We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Save Saved
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed four days at the Palms and it was wonderful! The thing that stands out most to me is the friendliness of the staff. They really make you feel at home, with none of the stuffiness you get at some hotels. Everyone went out of their way to help us. The room was very clean and looks just like the pictures. The hotel really is right on the beach! We read these Trip Advisor reports before going, but weren't really sure if everything would turn out like people said. It exceeded our expectations, and I would return in a heartbeat. The open-air restaurant and bar were very family-friendly, no rowdy people, just nice folks, good food, everyone just laid-back and relaxed, like a vacation should be. The staff gave good advice about other restaurants in town, got us a taxi when we needed, and were just all around so welcoming. Mitch took us snorkeling and we had a blast! He is so fun and encouraging. He taught us how to snorkel in the pool and always put safety first. We felt very comfortable in the ocean with him, and our first snorkel trip was a success. Every detail is taken care of at this hotel and you don't feel like you're bothering anyone if you ask for something or have questions. We were really delighted to stay at the Palms for our first trip to the Caribbean and the Virgin Islands. You can stay at the resorts that have been on television if you want too, but I'll tell you, you will enjoy the Palms so much more! We are very grateful to the staff for making our vacation complete with so many beautiful memories. Thank you!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms really open onto the beach and the sand. The second-floor balconies are designed s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    628
    145
    34
    14
    18
See reviews for
186
422
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A great place to stay on St Croix! The room was very nice--big and with two sinks which helps when you have two teenage girls in the family. We enjoyed the restaurant a lot also. The staff was wonderful. We enjoyed immensely the free snorkel lesson and tour of the reef by Mitch. Mitch also took us on a nice tour of the local neighborhood and nearby sugar plantation allowing us to sample the local fruits. The rest of the staff was wonderful also. Ms Pat and Ms Stephanie at the front desk went out of their way to make us feel welcome and helped us with whatever we needed. Mama G from the cleaning staff--such a friendly and happy person. The fact that she has worked there for 30ish years says a lot about the Palms. I'm sure she will be missed when she retires at the end of the year. The place has a very comfortable atmosphere. We would certainly stay here the next time we visit St Croix.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Palms for 7 nights this past June. Everything about our stay exceeded our expectations.

We were immediately made to feel welcome at the Mahogany bar by Rico, who tends bar, and Mitch, whose duties include taking guests on free snorkel tours right in front of the resort. After having traveled all day, it was wonderful to sit at the bar and listen to the waves while drinking complimentary welcome drinks and chatting with Rico and Mitch.

Our room had a king size bed and was on the ground floor with sliding glass doors that looked out to the ocean, Christiansted, and Buck Island in the distance. The room was large, spotlessly clean, and had a really beautiful bathroom with dark granite countertops, his and hers sinks, and a large shower with pretty stone walls. The water pressure was good and the water was more than hot enough. Also, the room came with complimentary Cruzan rum (several airplane bottles of flavored rum and a larger bottle of aged rum). Since the drinks at the Mahogany Bar were so delicious and were poured so generously, we didn't even get into the complimentary rum until day 6. Accordingly to the owner, Chuck, that may be a record.

We signed up for a free day snorkel with Lewis as our guide. The Palms carries good quality masks, snorkels, and fins that you can rent for free. Once we had our gear, Lewis gave us a snorkeling refresher in the pool before we set out into ocean directly in front of the Palms. We didn't have an underwater camera, but that was fine since Lewis brought out the hotel camera. It was amazing how right in front of the resort there is a large reef system and so many beautiful fish. That first day we saw pufferfish, porcupine fish, and many brightly colored tropical fish.

