We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and beautiful stay at The Palms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 NIGHTS FREE!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
“Relaxing and beautiful stay at The Palms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I traveled to St Croix for the first time last month. We had never been before and were traveling there to celebrate a wedding with close friends. Before we met up with the wedding group we wanted to relax and enjoy our time away from our busy life and our children. We chose The Palms because we wanted to be on the water and didn't want to cook or clean! Our room was perfectly located on the water with our own private deck equipped with lounge chairs for viewing the sea. When we checked in the staff was very accommodating and saw us to our room. The bed was pretty comfortable (not like home), but I did sleep better than I have in months. The bathrooms were clean and the shower was updated with new stone walls. There is a mini fridge in the air conditioned bedroom (so pick up a few items on your way there). The restaurant food was very good. We ate most of our meals there and were happy every time. The staff is incredibly friendly. I was lucky enough to go snorkeling with Mitch. He takes a group out everyday, but on the day I went, I was the only one. He was very knowledgeable about the wildlife in the sea. Chuck the owner was very gracious and kind. We left feeling refreshed and ready for the wedding festivities at another location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    156
    37
    16
    19
See reviews for
205
459
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose The Palms because I had read it was a great place for families on multiple websites. My husband and I ventured there with our 2 year old and we were not disappointed. The hotel itself is serene, peaceful and relaxing. You are greeted warmly and are made to feel comfortable from the beginning. The entire staff from the housekeeping to the waiters to the owners go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying yourself. We were there for a week and felt as if we could have stayed longer. The snorkeling was amazing!!! Upon leaving I left my iphone at the restaurant and I did not notice until I was about to board my plane. We called the resort and they shipped it to me that same day and did not charge me, you can't ask for better customer service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Although the hotel is slightly run-down looking, the setting on a beautiful beach is gorgeous. Food at hotel restaurant was adequate. Room was quite lovely, with a very comfortable bed. Amenities leave something to be desired (runny shampoo, stiff towels), but all in all a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for noticing and sharing your thoughts on our resort with us. Over the last number of years we have been continuing our move towards becoming a more environmentally friendly green resort. This contributes to a more natural setting, with targeted manicuring. It is better for our resident wildlife (Sea Turtles, Iguanas, Mongoose, Night Herons, Hermit Crabs, etc.) and we certainly enjoy it more; many of our guests have also made positive comments. Our three Groundskeepers (Norbert, Kenrick and Jose) do a fantastic job and are focused on ensuring the grounds are clean, neat and comfortable. We also made a significant move on our bath amenities as you well pointed out. We provide locally (St. Croix) manufactured products - Shampoo, Conditioner, Body Wash, Body Lotion and Bar Soap - called Itiba (Mother Earth). They are luxurious (and expensive), but are completely natural, plant-based skin care products with a fresh floral fragrance. Ingredients listed include Aloe Vera, Jojoba, Avocado, Coconut and Palm Oils, with no animal products, fillers or parabens (that's why you noticed the shampoo appears runny). The cotton towels in your room were brand new and manufactured by 1888 Mills. On your next visit, I'm sure you will notice how they have aged softly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a great time. Mitch was great in taking my husband and me snorkeling. Room was right on the beach. Very quiet, unpretentious, and just what we were looking for. We also liked our boat trip to Buck Island, very worth while. Cane Bay was excellent for snorkeling. Caribbean night was entertaining. Service at the restaurant was hit or miss, but the drinks were the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Truly a gem in St Croix! No manicured lawns here. Just great location, private beach, clean rooms and very knowledgable staff. One of the most pleasant trips ever, made all the better by all the folks here, from check-in, bar & wait staff were very attentive , and Mitch the personal on- staff tour guide & island fun expert! Very private beach & large pool. Great snorkeling directly from the beach? All very casual, down to earth, relaxing great time........we will be back!

Room Tip: We prefer 2nd floor for the view. 1st floor has direct beach access. All rooms have amazing breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Palms at Pelican Cove for 1 week in mid- April. We were traveling with a four year old and a 6 month old baby. We found the hotel extremely family friendly. Our four year old spent the entire time in the pool. We found the food to be extremely good. Almost everything we tried was delicious, the Carribean Night on Monday night is a must, the food was very good and the entertainment was fun. The Moko Jumbies (men on stilts) was a huge hit for the 4 year old. This small family run resort is seated right on the ocean. It is perfect for the views and if you like snorkeling there is a good reef right offshore. The location is too far to walk to most things, thus we had to get a taxi to and from town ($12 each way). Well worth the visit a few times, the old fort in Christiansted is fun to roam around and there are very good restuarants in town as well. On Thurs nights there is an Art Walk which is fun to go attend...most stores and galleries provide wine and cheese, it is nice to browse the different galleries. The most favorite thing about our room was the patio that was a few feet from the ocean. Amazing views to wake up to every morning. The staff was extremely kind and very attentive. There are mosquitoes, so bring repellent, it was a life saver for me...they preferentially feed on me. Things I did not know before I came, they drive on the oposite side of the road, be aware of this if you plan on renting a car. We did not rent a car this time around, but on our next visit we will do so. Overall the vacation was truly relaxing and we loved our time at the Palms and will return again, hopefully next May for their 1/2 Iron Man. Kids will love this resort!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7, on the ground floor, good room for kids since we had a stroller most of the tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a great place for the whole family! Carribean night was really fun with the Mocca Jumbies, fire dancers, limbo for the kids and a great local band. The food and service from the staff was exceptional. The palms is set on a beautiful beach surrounded by palm trees and crystal clear seas. The highlight was when the owner, Chuck, took us on a night snorkel. We saw octopus, starfish, eels, and other sea critters... all at night with underwater flashlights. My children had never snorkeled before and Chuck treated us like family and made it a great experience for them. Now all they want to do is snorkel! Thank you for the experience, the whole family loved it. We will definatly go back to the Palms the next time we visit St. Croix.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We all had such a fun time while you were here. There is so much to do that it can be difficult to get it all in. But you guys did a great job of that. The night snorkels are one of my favorite things to do here on St. Croix. The day snorkels are wonderful as well, but going into the water at night with just a flashlight definitely adds another dimension. Different critters such as those you mentioned and more come out at night and you can get up close and personal with them. And just that much more is added to the enjoyment when you have kids that have never experienced the underworld environment before; their eyes and minds just open right up. Doesn't get much better than that. Thank you so much for visiting with us and we will certainly have a room waiting for you on your next trip to St. Croix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.