We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went Above and Beyond for our Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CheapCaribbean Expedia.com
and 4 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Went Above and Beyond for our Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had our wedding hosted at the Palms and I don't think we could have chosen a more perfect place. Chuck and his family were great...they took us on two different guided snorkeling tours (one a night tour!), gave us pictures to take home of all of the underwater shots, and even invited us to dinner. Julie and Teddy were amazing at pulling all of our wants and wishes together just in time to make our wedding perfect. Julie helped plan the event far in advance, was meticulous with details, and made suggestions for the wedding ceremony that I would not have thought of myself but made it even better....truly went above and beyond to make us feel special. I wasn't even nervous on my wedding day and I attribute most of that to them. The setting on the beach between the two palm trees was beautiful for the wedding and pictures afterwards. Even after our wedding, while we were still at St. Croix staying somewhere else, everyone at the Palms was welcoming and willing to help in whatever way they could to make sure we had a great time. That was all they cared about. I couldn't recommend a better place to stay for vacation or to host a wedding. If I had to do it all over again, would do it exactly the same way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    607
    143
    32
    13
    17
See reviews for
175
412
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Palms for a quick 3-night stay, but the experience was so wonderful I wish we’d had much longer. We currently live in Puerto Rico, so a tropical island vacation isn’t always as ‘special’ as it may be for those coming from the cold climate; however, my experience at the Palms was beyond special and this trip is by far my favorite due to the fabulous staff, breath taking scenery, great amenities and delicious food. We brought our 19-month-old son and he had a great time too! We will definitely be back!

The staff was the most friendly I’ve ever met, and the owners, Chuck and Joyce, take the time tell you about local attractions, give recommendations and overall make you feel at home. Chuck offers free snorkeling tours (day and night) right in front of the hotel and we were able to see dozens of tropical fish and starfish… we even saw a giant Moray eel! He takes underwater photos for you to help capture the moment and is very knowledgeable about the local marine life. We never felt rushed and you can tell he genuinely loves snorkeling with his guests. The wait staff, front receptionist, bar tender and cleaning crew were also exceptionally nice. During multiple meals, when my little one was acting up the server took him and walked him around the restaurant so we could enjoy our meal. He loved it and we were able to enjoy the delicious food without distraction.

The hotel rooms are all updated, including a huge walk-in shower with nature stone tile, and there’s a large balcony with a beautiful ocean view. Room service wasn’t listed, but the staff had no problem helping me decide what to order and my food was delivered very quickly. They even made items for my toddler that weren’t on the menu. The food (room service and restaurant) were so good that we found ourselves eating there for most of the meals! Each night there’s a special (including steak and lobster, prime rib) so it was difficult to choose what to order!

The surrounding neighborhood was quaint and typical of an island town--lots of chickens and roasters, some iguanas and cats--but tons of friendly people. One lady even invited us into her home when we got caught walking in the pouring rain (after a small scold for walking in the rain with a baby) and then she even let us borrow her grandson’s toys for the remainder of our trip. Very nice people.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Palms and will definitely be back. If you want a huge resort feel this may not be the place for you. If you want a beautiful, relaxing vacation surrounded by people that truly want to make your stay better--- come visit the Palms!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We decided to go to St. Croix last minute for our honeymoon. It ended being one of the best trips we have ever taken, and our experience at the Palms made the trip. The first day Chuck stopped us heading to the beach with some snorkel gear, took out a map and proceeded to plan our entire trip. He then took us on a guided snorkel! The entire staff at the Palms was great, Mitch is a great guy, extremely accommodating. Food was great. Beach was beautiful. Later in the week, Chuck and Mitch took us on a guided night snorkel. It was an amazing experience, unforgettable.
We will definitely be heading back to St. Croix, and would not think twice about staying at the Palms again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was coming to St. Croix for business, but brought my husband so that we could have some vacation, too. The Palms was recommended by my business colleagues, and what a wonderful choice it was. The Palms is not a flashy resort but it is neatly maintained and all the staff are friendly and helpful. By the end of our week, we knew many staff by name. We ate all our meals in the restaurant except one. The first night we went into Christiansted to a brew pub, which was only so-so. We are pretty picky about dining out, and all the meals at The Palms were wonderful. I loved sitting in the front row of tables in the morning, sipping coffee and hearing the waves and watching the beach action. It reminded me of times cruising on a sailboat in the Caribbean. Sunday brunch had a steel drum player for several hours - a lovely touch of island atmosphere - and the Monday night entertainment with Moko Jumbies and fire dancers was also great fun.

