We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Croix Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Save Saved
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“St. Croix Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Palms at Pelican Cove for 1 week in mid- April. We were traveling with a four year old and a 6 month old baby. We found the hotel extremely family friendly. Our four year old spent the entire time in the pool. We found the food to be extremely good. Almost everything we tried was delicious, the Carribean Night on Monday night is a must, the food was very good and the entertainment was fun. The Moko Jumbies (men on stilts) was a huge hit for the 4 year old. This small family run resort is seated right on the ocean. It is perfect for the views and if you like snorkeling there is a good reef right offshore. The location is too far to walk to most things, thus we had to get a taxi to and from town ($12 each way). Well worth the visit a few times, the old fort in Christiansted is fun to roam around and there are very good restuarants in town as well. On Thurs nights there is an Art Walk which is fun to go attend...most stores and galleries provide wine and cheese, it is nice to browse the different galleries. The most favorite thing about our room was the patio that was a few feet from the ocean. Amazing views to wake up to every morning. The staff was extremely kind and very attentive. There are mosquitoes, so bring repellent, it was a life saver for me...they preferentially feed on me. Things I did not know before I came, they drive on the oposite side of the road, be aware of this if you plan on renting a car. We did not rent a car this time around, but on our next visit we will do so. Overall the vacation was truly relaxing and we loved our time at the Palms and will return again, hopefully next May for their 1/2 Iron Man. Kids will love this resort!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7, on the ground floor, good room for kids since we had a stroller most of the tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    637
    148
    34
    14
    19
See reviews for
192
429
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a great place for the whole family! Carribean night was really fun with the Mocca Jumbies, fire dancers, limbo for the kids and a great local band. The food and service from the staff was exceptional. The palms is set on a beautiful beach surrounded by palm trees and crystal clear seas. The highlight was when the owner, Chuck, took us on a night snorkel. We saw octopus, starfish, eels, and other sea critters... all at night with underwater flashlights. My children had never snorkeled before and Chuck treated us like family and made it a great experience for them. Now all they want to do is snorkel! Thank you for the experience, the whole family loved it. We will definatly go back to the Palms the next time we visit St. Croix.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We all had such a fun time while you were here. There is so much to do that it can be difficult to get it all in. But you guys did a great job of that. The night snorkels are one of my favorite things to do here on St. Croix. The day snorkels are wonderful as well, but going into the water at night with just a flashlight definitely adds another dimension. Different critters such as those you mentioned and more come out at night and you can get up close and personal with them. And just that much more is added to the enjoyment when you have kids that have never experienced the underworld environment before; their eyes and minds just open right up. Doesn't get much better than that. Thank you so much for visiting with us and we will certainly have a room waiting for you on your next trip to St. Croix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Palms is beautiful - lush blooming greenery and palm trees! Our view from our room was wonderful! The friendly staff did an outstanding job making us feel welcome. Mitch even took us on a just-off-shore snorkle and took underwater photos for us! The beach is rocky- nice to look at but hard on the feet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is one of the more difficult reviews I've ever done! The Palms is a very charming small resort; however, there are several areas that could use improvement to earn a five star rating.

CONS: The restaurant was mediocre and the kitchen and servers were very slow and indifferent. (Therefore, we drove to dinner most evenings and enjoyed many outstanding restaurants that are near the resort.) Pillows need to be replaced and additional outlets added to the rooms. Internet was hit or miss in most locations. The beach was rocky and not good for walking or swimming.

PROS: The rooms were clean, spacious, and well appointed on the beach! Small refrigerators in the rooms were a great addition to the amenities. Mitch, Louis, Tom, and front desk staff were friendly and tried to meet our every need! The beach was rocky and very good for snorkeling. Mitch took us on a private snorkel and we saw an abundance of fish and coral! He was always upbeat and enthusiastic about the area.

The resort is small and designed for couples. The location on the island is excellent and a few minutes drive to Christiansted.

