We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Return to The Palms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Save Saved
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Third Return to The Palms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have reviewed The Palms once before, in 2010, but my girlfriend and I have stayed there for a few nights each winter since then, and I wanted to thank the Palms crew for another great visit earlier this month.

The coziness and hospitality of this hotel--and the beauty of its setting--have kept us coming back year and year. The restaurant and bar feature great food, drinks, views, and atmosphere, and the beach and nearby coral reef are perfect for snorkeling. The rooms are in good shape following renovations completed since my first visit.

Our time with Chuck, the owner, was the highlight of this past trip. He sought us out at breakfast to help plan our day and later took us on our first night snorkel, when we got very close to a large spotted eagle ray.

Do rent a car and take time to explore St. Croix. No trip is complete for us without a drive to the East End and an evening dining outside in Christiansted.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    607
    143
    32
    13
    17
See reviews for
175
412
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent 7 days at the Palms, & enjoyed every minute! What made the difference was the generosity & personal attention we received from the management & all of the staff. The property is delightful, & we've already booked our 2014 trip for 9 days. Be sure to snorkel right off the beach, & don't miss the Friday lobster dinner!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Palms at Pelican Cove is such a special spot for so many reasons. #1 is the location - incredible to eat at the restaurant with the waves lapping almost at your feet and the white sand and beautiful water as your backdrop. The staff is so friendly and willing to help. In addition, the snorkeling is fantastic and easy right off the beach. I had the added pleasure of being given the opportunity of a night snorkel with the owner on which we saw two octupus (octupi ?), a decent size sting ray minding his own business, and many tropical fish of amazing colors. I love the whole atmosphere around this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendborg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A holiday you don't want to go home from......my wife and our two kids (11 and 11) stayed at The Palms for a week january 2013 - and we all agree that a week or two more would have been fantastic. This cozy small hotel directly at the beautiful beach really meets all the expectations for a vacation in the Caribbean. Great hospitality, a very friendly staff and a very good restaurant. Superb snorkling on the reef together with Chuck or Mitch - you really don't want to miss that. The activities at the hotel are great wether you are a child or an adult. If we have to choose between a big all-inklusive resort and this cozy place we will for sure be back at The Palms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel solicits heavily for good Tripadvisor reviews (signs in the hotel and follow-up e-mails), which seems a slightly questionable practice, but I will accommodate them because it is a very nice hotel. We were only there 2 nights because we already had other reservations on the island, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. We loved the location of our room in the last building (very peaceful with a perfect view of the sea) but some of the rooms do need refurbishing, which I think they are working on. We had a problem initially with the room having no overhead lighting and only 2 lamps with extremely dim bulbs so we could barely see into our suitcases. However, a call to the desk and this was promptly corrected. The attitude here is exemplary. The staff was uniformly nice and helpful (as has been mentioned). I especially appreciated the activities director(?) Mitch, who was a bit eccentric but in a fun sort of way, and who was also very professional. I was impressed that he took me on their free guided snorkel trip far out into the ocean even though I was the only one who showed up that day. The only negatives that keep me from giving 5 stars is that the beach is very narrow, and hard to walk along for any distance, and that we found the food quite mediocre. I know other reviewers seem to like the restaurant, but we found better food in just about every other place we tried during our trip. We actually went next door twice for excellent, imaginative lunches in the semi-affiliated Hibiscus Inn. But I would still recommend the Palms and we would probably stay again for a couple of days when we return to St. Croix.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Your opinion regarding your stay here with us matters greatly. And we are always happy to get feedback from guests in whatever form it comes in. Personal visits on site, telephone calls, follow-up emails or letters, reviews on Trip Advisor or other favorites sites of the guest, are all valuable to us. Trip Advisor is beneficial to both travelers and ourselves as it helps give a much better picture of who we really are to a wide audience. Our guests are able to share their true thoughts on their stay, and we are able to provide supplementary information about any questions they raise and maybe provide some background as well. It really is a win-win situation. So we absolutely do request reviews from our guests - because we want to know. And while most guests applaud their stay here with us, and thank you for your nice review, occasionally we will receive one that is a little more critical. Most travelers understand that we can’t always be everything to everybody. That’s ok. But that doesn’t keep us from trying. Oh, and as regards our restaurant menu, we have a great selection of comfort foods accompanied by daily specials that expand into local dishes and what you referred to as more imaginative items. Hopefully, next time you will be able to stay more than just a couple of days and experience more of what we have to offer. We will absolutely look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraim, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

There is a good reason why the Palms is rated #1 here on Tripadvisor. From the owner, to the housekeepers, to the bartenders and waitstaff, all know the meaning of great service. My wife and I spent a week there this January and could not have asked for a better experience.
There was a minor mix-up upon our arrival....we had asked for a second floor room and initially were given a ground floor room. One call to the front desk took care of the issue. Our bags were delayed and arrived late on the first night....Eddie was there with both of them in hand (heavy!)and a big smile. We were in room #33 which had a perfect view of the beach as do all the rooms there. The bed was very comfortable and the room was kept spotless. The showers are very cool...local stone on one wall and the floor. Chuck, the owner, helped us to plan our week with very helpful suggestions on what to see, and do and where to eat. I heartily agree with previous posters...RENT A CAR! Sure it's only $5 per person one way to C'sted, but that can add up. We did take a tour with one of the local taxi drivers and he was very knowledgeable about the island and this gave us a great overview on what we wanted to see and do. Driving on the left really isn't that big of a deal...I only almost killed us once. Oh, and be sure to arrange for your rental in advance...they go quickly...esp. the compacts. The drivers on St.Croix are very courteous...letting you into traffic with a flash of their lights...and you should beep in thanks. Dining...the Palms restaurant is great and almost too convenient...Savant was amazing...eat@cane bay was alot of fun with a very eclectic menu...Angry Nates was good as was Rum Runners both on the boardwalk.
John Eddie's Lowlife was the only real disappointment...dirty silverware, an oblivious waitress, brisket that was more fat than meat with no hint of smoke, and very strange tomato soup.
Another tip...call ahead to make sure what you want to do is open. We missed out on a restaurant and a kayaking trip as they were closed on the weekend (wth?) .
We did the Buck Island snorkel trip with Big Beard, but it was pretty choppy and not the best snorkeling I've experienced. The reef is still trying to regrow after Hugo decimated it in '89.
Another tip...bring your own snorkel gear with you...the provided stuff was just okay. There is good snorkeling in front of the Palms, but it was extremely rough while we were there.
All in all a great trip.....would we go back? Yes, in a heartbeat.. and would love to bring the kids.
Any questions?...shoot me an e-mail. I'll be posting pics soon!

Room Tip: We were in room 33..nice patio doors, but no screens. Mosquitoes may be a problem, but it was very w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Escape the rat race and find peace and calm in this beautiful, laid back, warm property. We love the staff who are always helpful and feel like family! The food is yummy; sipping a drink at the bar while gazing at the oceans 40 yards away is a soul soothing experience for all weary travelers. You'll love your stay at the Palms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.