We took advantage of the snorkeling tours - first with Louis and then with Mitch. Both were very helpful and supportive of my husband who is not a great swimmer. They were also very informative about things to do on the island and helped us book a trip on a catamaran to Buck Island. Really can't say enough about the staff.

There were only two small disappointments. In spite of the high marks I give the restaurant, the Monday night buffet was pretty pedestrian - fried chicken, ribs, rice, mac and cheese and cole slaw. Frankly, I would have been happy to pay something for the entertainment and skip the dinner. Although the website says that all rooms have an ocean view, the balconies that face north have no breeze and are too hot to use. If you want to take advantage of the Trade Winds, book an east-facing room. Fortunately, there is air conditioning, but the unit was rather noisy.

As for the reviewer who complained about the seaweed on the beach and chickens on the hotel grounds - don't pay any attention. Seaweed is *natural* for heaven's sake. Would you complain if it was sea shells washed up? And I thought the free-roaming chickens a charming part of island life.

Room Tip: If you want to use the balcony, book an east-facing room for the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the best hotel with the best staff. Eileen would greet us every morning with a large cup of coffee and an endless supply of sugar for my husband. Pat at the front desk is so sweet and always ready to help or answer a question. Mitch is awesome, taking guests out for snorkeling and underwater pictures and nature hikes to the old rum mill. He made us feel right at home, providing a great outdoor experience we truly loved. BJ was always smiling behind the bar and impressive with his service to guest. Ocean was the best bartender, we had a great time talking and laughing with her throughout the week. We met Chuck, the owner, one evening and he took time out to talk to us for a while, checking to make sure we were being well taken care of. Julie deserves a shout out too she's the best!!

Room Tip: Ground floors have a great patio to enjoy the sunrise and coffee with an oceanfront view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I must agree with everyone's comments about this resort! And just to piggy back off the other comments, my husband and I had the most amazing time with the staff as well!!

Shame on me as I should have written this back in July 2012 after my June stay. Life and work catches back up on you too fast when your trip is over. BUT, I must give an extra special shout out to Mitch for making my anniversary night unforgettable!!

He had told my husband and I earlier in the day that he had a special dinner planned for us and to be ready at 7:00pm for his arrival to pick us up. ;). So I'm ready and waiting for my chariot...(golf cart) to pick us up and boy oh boy did Mitch and Erickson blow me away! They had a table sitting on the beach with all the trimmings, candles and tiki torches!! It was beautiful and so private and It really made me feel so special! Yes, Mitch and Erickson... Dead on!

Needless to say with that night and the other 7 days and 6 nights, that type of service and friendliness was on point. They know how to treat people and by this...we have just finalized our reservations and we will see you all again November the 2nd.. WHOOP WHOOP!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

No regrets about staying here. Lots of good snorkeling right off the beach. Its not really much of a sandy beach for relaxing and swimming. But if you have a really young kid, I did see a mom at the waters edge with her child, 1st few feet was all she needed. After that, not really a sandy bottom. The bar tenders were all GREAT. And riding in my rental car, this was the place I heard the radio on the radio-"and tonight at the Palms" etc. They have stuff going on at times that brings in locals and guests from from other hotels. Its not the Waldorf and I dont want that anyway, but the rooms were still real nice and very clean. All the staff as friendly as can be. Good food. I'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: I did request a new shower curtain-thats the only bad thing I can say otherwise I would have gave 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list