer service and genuine interest in how you are doing, or where you're from! We felt very appreciated, to sum things up.

The restaurant was awesome and the seating is right next to the beach - great views, no matter where you sit. The menu options were extensive and we had trouble deciding what to order, as everything sounded great. Our first night, we had a romantic dinner on the beach and the staff went out of their way to make it special - we were even serenaded by Mitch (ha!) The next day, we did a half day ride out to Buck Island, where we snorkeled with Big Beard Tours. The Palms made all reservations for us and coordinated all events we took part in (as part of our package)! The following day, we relaxed around the grounds and Mitch was nice enough to drive us up to Food Town to pick up some essentials.

Thanksgiving Day was filled with activity and we started things off with a morning hike with Mitch, where we were able to try fresh fruits and tour a nearby Sugar Cane/Rum plantation. Miss Rita was awesome and welcomed us onto her property to share even more St. Croix goodness with us. We made it back in time for Thanksgiving dinner and it was probably some of the closest home-cooked food I've ever had for a buffet. We stuffed ourselves silly, but still made it out to a sunset cruise. When we returned, we barely made it back in time to join Chuck and Mitch for a night snorkel trip. This was AMAZING! My wife was able to hold an octopus and several porcupine fish. We picked up some great footage during this trip. Chuck was nice enough to welcome us in for a drink and treat us to dinner afterwards, making things extra special. We truly appreciated this experience, Chuck! Mitch did a great job, too, manning the camera and providing his expertise along the way. This was probably our favorite part of the week and it was so unexpected!

On Friday, we took part in an Island Tour via Sweeny's and it was so-so. Partially because most of the main attractions were empty or shut down due to the holiday. Friday night was much different - Mitch drove a group of us down to the island event, Jump Up! He gave up his personal time to show us around and even bought us some VI-specific foods to try. Mitch also got us all to dance and we had a great time! Where else can you have this type of experience??! I've never been to a resort and had the manager, or even the owner, walk over to me and bring me out on a private trip - we heard this was common at The Palms due to Chuck and Mitch's (and the rest of the staff's) generosity and genuine joy for their jobs.

Sadly, we had to leave on Saturday and the desk was nice enough to bring a taxi to us (thanks Maurice!) so there was zero issue departing. Again, I cannot express the appreciation we have for the staff and thank you so very much for making our honeymoon extra special! I do not think any other place in the world would have done so much for us! We will definitely continue referring folks to you and hope to return some time in the near future! Until then!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is an Excellent place to stay when visiting St Croix. Everyone at the Hotel makes a genuine effort to guarantee an excellent stay. My wife and I vacationed at the Palms and were delighted by the service and friendliness by all.

Monday nights are a must be there experience for The Caribbean Night Party.
The Restaurant and Bar are great. The food and drinks exceed expectations. (Try the French Fries without fail. Drinks are just great))

Make sure you connect with Lewis and Mitch they can offer a great deal of assistance with everything. (Water Sports, Walking Tours etc.)

The service is very personalized to make sure you have an excellent visit. If you are visiting St Croix you want to go where the Locals go and The Palms is that place. If you need a Cab ask for Maurice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here a week over Thanksgiving 2013 and this resort hotel is the most friendly and accommodating hotel we have ever experienced! The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The guest services director, Mitch, took us on an afternoon snorkel from the beach in the front of the hotel. We also went on the Thursday morning hike with Mitch, including a walk through an old sugar mill, and a visit to Miss Rita's home, where we tasted sugar cane and several local fruits, and a walk down the beach. Mitch is full of history and stories and information about the island. The food at the hotel is great. The bartenders were very attentive, especially Ocean and Rico. We were upgraded to a rooftop suite, with an incredible balcony overlooking the crashing waves and sandy beach. The always available taxi driver, Maurice, made us feel at home as well. Be sure to go to Caribbean Night on the property on Monday nights. And don't miss the night snorkel trip! We visited several other resorts on the island, and the Palms is hands down the very best in all categories. We also attended Jump Up with Mitch, on his day off. It was truly the highlight of our trip to have a local treat us like family. Thank you Mitch! (and Chuck!!)

Room Tip: Many (if not all) of the rooms face the ocean. If on the ground floor, just walk out of your room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I travelled with our son to St Croix for the first time on Nov 9th - 18th, 2013. We were staying at another property on the other side of Christiansted from The Palms. We went there on Monday night for The Caribbean Night. First - you definitely need to go to this party. The shows are first rate and a lot of fun. If you have small children take them to see the Moko Jumbies... they will pick them up - great photo moment. Kiki's show is fun to watch as well.
We went back the next day to use the beach and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. Oshun at the bar was super friendly and makes a great Cruzan Confusion (ask her to substitute the Banana for the citrus - yum!) The snorkeling off the beach is great, inner and outer reef, so relatively calm water, great for my 6 year old. We had some issues with our gear and the great staff fixed out problems so we could have fun.
Definitely ask for Mitch if you want to know what is going on. He knows the reefs like the back of his hand and can tell you exactly where to go for the best snorkeling. He also does a night snorkeling trip that should be a must do on anyone's list. One of the top experiences on our trip.
The pool is first rate, the food is good and the bartenders and wait staff friendly and accommodating.
Next time we go to St Croix we are staying at the Palms without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.