We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere...great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere...great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a very quick getaway. Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms were immaculate. Especially loved the rock wall feature if the shower and the wooden bathroom caninetry. Had a lovely dinner...particularly love their "backwards wings". (This is a twist on regular buffalo wings in that they are deep fried then dipped in blue cheese. Your dip is the hot sauce.) The beach is not a "swimming beach" but go off and explore some of the other excellent beaches on the island. Be prepared to run into an iguana or three. I was not too happy about that! Lol. All in all, a well managed property with good services and amenities. I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    153
    35
    15
    19
See reviews for
200
446
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This trip and vacation was the best ever! Made several wonderful friends. No one is a stranger at "The Palms." Personal attention to the tiniest detail given by owner Chuck Fischer. Fabulous foods and the bar tenders know how to make all the wonderful island drinks! The accommodations were 5 Star! Thanks, Chuck, for making my stay memorable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Clean, newly updated bathroom, gorgeous views out sliding glass door, walked right onto the beach from patio, (really going to miss that view) we were provided snorkel equipment and used for day and night snorkel w/ chuck ( owner). Used on our own too. Night snorkel was one of the highlights of our trip. Chuck takes underwater photos of ur adventure and then provides them to you! Thank you, chuck as I can now have photos from that awesome underwater adventure. Wait staff at restaurant and bar a pleasure. Easy walk from room to restaurant/bar and pool area. What a relaxing and lovely time we had. Met some locals and enjoyed the stories and info they had to tell us about the island of St. Croix. Here is a shout out to our friend, Tom. Pat in the front office was very helpful every time but especially after tropical storm was approaching and we needed to rent a car at last minute. Can't wait until we can return again! Hoping it is soon!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I spent our anniversary in st . Croix . We satyed at pelican cove!! The staff is amazig ( PAT, Erin, to name a few!) Its very rare you ever get to meet the owner but Chuck as well was awesome he was always around and even had a sit down with us to make sure we got the most out of our trip!! The snorkel guy was off the day we went snorkeling so it was very nice of him to take time out of his day to take us!!!! The food was amazing and its true what they say on there page everything needs its own page because it just that great!! We were very happy with everything and don't have a thing to complain about!! Will most definitely make another trip just to go stay with the awesome people and see the veiws again!!!! The Terry's!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

By reading some of the reviews, there's clearly a segment of people that can not be pleased! It is pretty clear to me that the majority can! To the naysayers, you can tell by the gas prices as you drive through town, that things are expensive here. If you were to take a little break from your self centered life and your phone texting and actually have a conversation with the locals, you could learn a lot about life on the island and just how expensive it is to live there, much less run a business there. I suggest to these people to stay in a fancy big city hotel and watch us have fun on the Travel Channel.

As far as our stay, my wife and I fell head over heels in love with it. But, we're the types that like a lot of space and enjoy the outdoors. Our room was well appointed. I can’t think of anything we needed, with the exception of some beer and bourbon. A little bottle of Rum was already in the room. We made a quick run to a local store, where you can pick up snacks, liquor, and beer! With our mini fridge stocked for the week, we were ready to explore the island.

My wife called the desk to see about getting some advice about places to visit. We met with a guy named Chuck who had plenty of information and we had our week planned out. Much of the travel information he gave to us you wouldn't find on Tripadvisor. Let me just say this, they have the same type of yahoos on the island as we do on the main land. We listened to his advice, and as they say on the island, there was "no problem."

I really liked the beach and the grounds in general. They seemed natural but there was constant cleaning and manicuring. We had a nice view of the ocean with swaying palms and blooming flowers. We enjoyed our coffee on the porch every morning and watching the resident anoles going about their business. We are really into nature. We came here to dive, but ended up doing a little hike just to soak up the island. If you’re into that type of thing, but don’t want to hike, I'd suggest grabbing a drink and walking the grounds. I especially enjoyed seeing bats in the twilight of sunset. The orange glow and the silhouette of palms was just beautiful. Did we see chickens? Yes, once. Did we have a problem with it? NO! They have gone ferral on the island, just like they have in Key West. We found them to be a novelty.

As for the food at the restaurant, we fall on the liked it side, really enjoyed breakfasts and burgers particularly! And Mat is in the bar is like a Black Belt Bartender!

As I mentioned before, we loved the place and we enjoyed the staff. Kudos to Matt, Lewis, Erin, Julie, and Chuck! We appreciated your kindness and hospitality. It is killing us to miss a quarter after 6:00!

Room Tip: I like the bottom floor myself for watching the birds and lizards etc. Great place to sip coffee in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Palms at Pelican Cove during the Fourth of July week. We booked a beach front room. It did not disappoint. Each morning we woke to the beautiful Caribbean waters, the palm trees blowing in the constant gentle breeze, not to mention the mild temp, made for a very pleasant vacation. There was even a night of entertainment, discount for the hotel guests, with dancers on stilts, fire dancers and live music. One necessity, bring mosquito repellent - they can be quite a pest.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at The Palms this summer for five nights. It was one of the most laidback, relaxing family vacations we have taken in a long time. The hotel staff, from the front desk, wait staff, bar, security and housekeeping were the most friendly, accommodating, helpful and all around enjoyable staff I have ever experienced. The beach was lovely, and right off our patio steps. The snorkeling was fantastic. It was my first experience snorkeling, and my lesson was great. My son and my husband also went night snorkeling and had an amazing time. I enjoyed walking around the grounds, which are landscaped informally with native plants. We got lots of excellent suggestions from the staff regarding day trips, hikes, activities and restaurant tips, all of which we very much enjoyed. We couldn't have asked for more. I would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.