Chuck, whom I mentioned previously, offers to take guests out on night snorkel trips (also free). The night snorkel experience goes like this. You pick up your snorkel gear from the front desk, and then at 6:15PM you walk to Chuck's house which is something like 30 feet from the front desk. There he offers you bourbon or rum with a few choices of mixers and if you are feeling up to it, a cigar. Then you sit on his porch (a couple dozen feet from the ocean) with a cigar in one hand, rum in the other, and watch the sun set in the Caribbean while you chat. Once it gets darker, you get the run down of what to sea creatures to expect, where the dicey currents are, etc. When it is good and dark, you don a wet suit and are given an underwater LED flashlight. Chuck also brings the hotel's underwater camera. The first time we did the night snorkel we saw porcupine fish, a Caribbean reef crab, a common octopus, and various tropical fish. We were thrilled and had such an awesome time that we decided to do another night snorkel a few days later. We repeated the whole above process and this time went for a significantly more challenging snorkel. The second time time we were actually able to cradle and interact with a Caribbean reef octopus! With Chuck and the others at the Palms, you know that they love what they do. It makes your own experience that much more fun when you know they are having a good time right along with you.

Lewis really exceeded our expectations in a big way. Because of the phase of the moon, the kayak companies that take people out to Salt River Bay weren't operating while we were in St. Croix. When Lewis overheard us talking about how disappointed we were that we wouldn't be able to see the bioluminescence in the Bay, he said, "well I have some kayaks in the back of my truck, I'll take you." Wow, that was one awesome night. We highly recommend that you do the bioluminescent night kayak.

The food at the Palms was all really delicious and generously portioned. I especially liked to order from the bar menu that had some stellar appetizers (i.e. portobello mushroom fries) and entrees (i.e. the Bar Pie). The servers were attentive and friendly. Maybe the best part, however, was the view during dinner with the Caribbean sunset and the waves crashing only a couple dozen feet away.

The Palms is very close to Christiansted and taxi fare is inexpensive. However, if you want to go to Point Udall (the easternmost part of the U.S.) or Fredericksted you might want to rent a car. Pat and Stephanie at the front desk are very friendly and happy to help you set up your excursions, rent a car, call a taxi, etc. Finally, when you leave, they will hand you a DVD with your pictures from the underwater camera.

I don't often write reviews, but the staff at the Palms deserve every bit of credit for this 5 star review. My wife and I loved our experience and appreciated the personal touch the staff provided. We are already talking about coming back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We've just returned from our second stay at the Palms at Pelican Cove. We love it there!

We stayed for nine days and savored our time on the property and on Saint Croix. My husband is well-traveled in the Caribbean and he appreciates these aspects of the Palms: a good value for your money, clean rooms, and friendly service. We had a car when staying there and enjoyed visiting the botanical garden, two historical plantations, Point Udall, and attending the Anglican church. We loved exploring the island, tasting local cuisine, and looking at the flora and fauna. It was relaxing the days we decided to simply stay on The Palms property, soak up the sun, dine at the restaurant, snorkel right off of the property, and admire the landscaping including a very long walkway with towering palm trees on both sides.

On Monday nights there is a fun party at The Palms; my husband admired the skill of Kiki and the Flaming Gypsies and I had a blast dancing with the Mocko Jumbies.

We'd like to send a special "thank you" to Julie (the manager), Marco (grounds), and all of the fine staff at the Palms. You have a beautiful hotel there and you do such a good job of taking care of your guests. We look forward to visiting with you again next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Much more than excellent!!! I chose The Palms after two months of Internet reviews. Our stay was unbelievable! Every food item we tried was simply the best! Our room was immaculate each day and the view was spectacular! Chuck, the hotel owner is so personable and always available. He even guides the night snorkeling! All the staff at The Palms are so very friendly and helpful! While we enjoyed our tours and excursions on St. Croix, I would have been content to just stay at The Palms all week! I highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place. Everyone was so willing to make sure we had everything we needed and was having a good time. The guided night snorkeling was the best. Got to hold an octopus and saw a nice size crab. Also went snorkeling during the day and saw so many colorful fish and a nice size stingray. An experience I will never forget !!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

So lovely to stay in a small locally run hotel where personal service is a huge priority. Mitch did everything possible to help us plan an exciting and perfect vacation. He took us snorkeling twice, explained all about the history of St. Croix and taught us all about the marine life. He couldn't do enough for us and we highly recommend his day and night guided snorkeling trips. The location of the hotel is excellent, close proximity to Christiansted and many local restaurants and other beaches. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and a good size. The food was good, and the Caribbean evening was excellent entertainment and lots of fun. We had a memorable and very relaxing stay at the Palms and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.