Room Tip: Building A has newer tile throughout the outside level, giving it a newer, less shabby look. I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is our 11th Caribbean island to visit with our two daughters ages 10 and 12. We've stayed in a wide range of hotels/resorts; from the privately owned (like the Palms) to the high end resorts (Hilton/Marriott) on Aruba and Barbados. The Palms is an interesting place.

Mitch and the housekeeping staff were some of the nicest and best we've encountered. We had a few issues with our room (internet did not work for 3 days and our air conditioner went on the fritz). Mitch was extremely diligent and caring in trying to resolve these issues, even after hours. He really cares about guests, treating them like family and, in our opinion, one of the Palms greatest assets. Bar tenders, not so much. Received luke warm attention and service when we ordered drinks. We only ate breakfast 2-3 times at the resort and food and service were very good. No experience with lunch or dinner there. Front desk service seemed to vary greatly, depending on who was working. Most we encountered were average, not exceptional. Rooms are not luxurious, but nice, typical, and clean. They need to upgrade the pillows! The beds were just OK. What was amazing was the patios off each room, where you can see and hear the ocean....really relaxing to grab coffee in the morning or a cocktail in the evening and just relax. Two nice lounge chairs were provided on each patio, an added plus. My kids loved the pool, as kids tend to do. We always had a place to sit, though there didn't seem to be an abundance of chairs at the pool and several were in disrepair. The beach is nice. There is some vegetation, etc. in the water in this location. Many beaches in St. Croix are this way. The beach at the Palms is great for snorkeling and we had a great snorkel trip with Mitch one day during our visit

As others have noted, the location is good. Approximately 10-15 mins to Christianstead and the Boardwalk. Probably 20 mins to the Northshore (Cane Bay) area (which is a must see/visit while you there). Approximately 30 mins to Frederickstead (Sandy Point Beach) and 30 mins to Point Udall (Isaac's Bay)

While the rooms and resort are somewhat dated, it's clean, most of the staff is exceptionally good, and the location is ideal. We'd return if our travels take us to beautiful St. Croix again.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor as they all are beachfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just spent a week at The Palms at Pelican Cove. This was my second visit to The Palms. I ate some of the most delicious food ever! I never eat pizza . . . too creasy, too "fast food." But, the pizza at The Palms was to die for; I couldn't quit eating it. Fresh fish is on the menu nighly and the specials are always cooked or grilled to perfection.
My room was clean, modern, and inviting. I enjoyed the fresh flowers placed in my room every day which made me feel welcome and appreciated.
The staff at The Palms are friendly and always willing to help even the littlest vacationer.
The pool is cleaned every morning and there are a plethora of chairs, tables, beach towels, snorkeling gear and umbrellas to meet the needs of all while enjoying a fabulous drink from the bar.
My only complaint is that I couldn't stay longer! Go to The Palms and enjoy a first class vacation and be busy or lazy, but you will always have a great time!

Room Tip: I've stayed in two rooms ( one double the first trip) and (two doubles the second trip) and both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went to The Palms at Pelican Cove during the last week of March.
We had a wonderful time and recommend it.

The location is perfect. A breeze is always blowing and it is
never hot. The island of St. Croix has a reef surrounding it and so that
creates a sound of the surf everywhere, which is wonderful.

The resort is just a ten minute drive from Christiansted, the capital, and just
twenty minutes from the airport. The resort was always ready to call a
cab for us. It is a good thing to get a card from the first cab, if you
like him, and use him for the rest of your stay. You can rent a car
if you want to drive around the island to different beaches and
restaurants every day, but we arranged a one hour tour with a cab driver
that worked well for us to enable us to see the rest of the island.

The resort itself is small and each room is close to the beach. The
first floor rooms open out directly to the beach. The second floor rooms
also look out on the beach. The staff is very, very courteous
and helpful.

The restaurant and bar are great and also right on the beach. There
are snorkeling and other water activities available at the Palms and in Christiansted.

It is a quiet place. There are shows two nights a week, but on a small
scale.

The Palms deserves its high rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.