We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay at the Palms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Save Saved
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Rural Retreat, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay at the Palms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Being able to go to St. Croix is always a wonderful experience, but the staff at The Pelican Bay made it an AMAZING experience. A lot of reviews nail the perks like the great rooms and hotel restaurant, but also points out the only negative which would be the very unfriendly beach directly in front of the resort. The beach problem is alleviated with a short 5 minute walk up the beach toward Christiansted. Our most favorite Cruzan staff member, Mitch, took the time on his day off to teach us how to snorkel and then gave us an 1.5 hour guided snorkeling tour. He also gives a guided tour of the surrounding area. I could never say enough about Mitch, he is just an all around amazing guy and my wife and I think of him as a very good friend. At the hotel bar, Trish and Dave, always went above and beyond to make sure we were happy with our drinks and food. Even one of the security guards, Eddie, was always so helpful. Everyone there calls you by your first name and is always so appreciative that you stayed at The Palms. When we were there they had just had a transition in restaurant management. The service and food was excellent. We loved how the staff would take the time to sit with us and get to know us.

Even though I have never stayed anywhere else in St. Croix, I could never imagine staying anywhere else truly because of the staff. Thanks for making our stay incredibly memorable

Eric and Amanda Hudgins
Stayed late December 2012

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    636
    147
    34
    14
    19
See reviews for
192
427
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This resort lived up to and surpassed all my expectations. We were greeted at the front desk by Pat who was very quick to get us to the lounge to relax with a drink while our bags were whisked away to our room. When we got to our room we were greeted by a beautiful room with sliding doors that lead right to the ocean. The view was incredible. We ate almost every meal at the Palms restaurant and found out they have an award winning chef on site. Well it was proven in the food which was always wonderful. We could not have been happier with the resort and the service. When we needed something all we had to do was ask. We met the owner (Chuck) our first morning having coffee and he is wonderful. He gave us snorkeling lessons in the pool and then took us snorkeling for quite some time. He even offered to take pictures and give them to us on a CD. Do not hesitate to choose this family friendly, warm and inviting resort. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our stay at the Palms surpassed our vacation expectations. This was the first time to visit anywhere in the Caribbean. The owner and his staff are devoted to their hotel and treated us as friends from the minute we arrived. We loved the beautiful ocean view from our room and the comfortable porch. The guided snorkeling trips we're amazing! Mitch and Chuck showed us the unbelievable underwater world just offshore from the hotel. The swimming pool was very big and clean, and warm. The restaurant and bar are right on the beach, such a nice setting. The food is delicious and abundant. Hopefully, we will be coming back here soon, I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Room #8 was GREAT, good views...just walk 20 feet to the ocean's edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Driving up to the resort (and it was only a 40 room resort so quite small), we were a bit dismayed by the neighborhood surrounding it and the low key not upscale entranceway. In general the Palms was a good resort, the front desk staff, and Mitch the snorkel/tour guide were great resources and did an excellent job and were always willing to help out, answer a question. The rooms were decent, we saw one small roach and a hair in the bathtub, but overall for what we paid, the place was good. I will likely try a different hotel next time if only for the restaurant's poor service. The food at the restaurant (and you will have to eat at the restaurant unless you rented a car - which we highly recommend) was decent, but the service was spotty. We found that for the prices they charged (fairly expensive), great food and great service was a requirement, alas, this was not to be the case. Running out of bread and the daily special and offering no alternative for either was a great disappointment. We found ourselves paying the $10 cab ride to Christiansted for dinner and it was worth it. We highly recommend Kendrick's for dinner. I haven't had food that fabulous in a long time. Well worth the money. Avoid Fredricksted if you can, unless you like marijuana and the housing projects, it is a bit sketchy of an area. Our favorite destinations turned out to be Point Udall, St. Croix Yacht Club, Cane Bay and Christiansted.

Room Tip: From what we could see all rooms look to be ocean front, i would double check with the resort before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
The Palms is located central island north shore. Condominiums border us on the east, and another resort and more condos on the west. A working class neighborhood borders us on the south; we know many of the families that live there. Their ancestors settled these islands hundreds of years ago and they now invite us here with smiles and friendship - we are proud to call them neighbors. Spending time visiting with them, and many of them do visit us here at The Palms, can be one of most enjoyable and educational aspects of visiting our resort and St. Croix. Our restaurant can get quite busy at times and that is when we may run out of specials and our kitchen/wait staff become stretched. We do our best, but even so we get surprised occasionally with unusually large turnouts. Our menu prices may on average be a little higher than on the mainland, but most everything does have to be imported. And compared to other local restaurants our prices should be right in line. Thank you for your nice comments on our staff and rooms, and for your review; our people do try hard to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I traveled to St Croix for the first time last month. We had never been before and were traveling there to celebrate a wedding with close friends. Before we met up with the wedding group we wanted to relax and enjoy our time away from our busy life and our children. We chose The Palms because we wanted to be on the water and didn't want to cook or clean! Our room was perfectly located on the water with our own private deck equipped with lounge chairs for viewing the sea. When we checked in the staff was very accommodating and saw us to our room. The bed was pretty comfortable (not like home), but I did sleep better than I have in months. The bathrooms were clean and the shower was updated with new stone walls. There is a mini fridge in the air conditioned bedroom (so pick up a few items on your way there). The restaurant food was very good. We ate most of our meals there and were happy every time. The staff is incredibly friendly. I was lucky enough to go snorkeling with Mitch. He takes a group out everyday, but on the day I went, I was the only one. He was very knowledgeable about the wildlife in the sea. Chuck the owner was very gracious and kind. We left feeling refreshed and ready for the wedding festivities at another location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose The Palms because I had read it was a great place for families on multiple websites. My husband and I ventured there with our 2 year old and we were not disappointed. The hotel itself is serene, peaceful and relaxing. You are greeted warmly and are made to feel comfortable from the beginning. The entire staff from the housekeeping to the waiters to the owners go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying yourself. We were there for a week and felt as if we could have stayed longer. The snorkeling was amazing!!! Upon leaving I left my iphone at the restaurant and I did not notice until I was about to board my plane. We called the resort and they shipped it to me that same day and did not charge me, you can't ask for better customer service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Although the hotel is slightly run-down looking, the setting on a beautiful beach is gorgeous. Food at hotel restaurant was adequate. Room was quite lovely, with a very comfortable bed. Amenities leave something to be desired (runny shampoo, stiff towels), but all in all a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for noticing and sharing your thoughts on our resort with us. Over the last number of years we have been continuing our move towards becoming a more environmentally friendly green resort. This contributes to a more natural setting, with targeted manicuring. It is better for our resident wildlife (Sea Turtles, Iguanas, Mongoose, Night Herons, Hermit Crabs, etc.) and we certainly enjoy it more; many of our guests have also made positive comments. Our three Groundskeepers (Norbert, Kenrick and Jose) do a fantastic job and are focused on ensuring the grounds are clean, neat and comfortable. We also made a significant move on our bath amenities as you well pointed out. We provide locally (St. Croix) manufactured products - Shampoo, Conditioner, Body Wash, Body Lotion and Bar Soap - called Itiba (Mother Earth). They are luxurious (and expensive), but are completely natural, plant-based skin care products with a fresh floral fragrance. Ingredients listed include Aloe Vera, Jojoba, Avocado, Coconut and Palm Oils, with no animal products, fillers or parabens (that's why you noticed the shampoo appears runny). The cotton towels in your room were brand new and manufactured by 1888 Mills. On your next visit, I'm sure you will notice how they have aged softly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.