We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Save Saved
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing - great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Giving this place an amazing thumbs up!!!

Just spent 5 days here and had a fantastic time. The room was clean and pretty (Thank you Arthur and Mamma J!) and the ocean was right outside our patio!.

But what made it comfortable was the staff. We felt at home. From our servers (especially the 4 brothers and sweet server who I didn't catch his name) who kept us in stitches and treated us well to Mitch who told us of events and the in's and out's of hotel to our room attendant Arthur who kept us taken care of to the front desk girls who always had a smile and made sure we knew what we were doing.

The Island was beautiful and our hotel was amazing.

THANK YOU!!!!!! We'll tell everyone we know to stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    149
    34
    15
    19
See reviews for
196
431
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I travel with a group of 8 usually around the world for work. We’re a touring band called Mountain Heart based in Nashville, TN. We’ve performed in the Caribbean many times over the years including a half dozen trips to St. Croix. After playing venues like the Island Center, The Buccaneer, Carambola, and many more, I can say that we’ve seen a lot of the island. We’ve all met lots of new friends, tried some amazing food, and stayed in luxurious places like The Buccaneer. That said, I’m returning from another week on St. Croix after staying for 7 nights at The Palms At Pelican Cove. There were four of us on this trip and we stayed in a newly renovated suite that could’ve slept more than we had in our party. The balcony view was to die for, the room service kept our room neat and provided tons of towels and even washed our dishes, the beaches were the best I’ve found at any resort so far on island, and the food (I seriously tried EVERYTHING on their menu) is incredible. We had coffee with breakfast and cocktails at night only 15 yards from the crystal blue water. The owner Chuck Fischer, even took us out night snorkeling which we’d never even heard of. He offered this free of charge just because he loves to do it. We got up close and personal and handled octopus, sea urchins, and saw squid and lobsters and we got pictures of it all burned to a DVD for us before we left. His son took us out the next day for another snorkel adventure that led us to tracking down rays and tons of fish. The entertainment was awesome and the guests were all considerate, classy people.

Our group actually performed by the pool which is right on the beach on 3/09/13 for their Saturday night concert. We pulled in a huge crowd with the help of The Palm’s promotional team! Everyone had a blast and we can’t thank Julie, Chuck Fischer and family, and the entire staff enough for all of their help, work, and hospitality. This place is classy and the perfect getaway spot for couples, families, or even co-workers. I forgot to mention that the security is pretty tight so you feel very safe at The Palms unlike other places we’ve been to on island. I can’t recommend The Palms At Pelican Cove enough if you’re coming to St. Croix.

Room Tip: They have a suite that has recently been renovated and is immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I traveled to the Palms for our honeymoon in May of 2012. We booked the Palms as it was the highest rated place on St Croix, having never been before. From arrival to departure, we had no major complaints with the hotel. The room was clean and the balcony patio overlooking the beach was great. The staff was great and the manager was very helpful when our suitcase didn’t make it with us. There was free snorkel gear rental and lessons if required. We found the restaurant to be average, but not mindblowing. We did enjoy the Caribbean BBQ night the most. We would often walk down the beach to the Hibiscus for dinner to mix it up a bit. Our biggest disappointment (not the hotel’s fault) was that the water along the beach is almost all coral and kelp. There is a very small area you might be able to swim near the restaurant but otherwise you cannot swim. We did our research but I guess missed this detail (which would have been a show stopper). We had to go out to the west end of the island to swim, which the hotel staff recommended as the best beach. It was a great beach, but we didn’t feel entirely safe, so we left. Concerning our room, it was basic but had what we needed. The bed was average but nothing to write home about. We are not picky travelers and purposely stay away from the luxury and pampered hotel experiences but…overall, we perhaps set our expectations a little too high for the #1 rated hotel in St Croix. Must do activities in St Croix include eating at Rowdy Joes (multiple times) and the full day catamaran sail to Buck Island with private beach BBQ.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor, which provided a great and private balcony to listen to and see the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Sorry to hear that our resort did not quite meet up with your expectations. We do try very hard to be everything to everybody. The beach in front of the resort has been formed inside a fringing coral reef (the largest in the Virgin Islands) in a small cove. The reef is fantastic for snorkeling because of the abundance of marine life. The Palms resort is known for that. But the proximity of the reef to the shore means that there will be some coral rocks that will make their way to near-shore waters. The sand on the beach is very dynamic. As it ebbs and flows there can be some coral rocks exposed near the shoreline or none depending on the amount of sand movement. The half mile of beach at the resort is always beautiful white sand. And there is always a small area or more in front of the restaurant that offers a reasonable location for swimming. The plant that you saw on the beach was actually turtle grass washed up from the reef. It is the primary food for the endangered Green Sea Turtles which nest on our beaches. We do our best to pickup the Turtle Grass as it comes ashore on the waves, but some days with high waves it is a difficult job to stay on top of. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and balcony, and that our staff and management looked after you well. We do hope to see you again some time and perhaps have an opportunity to better acquaint you with the beauty of our offshore underwater world. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at The Palms for 6 days in mid-February. Our room was large enough that we were able to have a couples massage with 2 massage tables. The bathroom was updated. We loved the shower! We enjoyed our snorkling tour with Chuck very much. The staff was very attentive and friendly - especially Ressa, Andy and Akim. Great strawberry daiquiri's and Bushwackers at the bar. We loved the carribean night, deciding to dress in "island attire". Only suggestions - it would be great if they had a gift shop for miscellaneous items or snacks. There isn't anything within walking distance. We definitely would go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 26 - on the first floor with its one patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were staying at a hotel down the beach and came here a few times for breakfast. Not too pricey and the food was good. Staff was friendly and they had great views of the ocean and beach while eating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have reviewed The Palms once before, in 2010, but my girlfriend and I have stayed there for a few nights each winter since then, and I wanted to thank the Palms crew for another great visit earlier this month.

The coziness and hospitality of this hotel--and the beauty of its setting--have kept us coming back year and year. The restaurant and bar feature great food, drinks, views, and atmosphere, and the beach and nearby coral reef are perfect for snorkeling. The rooms are in good shape following renovations completed since my first visit.

Our time with Chuck, the owner, was the highlight of this past trip. He sought us out at breakfast to help plan our day and later took us on our first night snorkel, when we got very close to a large spotted eagle ray.

Do rent a car and take time to explore St. Croix. No trip is complete for us without a drive to the East End and an evening dining outside in Christiansted.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent 7 days at the Palms, & enjoyed every minute! What made the difference was the generosity & personal attention we received from the management & all of the staff. The property is delightful, & we've already booked our 2014 trip for 9 days. Be sure to snorkel right off the beach, & don't miss the Friday lobster dinner!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.