We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carribean hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Save Saved
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Ephraim, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Carribean hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

There is a good reason why the Palms is rated #1 here on Tripadvisor. From the owner, to the housekeepers, to the bartenders and waitstaff, all know the meaning of great service. My wife and I spent a week there this January and could not have asked for a better experience.
There was a minor mix-up upon our arrival....we had asked for a second floor room and initially were given a ground floor room. One call to the front desk took care of the issue. Our bags were delayed and arrived late on the first night....Eddie was there with both of them in hand (heavy!)and a big smile. We were in room #33 which had a perfect view of the beach as do all the rooms there. The bed was very comfortable and the room was kept spotless. The showers are very cool...local stone on one wall and the floor. Chuck, the owner, helped us to plan our week with very helpful suggestions on what to see, and do and where to eat. I heartily agree with previous posters...RENT A CAR! Sure it's only $5 per person one way to C'sted, but that can add up. We did take a tour with one of the local taxi drivers and he was very knowledgeable about the island and this gave us a great overview on what we wanted to see and do. Driving on the left really isn't that big of a deal...I only almost killed us once. Oh, and be sure to arrange for your rental in advance...they go quickly...esp. the compacts. The drivers on St.Croix are very courteous...letting you into traffic with a flash of their lights...and you should beep in thanks. Dining...the Palms restaurant is great and almost too convenient...Savant was amazing...eat@cane bay was alot of fun with a very eclectic menu...Angry Nates was good as was Rum Runners both on the boardwalk.
John Eddie's Lowlife was the only real disappointment...dirty silverware, an oblivious waitress, brisket that was more fat than meat with no hint of smoke, and very strange tomato soup.
Another tip...call ahead to make sure what you want to do is open. We missed out on a restaurant and a kayaking trip as they were closed on the weekend (wth?) .
We did the Buck Island snorkel trip with Big Beard, but it was pretty choppy and not the best snorkeling I've experienced. The reef is still trying to regrow after Hugo decimated it in '89.
Another tip...bring your own snorkel gear with you...the provided stuff was just okay. There is good snorkeling in front of the Palms, but it was extremely rough while we were there.
All in all a great trip.....would we go back? Yes, in a heartbeat.. and would love to bring the kids.
Any questions?...shoot me an e-mail. I'll be posting pics soon!

Room Tip: We were in room 33..nice patio doors, but no screens. Mosquitoes may be a problem, but it was very w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    638
    148
    34
    14
    19
See reviews for
193
429
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Escape the rat race and find peace and calm in this beautiful, laid back, warm property. We love the staff who are always helpful and feel like family! The food is yummy; sipping a drink at the bar while gazing at the oceans 40 yards away is a soul soothing experience for all weary travelers. You'll love your stay at the Palms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you plan to got to St. Croix, Pelican Cove is the place to be. We returned for another Christmas holiday, having loved the place and the beach last year. It is a wonderful place. The beach is so quiet, fabulous for snorkeling, and fine for swimming. The restaurant is great. And the service is amazing. They really care about the people who stay with them, and remember them. The staff are so hospitable. Mitch introduced my 9 year old son to snorkeling last year, and inspired his imagination again this year. He loves his job, knows so much about the marine life in Pelican Cove, and makes Pelican Cove a uniquely memorable place, for all ages. We plan to return next year!

Room Tip: There are rooms furthest from the hotel reception which are a bit quieter, but its a longer walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I reciently visted The Palms in December. What a beautiful place it was! The food was some of the best on our whole trip. We went on a guided snorkel trip with Chuck, the owner. He was very knowledgable about the marine life, this made for a much better snorkeling experience. The staff at the palms were always freindly and ready to help with all our needs. The beach and the water are so inviting. Will go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great hotel; location is great; staff is superb. We had a great time on free nature walk. We took adavantage of the free snorkel gear and guided trips. Owner even took us out on a night snorkel; we loved it. Food is great and at very reasonable prices. Surf & turk night; prime rib night. Service is superb. Location is ideal; near Christiansted events; excursion to Buck Island, etc. We had a blast!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on bottom floor have beach level patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife, Emily, and I came to The Palms at Pelican Cove for our honeymoon and could not have been more impressed with this lovely place. Everyone at The Palms is so welcoming and kind; we wish we could have stayed longer! We had never visited St. Croix in the past, but felt right at home at The Palms. We quickly became pals with so many of the staff members (everyone is so friendly and accommodating), including the owner, Chuck, Operations and Events Manager, Mitch (he plans the best parties and is FULL of resourceful knowledge about St. Croix), staff members like Eriksen, security officials Eddie and Che, and bartenders, Dave, Rico, and Trish. Julie, Erin, and Sierra at the front desk were always gracious, welcoming, and beyond helpful when it came to offering island recommendations (i.e. diving, snorkeling, hiking, dining, sight-seeing, etc.) or simply providing directions or answering questions for getting around Christiansted and Frederiksted.

Everyone at The Palms provided us with fantastic advice on what to do while in St. Croix. With an ideal central location, The Palms is relatively close to both the west and east end of the island, and is just minutes from downtown Christiansted. Some days, we just stayed at the hotel and enjoyed the pool, our charming and quiet beachfront room, and strolled along the beautiful beach. Other nights, there were fun parties in the evening just steps from our room (Caribbean Night on Mondays with Kiki and the Fire Gypsies and Moko Jumbie Stilt Dancers is a must-see!) to take advantage of, as well as fantastic snorkel tours right outside The Palms. Though we didn't experience a night snorkel (simply because we didn't have time), Chuck or Mitch would have taken us on one. Chuch took us, along with two other couples, on a private daytime snorkel in which we saw various forms of aquatic life, including parrot fish, scorpian fish, lobster, sea urchins, a sting ray, and colorful eels. Chuck even treated us to a private dinner one night and made us feel like family. While we spent a great deal of time at the resort, we also had rented a car and made our way around the island easily, experiencing the beauty and novelty of nearby hot spots such as Cane Bay, Rainbow Beach, and the tidal pools within the rainforest.

The Palms at Pelican Cove is a wonderful place to get away to spend time on your own, with your partner, or with a group of friends. My wife and I don’t normally return to a place we have visited in the past, but The Palms at Pelican Cove will certainly be an exception. See you there ;)

Happy Travels,
Cody and Emily Randel

Room Tip: A garden view or beachfront room is ideal, but any room is great considering the beach is at your fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Cody and Emily, what a great time we had while you were here. Everyone so enjoyed your visit. And I was impressed by how much the two of you got around in the time you were here. Non-stop! So full of energy and life. I will make sure I pass your wonderful comments on to all of our staff here - they will be happy to hear about you. And I can hardly wait until you're back again so I can take the both of you out on that night snorkel. I know you had a lot of highlights during your stay here, but I know that would have been right up there at the top.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our family stayed at the Palms in January 2012 for a ten days of fun and relaxation. The private beach, exemplary service, luxurious accommodations and gorgeous tropical setting made for an unforgettable vacation! Chuck and his incredible staff go above and beyond to provide the highest standard of service and it shows!!! Be sure to take advantage of the complimentary snorkelling lesson with Chuck just off the resort's private beach; as a biologist, he holds an expansive knowledge of local sea life! Thanks again for the amazing experience; we look forward to returning for a visit in the near future!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.